Home > Fridge > What’s in your fridge!?!?!

What’s in your fridge!?!?!

 
While I was doing a bunch of cooking & baking on Sunday that took me in and out of my fridge all day it seemed the saying “What’s in your fridge!?!?!” came to my mind so I decided to take some pictures of what was in mine to share with you……….

Inside Fridge

Inside Fridge (Produce Drawer)

Inside Fridge (Deli Drawer)

Inside Fridge (Condiment Shelves)

Inside Fridge (Freezer)

So what’s in your fridge!?!?! 

As you can see from the above pictures of my fridge I have lots of stuff…………I try to stock up on as much produce as possible (cherries, melon, strawberries, blueberries, romaine, celery, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, green peppers, etc.), then I have some dairy products (milk, yogurt and lots of cheese) and of course meat (hamburger, pork chops, steak & sweet sausage) in the freezer section.  

And, don’t forget the treats (beer for the hubs, italian icees, ice-cream, zucchini cake from the mom-in-law). 

Overall, I would have to say my fridge options are pretty healthy.  I try to keep it 80/20……….80% healthy food options & 20% not so healthy food optionsWhat’s your split??? 

____________________ 

So as I mentioned above lots of cooking & baking took place in my kitchen on Sunday.  Over the past few weeks the “baking bug” as I call it has been biting me so I finally purchased all the necessary ingreditens to do some baking.  

First I made some Homemade Granola courtesy of Sarah @ Running To Slow Things Down.  

Homemade Granola Bars (Close Up)

 You can find the recipe here Granola Bars (Chocolate Chip Variation).  

I have made these several times over the past year and they ALWAYS come out good.  I like to put lots of chocolate chips in mine.  =) 

Now, I usually make these for my hubby, however this time I made them for my BFF, Amy………. 

My BFF, Amy!

……….as it is her birthday today in fact and she told me in the past that she would buy all the ingredients for these if I made them for her and I never had the chance to do that SO I thought it would make a great birthday gift to her! 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, AMY!!! 

Amy's Birthday Bag of "Homemade Granola"

 The above is waiting for you Amy, hope to see you soon and that you have a GREAT birthday……….LOVE YOU!   =) 

__________ 

 I also made Peach Crisp, YUMMY!!! 

Peach Crisp

I found the a recipe forEasy Peach Crisp II at www.allrecipes.com and modified it a bit: 

  1. I swapped the canned peaches for two large firm fresh peaches.
  2. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar as per another bakers suggestion online.
  3. Added more cinnamon per another bakers suggestion online.
  4. I added old fashion oats to the topping mixture.
  5. Baked for about 45 minutes due to the use of fresh peaches versus canned.

Also, I only made 1/2 the recipe as we do not need to have the full version in our household as guess who would eat it all……..ME of course and I also wanted to just try it out to make sure it would come out ok first!  =O  

Which, I am glad I did as next time I will make the following changes: 

  • Use more fresh peaches (4 to 5) as they baked down a lot and they were as thick as I would have liked.  Next time I want it to be mostly peaches and then the crisp crumb topping.
  • Use 1/2 white & 1/2 wheat flour.
  • Add ground flax-seed to the topping for extra fiber.

However, despite the necessary changes next time I make this desert both my hubby and I enjoyed it A LOT (I enjoyed it a bit TOO much as I ate a lot of it before I even served myself the below.)!  =O

It was very sweet, crunchy and amazing with vanilla ice-cream………. 

Peach Crisp & Vanilla Ice-Cream

 You know you want to make some now!!!!  =)

____________________ 

Luckily, I did eat more healthy earlier in the weekend so I didn’t feel too guilty about eating the above, that is until I hit the scale Monday morning, all I have to say about that is…….YIKES!  =O

HOWEVER, I did not get pictures of everything as the camera battery was dead and I kept forgetting to charge it……..=(…….but I will list everything I ate for you guys:

 SATURDAY

  • Breakfast – a bowl of Multi-Grain Cheerios with 2% milk.
  • Lunch – huge blackened chicken taco salad from Tijuana Flats.

Blackened Chicken Taco Salad

  • Dinnersteak, corn on the cob & loaded sweet potato.  A repeat from the last few Saturdays, which seem to be becoming “Steak Night” in our house!

Steak, corn on the cob & loaded sweet potato

SUNDAY

  • Breakfast – a bowl of Multi-Grain Cherrios (again) with sliced berries and a banana in 2% milk.

MultiGrain Cherrios w/berries & a banana

  • Lunchsweet & sour chicken, beef & mixed veggies with fried rice and wonton soup at a local chinese restaurant.
  • Dinnerhomemade “lots of veggies” pizza.

Homemade "Lots of Veggies" Pizza

____________________

Well that about covers my weekend, FOOD WISE!!!

I spent the rest of my weekend doing some chores (grocery shopping & laundry) and spending time with my family! 

My hubby had the weekend off for the first time in 2 months so it was really nice to spend the entire weekend with him.  =)

Hope your weekend was good as well!

  1. August 10, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Aww..I’m so glad you enjoy the granola bars! I love how you wrapped them up in that little bag. Very cute!! 😀

    (p.s. your peach crisp looks divine!! I definitely need to make some with the fresh peaches that are starting to come around 😀 )

  2. Jenny
    August 11, 2010 at 1:49 am

    I was in the mood for a peach crisp this weekend as well so I bought tons of fresh peaches (69 cents a lb at the farmers market!!). I still need to make it–hopefully time tomorrow! I also have been freezing the peaches and blending them with milk and a scoop of protein powder for a quick snack! The GA heat is killing me!!

  3. Amy Caisse
    August 13, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    I’m so excited to see you tomm for the event. Thank u for my bday wish and can’t wait for my yummy granola:) I will think of u everyday while I’m adding it to my breakfast in my new Hm:) I’m so nervous about the move:( see u tomm.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

