Home > Finding a Healthy Balance.... > Finding MY Healthy Balance…..

Finding MY Healthy Balance…..

  

In celebration of Change The Way You See, Not The Way You Look Week and Caitlin @ Operation Beautiful (HTP) request for guest bloggers to post about their relation to the subject in celebration of her book release today (Tuesday, 8/3/10) I am posting about why I started my own blog (FAHB) and the meaning behind it. 

It all started way back when (about 20 years ago) however, I will go into that a little later in this post……first let’s start with my introduction to the blogging world, which was back in Fall of 2008  when my friend and fellow co-worker told me about a food blog by Cristin, a registered dietician, called eatlikeme on www.self.com.  After visiting and reading several weeks worth of her posts I was hooked.  I loved seeing what Cristin ate on a daily basis, it amazed me that I could follow her “life” so closely.  Her healthy and balanced eating inspired me to strive to do the same.  I really thought it was great how her approach to food was to eat a healthy, but also not deprive herself of treats.  It was all about moderation, balancing it all.  

Before then I had no clue the blog world even existed.  In fact, it took me several months before I even realized that there were other blogs out there other than Cristin’s and that in fact there were tons of personal food/health blogs on the internet for me to read.  I still remember the day I first discovered this.  It was after I stumbled upon another fellow reader of eatlikeme comment left on n a post I had read and commented on as well.  She left a web link that took me to a new world, the blogging world.  I spent hours surfing all the blogs and eventually landed at Caitlin @ Healthy Tipping Point.  

After reading several of her posts I was hooked yet “again”.  Not only did Caitlin live in the same city as me, she shared my love for running too and had also raced in several of the same races as me in town.  I felt a connection to her and religiously followed her blog on a daily basis after that.  I loved to see her daily eats and her running achievements.  As well as hear about Operation Beautiful.  The love I had for her blog eventually inspired me to start my very own food/health/running/toning/personal blog several months later in August 2009. 

That is when Finding a Healthy Balance…..after a 100+ Pound Weight Loss!!! was born!  =)  

Me (Laura) at the start of "Finding A Healthy Balance.......after a 100+ Pound Weight Loss"!

Now, I feel I must give you a little history when it comes to the additional reasons I started my blog other than the inspiration I received from Caitlin.  See back July 2009 after 4+ years of lots of ups & downs and hard work……..I FINALLY lost 100 pounds that I had gained after a very unhealthy (abusive on several levels) relationship and a horrible custody battle that followed for my daughter who was 2 years old at the time (she is 9 years old today).  

My daughter and I, after the weight gain!

The physical and mental pain I experienced during that relationship stripped me of my innocence and left me broken on many levels!  That pain stayed with my for years after I left and took a HUGE toll on me……….a toll to the tune of 80+ pounds that I gained in very short amount of time and later realized that I gained for 2 reasons: 

  1. Food became my “drug” of choice to mask the pain I tried to hide inside!
  2. I also feel that I subconsciously gained the weight to “shield my heart” from getting hurt again, as who would want to love a 240+ pound women!

Me at my after the 80+ pound weight gain!

I kept the vast amount of  weight on for several years and during that time I feel I was blinded on many levels to the true amount of weight I had gained!  Even though I saw it in the mirror it was like I didn’t really see it, like it wasn’t me in the mirror, because honestly I did not want to face it……….I did not want to face the reality of what I had done to myself (or what was done to me prior to gaining the weight)

My husband, Steven (before we started dating and got married)!

It was not until I met my future husband about 3 years after gaining the weight that all changed!  See I had already decided a few months prior to meeting him that I wanted to lose the weight and feel better about myself, however it was a struggle for the start as I had never been that heavy in my life and I didn’t know where to start…….it felt very overwhelming to me.  So when I met him and discovered his love for fitness (being a body builder for 10+ years) I had found the love and support I needed to finally FACE MY ISSUES and get enough GUTS to make real changes in my life that ultimately lead to me losing 100+ pounds, regaining my confidence (and then some) and start to love myself again

Me after losing 100+ pounds, Summer 2009!

Though I feel I must mention that my ENTIRE  journey took me much longer than the 4+ years it took to lose the 100+ pounds.  My “weight loss” journey really started much earlier in my life (prior to my ex and everything that followed).  It started all the way back in my early years at age 12, which I go into more “detail” about on my My “Weight Loss” Journey! page because I feel that you have to face your past and all the contributing factors that ultimately lead you to the damage that you caused yourself  (weight gain, lack of self-esteem or confidence, distorted image of yourself, etc.) to truly address the issues you have and than change them!!! 

Once I addressed my past and all the contributing factors I had I was finally able to work towards healing myself and I finally realized that I had to work on myself on the INSIDE first before I could feel better about what was on the OUTSIDE

Now, that was not EASY by any means and it is still something I work on everyday, which is where FAHB (Finding a Healthy Balance) come into play in my life………I started FAHB in hopes of becoming healthier on the inside and out as well as balancing my busy life (career, family, friends, etc.) at the same time!

I knew I needed something to help keep on me the right track towards my goals and switching gears from losing weight (though I must admit I do still want to lose another 15+ pounds) and having a negative self image to just eating healthier and in moderation so that I could become healthier and exercising to be strong (both physically & mentally), confident with my body and also healther!  I go into more detail on how I plan to go about this on my About Me page. 

So to RECAP……….many factors lead me to starting my very first blog Finding a Healthy Balance…..after a 100+ Pound Weight Loss!!! and I am so happy I did, not just for myself but for others out there that I might be able to inspire as I was inspired by other bloggers! 

Me today.....trying to find my healthy balance!!!

It is truly AMAZING what we can do not if we put our mind to it, when we have the love and support of our loved ones and when we are inspired by the words of a complete strangers (from the blog world  or elsewhere) who struggle as we do, just in different ways! 

  1. August 4, 2010 at 4:21 am

    Thank you for sharing your story. 🙂 I think most of us never reach a “finish line” but just keep working on it!

  2. Jenny
    August 5, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I’m amazed at how much we “gain” in “losing,” not only weight but emotional struggles that we can finally let go of! I keep feeling like the finish line is always a few steps ahead–but hey, it always gives me something to keep reaching for!

    • August 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      So very true and I totally feel you on the “keep feeling like the finish line is awlays a few steps ahead” but you are so right on it “always gives you something to keep reaching for”! =)

  3. August 9, 2010 at 12:34 am

    Wow congrats on an incredible journey! Glad you had love and support along the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

