Home > Happy Hour > Happy Hour

Happy Hour

Last night, Tuesday, I met an old co-worker/ex-boss for Happy Hour along with a few other fellow co-workers. 

It has been over a year since I saw her and she looks great & very happy, which was so nice to see. 

However, I must toot my own horn for a minute because she not only had a look of shock on her face when she first saw me walk into the restaurant but she then said “I looked amazing and couldn’t believe how much weight I had lost”

Which, I replied with “I haven’t really lost anything, maybe a few pounds” (as you out there in internet world can see on my Weekly Weigh In page) and to which a fellow co-worker then said “Well it must be the fact that you are all toned“! 

Wasn’t that the nice of them to say!?!?! 

I felt really good after that!  Especially, due to the fact that I have been trying to lose 15+ pounds since last summer and haven’t had much luck.  =( 

It was really nice to hear those nice comments from them and they confirmed to me that all my hard work over the past year was WELL WORTH IT and also proves that you can look smaller or “skinny” as they called me………when you eat healthy (for the majority of the time) and work out regularily (run & tone)!!!  =)

So ladies (and gentlemen) hard work really does pay off!!!

____________________

Prior to attending Happy Hour last night I hit the GYM on Monday night and did the following for WEEK 10………

Ab Exercises      

*I did 2 sets of 25 reps each.  

Toning Training Plan    

DAY 19: Weights (Back & Biceps) – I did 3 sets of each, 10-15 reps each.

16-Week 15K Training Plan

EASY RUN
2 miles @ 11:30

I was in and out of the gym in about an hour, which was nice since I needed to get home early.  Overall my visit went very well.  Though I was a bit stiff during my run, still sore from my 8 mile run on Saturday I am sure.

___________________

Hmmmmmmmm………..my EATS have been on point so far this week, let’s take a look:

MONDAY

Breakfast

Whole grain banana muffin with a banana.

Lunch

Yet, another avocado black bean salad with cherry tomoatoes and lime vingerette dressing……..YUM!

Snack

Apples and a scoop of peanut butter.

Dinner was skipped on this evening.  I snacked on cherries and watermelon after I got home from the gym.

TUESDAY

Breakfast

Blueberry instant oatmeal with fresh blueberries……was very good, though the picture looks kinda yucky (SORRY)!

Snack

A lovely sweet and juicy plum.

Lunch

Repeat of Monday’s lunch………another bowl of avocado black bean salad with cherry tomoatoes and lime vingerette dressing.

Dinner

My favorite bbq chicken flat bread while at Happy Hours with the girls!  =)

Desert

I had the red, white & blue icee shown above!  LOVE!

____________________

DAILY TIPS!

 The New Superfoods: 

10 Inexpensive Foods That Will Help You Lose Weight

 

 

 

 

 

Peanuts

The superstar: Almonds

These nuts are good for your ticker; they have been shown to lower both total and LDL (bad) cholesterol.

The understudy: Peanuts

This legume contains the same healthy oil that almonds do, so it also works hard at reducing your heart-disease risk. Plus, it can be a great weight-loss snack: People who eat peanuts and peanut products tend to have lower BMIs than those who nix them, a study from Pennsylvania State University found. This may be because they take the place of unhealthy treats. Research from the Harvard School of Public Health and Brigham and Women’s Hospital showed that people who ate a reduced-calorie diet that included peanuts, peanut butter, and other healthy fats lost more weight and were better able to stay on track than those who ate a low-fat diet. Just shop carefully and watch portions. Stick to one-quarter cup of unsalted regular or dry-roasted peanuts or two tablespoons of natural peanut butter daily. “Store nuts and seeds in the fridge so they won’t spoil,” says David Grotto, RD, author of 101 Optimal Life Foods.

  1. August 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

    It’s so nice to be recognized for all the hard work and effort of working out, isn’t it? 😀

    Your avocado black bean salads look so yummy! I need to try this soon. 😀

    • August 12, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      Yes, it is, makes it easier to keep going…=) As you can see I have been eating them almost everyday so you can tell how much I like them. =O

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment