Home > Fall Running Training Plan > Fall Running Training Plan

Fall Running Training Plan

Fall Running

A new season, Fall, brings with it a new running training plan now that my former one, 16-Week 15K Training Plan, has offically been completed!  =)

Presenting for your viewing pleasure my Fall Running Training Plan:

WEEK MON. TUES. WED. THURS. FRI. SAT. SUN.
1 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST SPEEDWORK REST
  3 miles @ 11:00   3 miles @ 11:00   4 miles @ 10:30  
3 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST TEMPO RUN REST
  3 miles @ 11:00   3 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 11:00  
3 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST LONG RUN REST
  3 miles @ 11:00   3 miles @ 11:00   6 miles @ 11:00  
4 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST SPEEDWORK REST
  3 miles @ 11:00   3 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 10:30  
5 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST TEMPO RUN REST
  4 miles @ 11:00   4 miles @ 11:00   6 miles @ 11:00  
6 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST 10K RACE REST
  4 miles @ 11:00   4 miles @ 11:00   6.2 miles @ 10:00  
7 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST SPEEDWORK REST
  4 miles @ 11:00   4 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 10:30  
8 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST TEMPO RUN REST
  4 miles @ 11:00   4 miles @ 11:00   6 miles @ 11:00  
9 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST LONG RUN REST
  5 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 11:00   7 miles @ 12:00  
10 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST SPEEDWORK REST
  5 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 10:00  
11 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST TEMPO RUN REST
  5 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 11:00   7 miles @ 11:00  
12 REST EASY RUN REST EASY RUN REST LONG RUN REST
  5 miles @ 11:00   5 miles @ 11:00   8 miles @ 12:00  

This Training Plan is geared toward an Intermediate Runner who wants to increase her speed as well as distance!

What defines an Intermediate Runner?

A person who is running 5 to 6 days a week, averaging 15-25 miles each week during training who also is running a few 5Ks and 10Ks, and ideally a 10 miler.

____________________

Now, I am not quite an Intermediate Runner as of yet due to the following reasons:

  • Running only 3 to 4 days a week. 
  • Averaging 10-15 miles each week.

However,  I do not consider myself an Easy Runner either, for the following reasons:

  • Have been running for several years now. 
  • Have ran in many races – several 5Ks, one 10K and one 15K to date.

In light of this I feel that I am sort of in-between an Intermediate & Easy Runner at this time, but am aiming to become an Intermediate Runner of course!

In order to achieve My Goal of becoming an Intermediate Runner I plan to follow the above multi-faceted Training Plan that includes – Tempo Runs, Speed Work and Long Runs

In addition, the faster and longer runs required under this Training Plan will no doubt tire me out during the week; thus, ample Easy Runs and Rest Days are built into the Plan.

Below are a few more notes regarding the type of runs that form the foundation of my Training Plan……..

Tempo Runs

Tempo runs help you develop your anaerobic threshold.  Completing these runs is critical to success on Race Days, because a Race Day effort is in effect a Tempo Run effort.

Speed Work Runs

Speed Work Runs–like Tempo Runs–improve your high end fitness.  Thus, these workouts are also integral to achieving my goal of becoming a faster runner and improving my Race Day runs.

Long Runs

Long Runs provide the base fitness required before you really tune your body up with Tempo Runs and Speed Work.  If most of your runs are on the road and you’re not sure how far you run, you can figure out the mileage by using www.MapMyRun.com.

Easy Runs

These runs are done at a VERY Easy pace and aim to loosen up your muscles after your Long Runs or Tempo Days.

Rest Days

Rest Days are a critical component of any Training Plan!  Days off permit your body to sufficiently recover and guard against significant injuries that could derail your training.  DO NOT pass on Rest Days.  It is better to be well-rested and a bit under-fit on Race Day than getting to the starting line in an over trained state.

______________________________

This morning I went for my first scheduled 3 miles @ 11:00 Fall Running Training Plan run and I am happy to report that it was a very nice run!  =)

I woke up a bit late but still managed to get out on the road around 6:45a.m. and man was it chilly outside a big difference from last week when it was still quite warm & muggy out in the early a.m.

The news said it was 61 degrees and I about gasped as it typically is not quite that cool, even in the early mornings, during this time of year.  So of course it wasn’t suprising to hear the weather man say that we are below average temperatures right now in Central Florida.  And, lucky for us it will be staying this way throughout the week.

Nike Dri-Fit Women's Running T-Shirt

In preperartion for the chilly weather I made sure to get out my Nike Dri-Fit Women’s Running T-Shirt to run in as I previously only ran in a sports bra or tank top, which of course would not cut it this morning.

Well I wish I could report that after taking it easy last week, only running 2 miles on Tuesday and Thursday mornings, and than taking 4 days off from running all together that my Runner’s Knee did not bother me this morning but I cannot I am VERY sad to say!  =(  I am going to give it a few weeks and see how it continues to feel but if it doesn’t improve after that time I plan to see the doctor, fingers crossed that won’t have to happen.

______________________________

Inquiring minds (you) might be wondering about my EATS lately since I haven’t posted much since the end of last week. 

Well, they have been pretty good for the most part though I must admit that I did a lot of snacking & nibbling lately on things like…………

Chips & Dip

Peanuts

Chocolate

…………mainly after work! 

I have tried to keep it to only a few bites or handfuls but there were a few times I ate double that and then some!  =O  You know how it gets around that “time of the month”.  Sometimes the cravings/urge to snack are hard to control, at least for me that is.

As mentioned in yesterday’s post I did not take any pictures of my EATS over the weekend so I only have Monday’s to share with you…..

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

That about covers it!
Enjoy the amazing Fall weather everyone…….=)
  1. Jenny
    October 6, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Love the berry beers! My fav is Sam Adams Blackberry Whitbeir! You have to try it if you haven’t already. Hope you knee is feeling better!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

