Home > Weekend full of...... > Weekend full of………

Weekend full of………

…………..trimming the Christmas Tree and hang the Stockings on Saturday evening!

Our Christmas Tree (2010)

Our Stockings (2010)

Everyone took part in “trimming” the tree this year (last year my husband had to work so he missed it)!

  • I put the tree together.
  • My husband did the lights and moved all the branches around so they there would be no holes.
  • My daughter emptied out all the ornaments from the box.
  • We hung everything on the tree together and my husband put the angel on top fo the tree.

The entire process took approximately 3+ hours in all.  2 hours to put the tree up and 1 hour to decorate it.

While I put the tree up I watched my favorite Christmas movie of all time…………Christmas Vacation!

I love all of Chevy Chase movies and this one is my all time favorite, especially around the holidays of course.  It is just so funny and I completely understand how he wants to have a perfect family Christmas.  The movie always gets my in the spirit of the holidays and every year I watch it while putting the tree up and wrapping gifts.

What is your favorite holiday movie?

I also really like Home Alone, A Christmas Carol and I must admit I am a sucker for all the Hallmark Christmas movies as well.

In light of the busy evening we opted to order pizza for dinner from Papa John’s and enjoyed every warm bite of it.

Dinner

_______________________________

………………………..Baking on Sunday!

First, I made sugar cookies so my daughter could decorate them for her teacher and classmates.

Sugar Cookies

After the cookies were all baked, I sampled one of course and then I set the table up for my daughter to decorate them.

Table

Then it was cooking decorating time and my daughter got right to it.

My daughter decorating the cookies!

I joined in about an hour later when there were still about half the cookies left to decorate and soon we had a huge pan full of decorated cookies.

All decorated and ready to eat!

Of course my husband, daughter and I had to sample several before boxing them up for my daughter to take to school this morning………they were as good as they look!  =)

_________________________

Second, I made cranberry white chocolate granola bars for my boss as a holiday gift. 

Holiday Gift f/My Boss

I used the Breakfast Bars from Slowing Things Down recipe that I have made several before……..Homemade Granola Bars but with raisins instead of cranberries and chocolate chips instead of white chocolate.

The version I made yesterday was of my own creation as I know how much my boss loves the ones I have made in the past as she always eats them whenever I bring them into work and I also know she loves cranberries and white chocolate so while shopping yesterday morning at the grocery store I came up with the idea and bought all the ingredients.

Let’s go through the steps below to making this yummy and healthy snack………

Step 1 - Grap the recipe & gather everything together.

Step 2 - Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Step 3 - Mix the wet ingredients in a pan over med-low.

Step 4 & 5 - Mix everything together and scoop into a baking pan.

Step 6 - Bake at 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Step 7 - Cut & eat, serve or package.

And, that is how it is done!  They came out pretty good.  I wish I could have tasted the “white chocolate” more but other than that I liked them and the cranberries tasted wonderful.

_______________________________

Later that evening I swipped together an Italian feast for dinner, it was SUPER yummy!

Dinner

Oh, and during the day we all snacked on these lovely’s that were on sale at the grocery store……

Clementines

I LOVE CLEMENTINES!!!  They are so juicy, sweet and easy to eat……..I would eat them all year-long if I could.

_______________________________

In other news, I FINALLY ran over the weekend after 8 days and what a great run it was. 

On Saturday, morning I woke up around 8am and went for a 4+ mile run outside in the 50 degree weather with grey overcast cloudy sky for just over 55 minutes.

It felt amazing!  =)  Completely unlike what I thought it would be as I thought after being away for so long I would be tired and have a hard time but I didn’t luckily.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

