Home > Rain Drops > Rain Drops

Rain Drops

This morning I awake to Rain Drops on my window!

Rain Drops

But, that didn’t let that keep me from heading out onto the rainy streets for my early morning run…………

Though I will admit it made it much more difficult to get out of bed, the sound of it was so relaxing and just made me want to continue to snuggle in my nice warm comfy bed.  =(

Luckily, by the time I got outside the rain had dwindled to a light trickling so I didn’t get soaked.  However, since it took me a few extra minutes to get out of bed I had to cut a mile off my run so I only ran 2 miles in a little over 20 minutes.

Despite being a very short run it was a good one.  I didn’t feel sore or tired.  It would have been nice if I could have kept running but I had to get  home to wake up the little one and my husband so we could all get on with our “rainy day”.

P.S. – I also hit the gym for 60 minutes on Monday after work.  While there I did 15 minutes of abs and 45 minutes of upper and lower body weight machines.

____________________________

Let’s review my EATS so far this week…….WARNING, they aren’t the best as I have eaten way to much candy this week!  =O

Breakfast (Monday & Tuesday)

Lunch (Monday)

Lunch (Tuesday)

Lunch (Tuesday)

Dinner (Monday)

Dinner (Tuesday)

DESSERT EVERY NIGHT! =O

I am not a huge candy person! 

HOWEVER, around Halloween I can’t get enough of the stuff for some reason.  I plan to bring the last of the candy into work next week so I can stop picking through it every night.

________________________________

November/December 2010

Power Surge: The Hidden Benefits of Exercise

Post-Workout Benefits

Within One Day of Exercise…

You’re adding lean muscle. If you did a strength-training routine, your muscles are now starting to rebuild themselves and repair the microscopic tears that come with lifting weights, says Paul Gordon, PhD, director of the Laboratory for Physical Activity at the University of Michigan School of Medicine in Ann Arbor. Preliminary research shows that women respond to and recover from resistance training faster than men.

Your heart is healthier. One sweat session lowers your blood pressure for up to 16 hours.

FIT TIP: A vigorous workout is especially heart smart. Go for a run, hop on the elliptical, or take a dance class and your LDL levels will be lower than if you went for a brisk walk, according to research from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina.

You’re a quick study. You’re super alert and focused post-exercise. That’s because a good workout increases the flow of blood and oxygen to your brain, says Henriette van Praag, PhD, a researcher at the Laboratory of Neurosciences at the National Institute on Aging in Baltimore.

FIT TIP: After a workout is the perfect time to memorize a speech or tackle a tough project. Your brain is operating on all cylinders then, studies show.

Within One Week of Regular Exercise…

Your risk of diabetes goes down. The more you work out, the greater your sensitivity to insulin. That, in turn, lowers your blood sugar levels, reducing your risk of type 2 diabetes.

Your VO2 max, a measure of your endurance and aerobic fitness, has already increased by about 5 percent, according to Olson. Translation: You can go a little harder and longer than you could before.

FIT TIP: Step up your routine and your results will be even better. People in a Canadian study who did six workouts of four to seven 30-second sprints followed by four-minute periods of recovery doubled their endurance within two weeks. Plus, you can burn more belly fat by doing intervals rather than keeping a steady pace, other research shows.

You’re slimmer. Cutting 500 calories a day through exercise and diet will help you drop one pound a week.

FIT TIP: We’ll help you boost your weight loss with an easy, customized workout and eating plan. Want to trim your lower body, lose 10 pounds, or flatten your abs?

Next Post:  Long-Term Benefits of Exercise

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

