Home > Read Food Labels > Do you Read Food Labels?

Do you Read Food Labels?

During My “Weight Loss” Journey!  I learned the importance of reading the Nutrition Facts & Ingredients Labels on everything I wanted to buy or would by at the Grocery Store as well as Restaurants if they had them posted!

I made it a point to look at the serving size (very important), calories, fat, sodium, carbs, fiber, protein and the actual ingredients listed in the item BEFORE I purchased it!

Nutrition Facts (Arnold's WholeGrains Bread)

For Example – you would be surprised just how many BREADS claim they are Whole Wheat when are actually not!

  • If the label it says enriched it is basically white bread that they enriched to make it look like whole wheat bread or if whole wheat/grain isn’t listed at the top it is not really whole wheat/grain bread. 
  • Always look for “whole wheat” or “whole grain” listed as the first ingredient on the food label, this means it is really Whole Wheat!
Check out some recent information I found online about Food Labels that I found very informative:

It AMAZES ME HOW MANY OF US DO NOT READ FOOD LABELS ON THE FOODS WE EAT!!!!!

Though of course I must admit I didn’t always look at them myself and when I did start in my early 20’s I only looked at the Fat Grams and Calories. 

Back then we,  or at least I, didn’t realize the importance of all the other items listed……….like the Serving Size, Sodium, Carbs, Protein and the Ingredients!

Do you read the “Nutrition Facts & Ingredient Labels” on the foods you eat!?!?! 

____________________

In other news, my daughter is finally feeling better today! 

Not 100% but much better…..which makes me very happy as I tell you I have been a worried mommy for the past week, especially over the weekend and the beginning of the week when it was a huge struggle to get her to eat anything, even her favorite foods. 

I hate to admit it but I got upset a few times with her for not eating (one day she litterally only ate 5 crackers and drank 1 Pedisure)!  The worrying about her really started getting to me – – – desbite everyone (my mom, the doctor and her grandma who is a  nurse) telling me as long as she was drinking she would be ok and not become dehydrated. 

Though I am sure if it was their daughter they too would have been just as worried as I was, luckily she is feeling better and now knows the “importance” of eating as I told her the entire time how important it was believe you me…………..and I quote “you need food to get better”, “you need food for energy that keeps your body working” and  “you need food to live”!

____________________

I ran this morning!

Only 2 Miles as I am afraid to go farther right now and end up with Knee Pain…….=( 

Despite the “low miles” it was a very good run, again loving the weather now and honeslty I kinda missed shorter runs.  I forgot how enjoyable a quick run could be.  I think if my Knee continues to bug me after this weekends scheduled 5 Mile Tempo Run I will start running 2 Miles more often instead for awhile.

______________________

My EATS have been pretty normal this week so far and I only have a few pictures to share with you as always………

Breakfast (Monday)

Lunch (Monday)

Dinner (Monday)

Above was P.F. Chang’s Frozen EntreesOrange Chicken & Beef w/Veggies that my husband has been asking me to buy for sometime but I hestitated as they cost $8.99 each at the store! 

Quite pricey yes, however after opening the bag and seeing the large size of the meat and veggies and than tasting both I would say it was worth the money and that they will become a staple of my freezer in the future.

I had the above with brown rice to make it a bit healthier.

Breakfast (Tuesday)

Snack (Tuesday)

Lunch (Tuesday)

Dinner (Tuesday)

That about covers it for the beginning of the week………

  1. October 14, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I read food labels religiously! I’m a bit of a spreadsheet geek, so I love it. I generally try to only eat things that have fewer than five ingredients on a regular basis, but sometimes you just fancy something rubbish 😉

  2. Jenny
    October 15, 2010 at 12:50 am

    I defiantly read food labels! I am surprised how many things have MSG and partially hydrogenated oils (even things that say 0 trans fats!) I feel like it is my responsibility to feed my family healthy things!

  3. Mariana
    October 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    I love the way your bean and avacado salad looks. What is the recipe?

    • October 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      So simple……..romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, green peppers, avacado and olive oil/vinegar dressing. Somtimes I add celery, cuccumber and carrots to it as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

