Home > Race Countdown > Let the countdown begin!

Let the countdown begin!

It is exactly 4 Weeks (25 days) until my very first 15K Race on Saturday, 25, 2010!  =)

Since the beginning of Summer I have been training for this race by following a 16-Week 15K Training Plan that I made using Runner’s World’s SMARTCOACH

I am officially down 12 weeks and about to start the final 4 weeks of the plan, man I can’t believe it has been 3 months already.  Felt like only yesterday I just started the plan at the beginning of June.  Man how time flies, as always it seems these days………..

This was by far the toughest training plan I have followed so far.  Not only did I have scheduled Long Runs at the end of every week, I also had Speed Work & Tempo Runs mid-week as well that kicked my butt just as equally as the longer runs did over the past 12 weeks. 

Please don’t be mistaken though, it was a tough plan but I loved ever minute of it and will continue to love it through my final 4 weeks.  Because not only have I become a faster runner I have run farther than I have ever run in my life!  =)

Check out some of my training run recaps below:

This weekend I am scheduled to run 11 Miles and then next week 12 Miles!  =O  Honestly, I am nervous about both these runs but I will achieve them even if I have to run at a snail’s pace (literally). 

Luckily, though that will be the last of my Long Runs, well extra long runs, as the last 2 weeks of my training will only call for my pre-race 15K (9.3 Mile) run and then the actual race 15K (9.3 Mile) run. 

After that I plan to take it easy on the longer runs for a bit…………..until I start training for my 1st 1/2 Marathon that is!  =O

____________________

Despite my time of the month cravings for anything that is considered Junk Food (icecream, cake, chocolate, chips, etc.) I have kept things in check for the most part as you can see below from my EATS on Monday.

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

In case you are wondering, the meat on the above dish is called Montreal Red Chicken and it is a recipe passed down from my Mom-In-Law that she has been making for years.  IT IS VERY GOOD!  Super easy to make, best the day after and heats wonderfully in the microwave or stove.  Try it out you will not be sorry.

Montreal Red Chicken

Ingredients

  • 6 pieces of chicken (dark meet), bone in but skin removed
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 3 gloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of ketchup
  • 2 tablesppons of hot sauce
  • 1/4 cup of cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 teaspoon of savory
  • 1 teaspoon of parsley

Directions

  1. Brown chicken on both sides in butter or oil in a fry pan.  Then place in a large casserole dish with a lid.
  2. Using the same fry pan, add the olive oil and saute the onion and garlice for a bit.
  3. Than add the remaining ingredients (ketchup, hot sauce, vinegar, sugar, salt, water, savory and parsley) and bring to slight boil.  ***Watch out for splatter***
  4. After a few minutes poor the “red” mixture over the chicken.
  5. Cover and cook at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours.
  6. Serve with white rice and your choice of vegetable, green beans and broccoli go great with this dish.
  • I usually add a little extra ketchup to make a little more sauce to cover all the chicken. 
  • Also, I don’t use all (just slightly below) the “vingar” called for in the recipe per my Mom-In-Law’s advisement. 

____________________

P.S.  I almost forgot………I ran 2 Easy Miles outside on Monday morning in about 22 minutes per my schedule.  This is now my 3rd week of getting up to run “outside” in the early a.m. and I am happy to report that I think I am finally starting to adjust to the change though I know it will be months before my body gets completely used to it and it becomes a habit.  For now though I am just happy that I actually get up and do it becuase in the past doing so always ended in FAILURE for me………..=)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

