Home > 9 Miles Achieved! > 9 Miles Achieved!

9 Miles Achieved!

It took me a little less than 2 hours to complete and it was very tough at the end but I did it!  =)

My run started at 7:30a.m. in the morning, which was a little later than I would have liked to get out there but I went to bed at 1pm because my husband got home from work late so it was kind of hard to get up any earlier in light of that.

It was 78 degrees when I left, though it didn’t feel that hot when I left the house luckily.

The streets were nice and quite during Mile 1

However, once I hit Mile 2, I also hit the main street so it got a bit noisy but  I also hit my groove at that time so it didn’t bother me.  The next few miles (2 to 3) were really nice, until my first overpass hill arrived.  I couldn’t bare the thought of going up it so I decided to take my first “walking break” then for 2 minutes and ran down the other side. 

I hit Mile 3 a little down the street from the overpass and took my next “walking break” after Mile 4 for another 2 minutes.   After that I turned around and to head back.  This is when the run started to get tough for me.  =(

I made it to the overpass again and took my 3rd “walking break” up it for 2 minutes and the started running again when the decline came at around Mile 6.  It was hard after this point and was getting really hot outside as well with the blazing sun beating down on me in from the cloudless sky…….which I am sure is what made the run more difficult at this point. 

At Mile 7 I took another 2 minute “walking break”.  This was supposed to be my last one but it wasn’t.  I ended up taking another one at Mile 8 because I was SO TIRED and a slight incline hit that I could not bare to go up.  I walked 1/2 way up it and then ran the rest of the way home, very slowly and telling myself over and over again “not too much farther to go, you can do it“.  =O

FINALLY, I hit Mile 9 and walked the last few blocks home dripping in sweat (literally)!  I almost thought I wasn’t going to make at the, that I would have to stop and walk, but I made it luckily. 

I recovered by eating lots of pasta at Carrabba’s Tastemaker Event that I was invited to earlier in the week by Foodbuzz!  =)

I will have a full post with tons of pictures from the event soon, so “stay tuned”! 

  1. August 14, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    IMPRESSIVE! 9 miles is great. I had to call it quits after 4 miles today because it was just too damn hot!

  2. Jenny
    August 15, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Yeah for 9 miles!! I only did 5 this morning as the humidity was already killing me at 5am. All those thunderstorms yesterday made for one muggy morning!!

  3. August 17, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    WOWzah!! You should feel completely proud of yourself. Nine miles is *intense* and you did so well! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

