Home > MapMyRun > MapMyRun (8 Miles)

MapMyRun (8 Miles)

This morning I ran my 1st ever 8 Mile Run, that I used MapMyRun to tell me exactly where to run and back so that I would know that I truly ran 8 miles since I do not have a Garmin that could calulate it for me on my run (it is on my wish list though of course)!  =O

I woke up just before 7am.  Headed downstairs to get ready in the 1/2 bath downstairs so I wouldn’t wake up anyone, even the dog.  I ate a blueberry NutriGrain bar while I got ready and drank a glass and a half of water as I did not want to take a water bottle with me on this run. 

Now, if my water bottle wasn’t so big and a pain to hold I would have taken it with me but it can become a pain to carry on longer runs so I left it behind figuring I would be ok since I am getting out early to run.  However, I plan to buy one of those hand water bottles from Track Shack (our local runners store) next week during a big sale they are having. 

I also check Channel 13 News for the temp. and found out it was 80 degrees outside, not too bad for this time of year and luckily it there as a bit of overcast out so the sun wouldn’t be blarring down on me.

At 7:45am I finally hit the pavement and was off.

The first few miles went really smoothly.  The sun wasn’t too high and was also being covered by some clouds and there was a nice breeze out as well.  My only issue was dodging wild sprinklers that made me have to run in the road a few times.  Good thing there wasn’t a lot of traffic out that early in the morning on Saturday.

At about 2 and 1/2 miles I took a 2 minute walking break that I planned to happen right as I hit a good size hill so I walked up it and ran down it, which felt good, though I knew on the way back I would be running it up and down.

About 20 minutes later I hit 4 miles and took another walking break but this time only for 1 minute.  Than I headed back home.

I then hit the hill again just before 6 miles.  I sprinted up it, hit a little straight for a bit and sprinted down, which surprised me I was able to do but felt really good.

About a 1/2 mile later I took my 3rd and final walking break, this time for 2 mintues again like the 1st one.

And, I was half for the last mile and a 1/2.  That is when the run finally started to get tiring, but I was able to make it through without having to fight the urge to quit to many time and I even sprinted at the end as well.

So an hour and forty minutes later I completed my 1st ever 8 Mile Run!  =) 

Overall, it was nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be, in fact it was rather good and I am looking forward to next weekends scheduled 9 Mile Run now……..

____________________

In other news – it has been CRAZY BUSY at work this week, what am I saying, for the past 2 months really, so I am very happy to report that I finished this weeks worth of items needing to get done and was able to relax after work on Friday night!  =)

Also, I am happy to report that I feel that my eats over the past few days, are still on point, however please do check for yourself and let me know what you think???

THURSDAY

Breakfast

Blueberry instant oatmeal with fresh blueberries and a sliced banana.

Late Morning Snack

Sliced plum.

Lunch

Avocado black bean salad with lots of veggies and olive oil lime dressing.

Late Afternoon Snack

 Peanut butter on whole wheat bread.

Dinner

Taco salad with all the fixings………YUM!!!

FRIDAY

Breakfast

Spinach mushroom quiche with a banana.

Lunch

Tomato basil soup with 1/2 a turkey cranberry mayo sandwhich on whole grain bread that was pressed so it was nice and warm and goey on the inside……….=)

Afternoon Snack

A plum.

Dinner

PoloTropical pork TropiChop with white rice, black beans, corn, onions and lots of salsa………a REPEAT of last Friday’s dinner, a new favorite!

____________________

DAILY TIPS!

 The New Superfoods: 

10 Inexpensive Foods That Will Help You Lose Weight

 

 

 

 

 

Beer

The superstar: Red wine

It’s a cocktail of disease-fighting antioxidants and a plant compound called resveratrol, which studies show can protect against cancer and heart disease.

The understudy: Beer

The grape debate is whether white or red is better for you, but who knew that hops were in the running? Your favorite brew is also made with antioxidant-rich plants. In a study of nearly 29,000 women, researchers at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School found that those who sipped up to one drink a day — liquor, wine, or beer — had a lower risk of developing high blood pressure than nondrinkers. Beer has also been linked to greater bone density in postmenopausal women, according to a recent study published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. One of the brew’s bone-building secret ingredients is possibly the mineral silicon (a study found that India pale ale has the most and wheat beers the least). But limit yourself to one alcoholic drink a day; research shows that more than that may have the opposite effect on your health.

  1. August 7, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Woohoo, great job on 8 miles. I can’t wait to run that far. Sounds like it’s time for one of those cool hydration belts.

  2. Jenny
    August 9, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Congrats on the run!! I love mapmyrun! I would LOVE a Gramin too but too much $ for me right now. Those plums look great! I need to get some!

  3. August 9, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Awesome job on the run!! I use MapMyRun as well, since I’m not fortunate enough to have a garmin yet (sometime in the future, hopefully!) The mapmyrun website seems to be really accurate though. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

