Home > Training Schedule Change > When the going gets TOUGH….

When the going gets TOUGH….

Training Schedule

…….the tough (ME) change the training schedule(s)!!!

Which, basically means that lately I have been so BUSY that I have had to tweak my training schedule(s) several times over the past month and yet again this week………..WEEK 11!  =O

As you can see on my Toning Training Plan & 16-Week 15K Training Plan pages that have been updated to reflect this.

My latest changes (this week) are:

  • Skipping Week 11 of my Toning Training Plan all together!  =(  Unfortunatelly, I just do not have the extra for it this week, way to much is going on at work and home!
  • Running in the morning (outside) before work this week, Week 11 of my 16-Week 15K Training PlanI just do not have the time to do it afterwork at all this week, so I will be arising an hour early a few days this week in order to hit the road.

So that above is exactly what I have done so far this week. 

First, I skipped “toning” on Monday and than ran outside before work on Tuesday.  I wanted to get up at 6:15a.m.  That did not happen.  Instead I got up at 6:40a.m. and finally headed out the door at 7:00a.m.  I already missed an 2 Mile “Easy Run” on Monday and I was scheduled to do a 4 Mile “Tempo Run” on Tuesday so that is exactly what I aimed to do that morning though it was difficult to keep a tempo pace outside for 4 miles but I came pretty close.  I finished in 43 minutes, which is a 10:45 minute per mile pace and I was supposed to do 10:40 so I was only 5 seconds off per mile.  Being I ran outside that was REALLY GOOD and made me very happy to be able to run so fast outside for so long, espically when it was very hot & muggy out as well.  =)

In fact, the run went so good and I enjoyed getting my run done early so much that I plan to continue doing this going forward!  This will also benefit me several other ways as well in my busy life right now, here are just a few of the POSTIVES to early morning running:

  • No more long visits to the gym after work twice a week!  I will still go once a week (or more if I like) to do Abs & Toning (weights), however that will only take around an hour to complete instead of 2 if I had to run as well.
  • More time with my family!  Due to the fact that I won’t be at the gym for 2+ hours (plus travel) each week and not getting hom until almost 8pm on those nights, which I know my husband will love as even though he is very supportive he does express how much he misses me on those nights.  Plus, I only get to see my daughter for like 30 minutes as well on those nights as she hits bed soon after I get home.
  • Running outside is better preparation for my upcoming race (and race season)!  Think about it, all races are “outside” so it is logical that outdoor running is the best preparation for that compared to indoor (treadmil) running.  It not only helps prepare me for pavement running it also prepares my body for the weather outside, which is much different then the nice air conditioned inside running.
  • I love the mornings!  Now, I did not always.  In fact, I my favorite time of day is “dusk”.  But, over the past few years I have really begun to enjoy mornings.  They are just beautiful and getting up early also helps you get a better start on your day as well.

However, one NEGATIVE other than having to get up earlier is feeling a bit more rushed in the a.m. to get everything done, myself & daughter ready and out the door so we can get to work and school on time.  This was made aware to me on Tuesday morning when I got up late and would have been late for work if I had not had a doctor’s appoitment that morning.  So this will have to be worked on and tweaked a bit, until I find a good morning groove.

 When do you run!?!?!  And, why!?!

____________________

My EATS were very clean early this week, so I am happy to share what I ate on Monday with you below…..

Breakfast

 Kashi Gold Brown Maple instant oatmeal with berries, banana, Fage plain yogurt and a dash of cinnamon, YUMMY!

Lunch1

Lunch2

Taco Bell Cantina chicken and steak tacos.  They were ok, for the $2+ I paid for them, but I won’t get them again so I think that speaks for itself.

Dinner

 Red chicken, white rice and broccol with cheese………a old family recipe & favorite!

____________________

DAILY TIPS 

The New Superfoods:   

10 Inexpensive Foods That Will Help You Lose Weight 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunflower Seeds

The superstar: Flaxseeds

Packed with omega-3 fats and fiber, flaxseeds lower cholesterol, research finds.

The understudy: Sunflower seeds

The trail-mix staple is a worthy addition to salads and cereal. One ounce (about one-quarter cup) has three grams of fiber to help keep you full, plus almost half your daily requirement for antioxidant-boosting vitamin E. The crunchy kernels offer a dynamic duo to keep you going during workouts: iron (low levels can make you drag) and thiamine, a B vitamin that helps convert carbs and protein into energy. Thanks to magnesium, a mineral that eases muscle contractions, the seeds may help with cramps when you exercise or have PMS. Seek out unshelled seeds at the supermarket: “When snacking is labor-intensive, your brain has time to register when you’re full,” Grotto says.

  1. Jenny
    August 19, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I run in the morning because 1)that is when I am the most energetic 2)that is when I have time to myself (kids sleeping, husband at work) 3)it is coolest in GA in the am!!

    • August 20, 2010 at 1:18 pm

      Great Reasons! Same goes here with me……….love how the house is so quite at that time of day and it actually fees “nice” outside that early as well. =)

  2. August 20, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I’m definitely a morning runner! I have the most energy at that time of the day, and it also helps me focus throughout the day as well. Not to mention, getting myself up and out of bed earlier in the day means that I have the rest of the day to accomplish what I need to get done. It works out really well. 😀

    • August 20, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      I totally agree with you! I wasn’t much of a morning person until I met my husband 5+ years ago and quickly became one as he was, which I was happy to find as I had always wanted to be one for all the reasons you mentioned. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

