Home > Busy As A Bee > Busy As A Bee

Busy As A Bee

That was me this weekend, Busy As A Bee!  

I will take you through from the beginning till the end so I don’t miss anything………..  

FRIDAY  

Unfortunately, Friday morning was not good at all due to some issues at work but by afternoon I had worked through them and gotten a few more things on the biggest project of the year done so that felt good.   

However, as mentioned at the end of my last post Early A.M. Runner I didn’t finish lunch until after 5pm so “no pictures” were taken of my EATS all day but in case you are wondering I had Kashi instant oatmeal with diced apple mixed in for breakfast and a plate full of veggies for lunch.  

Though I did remember to take lots of pictures while making dinner that night at home as I wanted to share the entire experience with you because I finally was able to make the BBQ Chicken Quesadillas w/Caramelized Onions that I saw at IowaGirlEats and have been wanting to make for months now!  =)  

So without further ado I present to you…………    

BBQ Chicken Quesadillas w/Caramelized Onions

Step 1 – First, select a piece of pre-cooked chicken breast of your choice, I used PoloTropical’s chicken as it is very tasty and not full of fat.  Then, shred the pre-cooked chicken breast and slice 1/2 an onion, set both aside.  

Chicken Breast (Pre-Cooked)

Step 1

Step 2 – Heat a tablespoon of olive oil over medium-high heat. 

Step 2

 Step 3 – Start browning the onions. 

Step 3

Step 4 – Continue to brown onions over medium-high heat until you start to see them getting more and more brown, stirring them every few minutes or so.  I also turned the heat down a little after stirring per the advise of Kristen at IowaGirlEats

Step 4

Step 5 – The onions will start to get really brown after approximately 15 minutes and you will want the heat to be around medium-low (or Level 4 as shown on my oven) at this point. 

Step 5

Step 6 – Add 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of sugar to the pan, being sure to stir it around and turn the temperature down another notice to around low heat (or Level 3).  Continue to brown until the onions start to caramelize, get a little sticky and look like the below.  Set aside. 

Step 6

Step 7 – Select the wrap of your choice – – – I used Mission Multi-Grain Wraps as they are pretty good and high in fiber.  Then place it on a greased pan over medium-high heat.   

Mission Multi-Grain Wraps

Steps 9 thru 11  – Top wrap with shredded cheese of your choice, then shredded chicken breast, bbq sauce and last carmelized onions.

Step 8

Step 9

Step 10

Step 11

Step 12 – Flip over empty side of wrap so it covers the other side, then brown it on both sides for a few minutes or until the cheese is melted. 

Step 12 (one side)

Step 12 (other side)

Final Step – Plate with a side of bbq sauce and ENJOY! 

Final Step

Try them, you will not be dissapointed as they were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

____________________
Later that even I visited my husband about 30 minutes before he left work (The Salon) so he could give me a Trim on the multi-layered cut he gave me a few months ago, that came out really good!  =)

My Multi-Layered Trim!

I have to say I am very lucky to have a husband as a Cosmetologist…..as I get FREE cuts, trims, blow outs, flat irons and soon “highlighting” and/or “coloring” anytime I want!  =)

 __________________
 
SATURDAY
 
Due to a very long, busy & tiring week I stayed in bed until around 9:30a.m. and did not hit the street 1st thing for my scheduled 9.1 Mile Run as you will see on my16-Week 15K Training Plan
 
But, I did finally venture outside around 10:45a.m. to complete a 4 Mile Run in approximately 45 minutes
 
Luckily for me it wasn’t too hot outside, there was a slight breeze in the air, my route took me through many shaded areas and I think Fall is finally trickling into Florida…………as if I tried to run at this time a month ago I surely would have passed out from the heat or something!  =O
 
 

And, I am VERY HAPPY to report that I did not have any Runner’s Knee pain at all during my run, which I attribute to the following:

  • More rest!  I finally got a full 8 hours+ on Friday night.
  • No long runs!  I continued to run every day or two, however I did not complete any long runs this past week (nothing over 4 miles).
  • Ran slower!  I made sure to pace myself so I would be running around 11 minute miles or slower.

Despite the fact that it was DIFFICULT to do the last 2 I did as I knew they would only aggravate my knee pain and could possibly make it worse, which I didn’t want to happen as the thought of not running at all frightens me………espically since the race I have been training for over the past 4 Months is only a week away!  =O 

 In Past News – I forgot to post about Wednesday nights visit to the GYM!  Check out what I did below, pretty much a repeat from the week before………… 

Reach Your Better Body Goal – Trim from Tush to Toe Workout

***2 or 3 sets of each, 10-15 reps each

The above left me VERY SORE for several days!  In fact, my legs were still sore on Saturday morning during my run…….a “good sore” of course, which means you actually worked those muscles – – – always aim for soreness, just stay clear of PAIN!  =)

____________________

Do Not Do I As I Did On Saturday!!!

Basically, I did not eat anything all day until almost 4pm!!!  =O

Breakfast was skipped completely as was lunch technically since I didn’t eat until almost 4pm so that would be closer to dinner then lunch.

Why did I do this I am sure you are wondering!?!?! 

Because I woke up to late to have breakfast.  Then I ran and afterwards was running around like a “busy bee” doing this and that …….that food was just not a thought in my mind, so I forgot to eat!

However, my stomach started to remind me after 2pm with a vengences and I also started to get very “light headed” and “tired”!  So please do not do as I did you will surely regret it as I did.

Once I finally ate I had some very good, a Greek “Traditional” Gyro at a local Greek Bistro!

Dinner

My husband has been wanting to go for awhile so we did just that and man was it GOOD!  I could have had 2 of them and the husband did.  =O

____________________

SUNDAY

Sunday morning was dedicated to House Cleaning and lots of it, check out what I did below over a 3 hour period:

  • Cleaned all 3 bathrooms.
  • Dusted the entire house.
  • Cleaned the kitchen from top to bottom.
  • Mopped bathrooms, kitchen and front hallway.
  • Vacuumed the entire house.

Afterwards I headed to the Publix to do my weekly Grocery Shopping, which took about an hour+.  Then it was back home to unpack everything and make lunch.  I had a bowl of soup I got on sale at the store that wasn’t very good but I still ate it.

Lunch

A few errands were ran after lunch and before I knew it dinner time was fast approaching so I got cracking on that by pulling out the grill

The Grill!

And, as you might have guessed we had t-bone steak with steamed/grilled asparagus and a loaded sweet potato………..YUM!

Dinner

Well, that was my weekend, very full but good!  =)

How was yours!?!?!

  1. September 20, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I hate when I’m running around and don’t eat. I get dizzy and cranky and then end up eating too much!

    • September 20, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      That is exactly how I felt on Saturday, luckily I didn’t end up eating too much that night as I knew I shouldn’t! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

