Home > Yellow Dog Eats > Yellow Dog Eats

Yellow Dog Eats

   

Yellow Dog Eats

On Saturday, after my Double Digit run I met my BFF (Amy) for lunch at a local famous eatery called Yellow Dog Eats.  

We have eaten her several times over the years and LOVE IT!  In fact, if it wasn’t for the fact that funds are a bit tight these days I would go every week for sure……….=)  Not only is the food amazing the atmosphere is as well!  

The eatery used to be a Country Store in Gotha, Florida.  When the owner and culinary chef, Fish Morgan, first saw the location he knew he wanted to make food in this place and he did just that.  And, 10 years later he is still serving up some of the best sandwiches & bbq around Central Florida!  

Check out the views upon entering:  

You order and pay for your food here!

You eat your food here!

You can also eat your food here "outside" on their patio!

They have an array of amazing sandwiches, salads and lots of bbq for you to choose from.  Check out their very unique menu below: 

  

 

 

Is your mouth watering yet!?!?!  I know mine does everytime I read his menu!  =) 

Amy and myself decided to split one of our favorites………Johnny Rocket which is a honey mesquite roasted turkey, raspberry melba, mild cherry ring peppers, local tomoatoes, smoked Gouda cheese, leaf lettuce on a multi-grain bread sandwhich that is served with chips and the yummiest coleslaw I have every eaten! 

Johnny Rocket

The entire combination comes together so perfectly and explodes in your mouthI eat it super slow so I can savor every bite! 

And, of course could not leave without having a piece of cake that a local baker makes for him daily.  We had the Hummingbird Cake, which is a cross between banana and carrot cake but I tasted the “carrot cake” portion mostly…….however instead of carrot pieces I got coconut pieces, YUM! 

Hummingbird Cake

 It was as good as it looks!  =)

I highly recommend visiting the Yellow Dog Eats if you are ever in the area.  I assure you will not be disappointed!

____________________

In OTHER NEWS………I had homemade whole wheat pizza with tons of veggies and meat for dinner that night just in case you were wondering!  =)

Dinner

And, for breakfast on Sunday I had the below.

Breakfast

Than for dinner I made Chipotle Chicken Quesadilla with Avocado once again, that is twice in one month!

Dinner

This time I used only 2 Chipotle Peppers instead of the 5 the recipe called for and it was much easier to eat, though it was still quite spicy!  Oh, and I forgot one of the main ingredients “avocado” but it was still really good without it.  Check out the prep pictures below for this dish:

Prep1

Prep2

Prep3

In case you are wondering, I used “raw” skinless boneless chicken that I cut up instead of shredded pre-cooked chicken in mine as my husband doesn’t like “shredded meat”.  All you do is add it in while the mixture is cooking and it cooks along with it perfectly.

Prep4

Prep5

 I also add in green & red peppers for a little extra kick of veggies and “crunch”!

Prep6

Prep7

Try it out, you won’t be sorry!  =)

Hope everyone had a great weekend!  Yes, I know it is Tuesday now but I still wanted to say that………..I am a bit behind these days as you can tell I am sure.

  1. Jenny
    August 25, 2010 at 1:51 am

    That cake looks SOOO good!! Carrot cake is a fav of mine-I am helpless around it!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

