Home > Uncategorized > 3 Days Worth….

3 Days Worth….

………….of Baking, GrillingRunning, Shopping & Wrapping Gifts!

As you might imagine it was quite a busy 3 Days (Friday, Saturday & Sunday) for me this past weekend. 

I too Friday off so I could do some shopping so let’s start there.

Orlando Premium Outlet Mall (International Drive)

My husband and myself ventured to International Drive in order to do a day of shopping while our little one was at school.  We hit the Orlando Premium Outlets while there and looked for some Christmas Gifts as well as a jacket for my husband

Our shopping venture took us to other stores around the outlets, including Bass Pro Shop across the street.  This store was massive.  A man’s dream store, as I confirmed from all the men inside.  I can honestly say I have never seen so man men in one store in my life. 

My husband finally found the jacket he was looking for and I got a few things on my list as well.  Another trip will need to take place later this week but only for a few odds and ends luckily.  I think I might hit the mall that time so I can take in all the decorations and enjoy a nice lunch, a holiday tradition for me.  Just doesn’t feel like the holiday’s without doing both.  =)

__________________

Next, let’s review grilling as I did just that on both Friday and Saturday nights for dinner.

On Friday night I made Brown Sugar Bourbon marinated pork chops on the grill for dinner along with roasted potatoes and corn on the cop

The meal was super yummy.  The pork chops came out perfectly.  I grilled them with only one layer of charcoal and let them sit for approximately 8 to 10 minutes per side on the grill until they were all crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.   ***Sorry for the lack of pictures, it was a busy/tiring day and I completely forgot.

________

On Saturday night I made Mahi on the grill along with a baked stuffed crap cakes, fries and green beans on the side for dinner.

Dinner

This was My 1st Official Attempt At Making Fish and not just on The Grill, AT ALL!!!

It all started when I was walking by the seafood department at Publix and found Mahi on sale for $6.99 lb.  I confirmed with my husband that he liked this kind of fish (he does, though he pointed out it wasn’t his favorite) and then I proceeded to ask the kind lady behind the counter to wrap it up for me and also her advise on how it should be cooked.

Once I got home I followed her instructions by doing the following:

  • Coated the fish with olive oil plus lots of blacking spices for fish.
  • Grilled it for approximately 4 to 5 minutes per side until it the meat was white and flaked off on the edge with a fork.

And, the below was born!!!

Mahi on the grill!

I also got stuff crap cakes that I baked 1st for 10 minutes at 350 degrees and browned on top of the stove after.

Crapcake

French Fries

While baking and grilling my fish picks I also fried up some french fries and nuked some canned green beans for the sides.

For my 1st attempt at this dish I was very pleased and will make again as it was extremely tasty!!!

As mentioned above this kind of fish is not my husband’s favorite.  He prefers the Gulf of Mexico fish like Red Fish, etc.  However, those are not easily found in Orlando.  Only at local fish bait shops by the Gulf so we had to settle for Mahi.  Though next time we will splurge on Red Snapper, which was $14.99 lb.

________________________

Let’s not forget the running I did over the past 3 days!

On Friday morning, after I sent my little one-off to school for her final day before Winter Vacation, I headed out for a run on what was chilly but sunny morning.

I ran 4+ miles (think around 4 and 1/2 but didn’t map it) in approximately 55 minutes.  I was not trying to go fast by any means on this run.  I just wanted to go out for a nice hour-long run and enjoy the fresh air.  And, that is exactly what I did.  =)

I also ran just under 3 miles on Sunday morning, however it was quite a different morning on this run.  The sky was covered in grey clouds and it was much colder out than on Friday, plus it was a bit foggy as well.  The run was completed in exactly 30 minutes as I had to get home by 10am.

Also, before I forget I ran a FAST 3 miles at the Gym on Thursday after work…..the reason I wanted to mention this to you for two reasons:

  1. For the 1st time I ran more than 1 mile at 6mph, I ran it for 3 whole miles!  =)  Now I will point out I started the run at 5mph and upped it to 6mph during the 1st mile and then during the last 5 minutes of the 3rd mile I ran between 6.1mph to 7.5mph to finish. 
  2. I almost fell face down on the treadmill during the last 10 seconds of my run!  Why you may ask?  Because my long sleeve t-shirt that was hanging on the side of the treadmill fell off and under my feet so I slipped on it.  Luckily, I caught myself before hitting the running treadmill with my face below.  =O

My week ended with 13 miles in all

Not to bad in all, however this week I will be aiming for 15+ in light of all the EXTRA EATING that will surely be occurring…………….

____________________

Finally, onto baking and gift wrapping that took place all day on Sunday!  Most of the day was spent baking (and cooking a little) and the rest wrapping gifts.  I started after my daughter left with her grandma for the day and my husband went to work at 10a.m.

__________

First, I headed to Wal-Mart to grab a few last-minute items needed for the day, then I grabbed a coffee from Dunkin Donuts on my way home and next I made myself some breakfast.

DD Medium Hazelnut Coffee

Breakfast

__________

Second, I started by getting all my ingredients together so I could start the process of making Chocolate Covered Peanuts as it would take 3+ hours to make.

All the ingredients.

Then I looked over the recipe one more time and began to follow the super simple instructions.

The Recipe

Next, I chopped up all the chocolate so it was in smaller pieces for adding to the crock pot.

Chopped chocolate chunks

Last, I added all the ingredients to my crock pot that was set on low.

Everything in the crockpot

And, I set it for 3 hours and waited……….

Timer set and waiting.......

About an hour later I lifted the lid to stir everything up and then in hour two I did the same thing again.

All stired up

Just before the 3 hours were up I switched the crock pot to low as I knew it was ready to start dropping spoonfuls on wax paper, which I did.

Spoonfuls of yumminess!

Last, I let them dry.

Drying spoonfuls of yumminess!

As you can see the recipe makes A LOT, so there is plenty to give away and keep for yourself to eat!  =) 

I gave away to containers full to my mom and mom-in-law last night and the rest went into a large and medium container that I put in the freezer for keeping (I of course sampled a few while doing so).

What I love about these is they freeze wonderfully, which keeps them out of site (and mind) but when you want one all you have to do is take one out and a minute or so later it is ready to eat.

__________

Big Pot of Chili

Third, I made a big pot of chili to go with the chilly weather outside!  I followed my favorite recipe from Paula Dean’s son Jamie’s recipe, here it is for your viewing pleasure………..Jamie’s Chili.

Not only is to full of three (3) different kinds of beans but it is very yummy and filling.  Plus, my husband loves it so it is a super easy lunch for him.

__________

 Fourth, I made one of my favorites……..Pumpkin Bread!  =)

My slice after baking! =)

It was super easy to make as everything (minus the eggs, water, oil & Pecans) including the recipe came in one box……..

All the ingredients and baking items

I wipped everything together, starting with the wet ingredients and then added the dry.

Wet ingredients, whipped together

Dry ingredients, mixed in with the wet and Pecans on top

I than poured it all into the baking containers.

All poured in

And, baked at 350 degrees for 60 minutes until them came out like this……

All Done1

All Done2

And, that is how you make Pumpkin Bread (super easy) and VERY YUMMY!!!  =)  I gave the two smaller loafs to my mom and mom-in-law and kept the bigger one for home.

__________

And, finally, LAST, but not least I was able to get some gift wrapping done after all of the above!

All the gift wrapping items together now.......

Everything wrapped and under the tree!

And, on that note I will end this VERY long post that I hope you all enjoyed…………I will try to do a little post before the holiday, however if not I hope you all have a great and very Merry Christmas!!!  =)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

