Home > I took the weekend off! > I Took The Weekend Off!!!

I Took The Weekend Off!!!

Yes, I you heard correctly……..I took the weekend off! 

 

And, I also slept in on both mornings for a change until 9am, which is late for me as I am usually up at 7am or so. 

I also skipped my scheduled 5 Mile Run on Saturday!  =O 

Why did I do this you might ask???   

The answer is simple…..I WAS VERY TIRED!!!   

I think the past 3 months of race/toning training and 2 months of working on my new project at work finally caught up to me this weekend.  Because I was just so tired, falling asleep on the couch each night and then struggling to get out of bed the next morning

 

So when Saturday morning came and I was struggling to get out of bed my husband rolled over and said “why don’t you take the day off of running“.  It was like he was reading my mind.  

Later he also said “you have been going strong for a long time now, a day off won’t kill you“, which is exactly what I needed to hear and is exactly what I did…………I took the weekend off from running!  =) 

Fast forward to Monday morning and I am feeling great, very rested, thanks to my weekend off!  Plus, I also did not feel the least bit guilty about it.  Well ok I did slightly on Saturday morning but it went away fast because I knew I had not taken a weekend off in months (2 to be exact) and I obviously needed the rest!  ***Remember to listen to your body!*** 

____________________

So what did I do during “my weekend off” you might ask!?!?!  

The following: 

  • Ordered pizza on Friday night from Papa John’s per my daughter’s request.

My "veggie" slices!

  • Slept in both mornings with my hubby!
  • Ran a bunch of errands on Saturday.  Had lots of “returns & exchanges” to do, plus last-minute School Supplies to buy as well.
  • Had lunch with my Mom on Saturday afternoon.  We went to a local favorite called BJ’s.  I love their food, especially a soup & salad combo they have as a “lunch special”.

My cup of tomato basil soup!

My plate pilled high with my BBQ chicken salad!

  • Grilled out on Saturday night.  We had t-bone & porterhouse steaks that were on sale at Publix, plus grilled veggies and baked sweet potatoes.  Than we watched the UFC 119 premlims and I fall asleep on the couch.

On The Grill!

On my plate!

  • Went into work on Sunday afternoon from 12pm to 4pm to work on a report that is due first thing Monday.
  • Prepared food (lunches & a dinner) for the week upon my return home from the office.  Plus I did the rest of my laundry.
  • Made dinner, than ate it with the family.

My bowl!

  • Watched a t.v. movie with the hubby and went to bed before midnight.

____________________

4 Reasons To Sleep More

 

Why You Need More Sleep Tonight

 

IT MAKES YOU…HEALTHY
Skimping on shut-eye has the potential to be deadly: “Chronic sleep debt raises your risk for high blood pressure, heart disease, diabetes, and obesity,” says Dr. Emsellem. Your immune system is compromised too, “so you’re more susceptible to catching every virus that comes along.”

IT MAKES YOU…SMARTER
Though your body shuts down, your brain buzzes with activity as you sleep. That’s when it sorts, processes, consolidates, and stores the masses of information you absorbed during the day. “Sleep is crucial for learning, cognition, memory, and performance,” says Dr. Epstein. In fact, a Harvard study showed that adults who got a good night’s sleep performed 44 percent better on a memory test 12 hours later, compared with those who stayed awake.

IT MAKES YOU…SLIM
Recent research reveals “a very close relationship between insufficient sleep and the inability to lose or stabilize weight,” says Dr. Emsellem. A likely reason: Sleep debt interferes with the function of hormones that regulate how efficiently the body burns fat.

IT MAKES YOU…COORDINATED
Harvard scientists have found that after trying a new motor task — playing a piano minuet, doing an aerobics routine — a good night’s rest solidifies what you’ve learned, making it easier and more automatic the next day. “Studies show that your brain replays the same sequences during the night,” explains Dr. Emsellem. “The next day, you just know the moves — it’s no longer a conscious act.”

  1. Jenny
    August 31, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I agree with the “weekend off” thing every once in while. I spent last weekend at the lake with my family. I was very tempted to be up early every morning to run but the late nights caught up with me. I figured it was better to enjoy late nights with my brother who were in from out of town then miss that time for the sake of a run the next morning. I sure am glad I did!!

    • August 31, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      You did the right thing, Jenny! I know the little “guilt monster” will sit on your shoulder regardless of the reasoning but somtimes you have to just push them off, enjoy life & run tomorrow………=)

  2. August 31, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I totally agree with taking the weekend off, or even just sleeping in. I think thats part of finding the balance. This morning, I was supposed to wake up at 7 to run and do yoga, but slept in instead and feel so much more rested! I can run later tonight and take the same yoga class at 6.

    • August 31, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      I woke up at 6am to run this morning, however I felt rested and got up pretty easy in light of my “weekend off”………..sounded like you needed the extra sleep! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

