Home > New Dishes (Recipes) > New Dishes (Recipes)

New Dishes (Recipes)

Well I bet you all are surprised to see that I have finally made some new dishes (recipes), I know I am!  =)

Introducing new dish (recipe) #1:  

Avocado Black Bean Salad Recipe

I had this salad for lunch on Monday and Tuesday.   

Lunch

This salad was very good (taste wise & for you) and refreshing!  

I highly recommend it due to taste, ease of preparation and the fact that it is a good source of……… 

  • Fiber (black beans) – keeps your digestive system clear.
  • Good Fat (avocado) – monounsaturated fat is believed to lower cholesterol.
  • Vitamins (cherry tomatoes) – vitamins a & c, calcium and potassium.

And, now for new dish (recipe) #2 courtesy of Curtis Stone…..Chipotle Chicken Quesadilla with Avocado!  

I made this last night for dinner.  

Dinner Prep1

Dinner Prep2

Dinner

This dish (recipe) was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!   

Both my husband & I loved the depth of flavor of this dish and I will be making it again in the near future.  

However, it was a little on the “spicy side” for my taste buds, even with cheese & sour cream, and for my husband as well who had it without cheese & sour cream……so next time I will be using only 1/2 the chipotle chilli’s in the recipe.   

Also, I did not “shred” the suggested 3 cups coarsely shredded roasted chicken breast and I also did not “pre-cook” it.  I took 3 skinless boneless pieces of raw chicken breast, cut them up into small strips and added them to the sauce while cooking……..as seen in the above picture named Dinner Prep2.  

And, I added a bit more honey then it called for to make it a little sweeter.

____________________  

My EATS, aside from the above, included the following on: 

Monday 

Breakfast

Snack

Dessert

*I did not have dinner on Monday night as I got home from the gym pretty late, so I just munched on cherries and had an icee. 

Tuesday 

Breakfast

Snack

____________________ 

In light of my Dad’s work schedule changing I had to modify my 16-Week 15K Training Plan as he picks up my daughter once a week from Summer Camp (or school depending on the time of year) and takes her to dinner so I can hit the gym after work.  

So this week I will be working out on Monday, Thursday & Saturday and then for 3 Weeks after that I will be working out on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday

I did the following while at the GYM on Monday night after work: 

Ab Exercises       

Toning Training Plan    

Day 15: Weights (Back & Biceps) – I did 2 to 3 sets of each, with 10-15 reps each. 

*Please note that I have also updated my Toning Training Plan, however not do to my Dad’s schedule but do the fact that I will be increasing my mileage a lot over the next 8 weeks (8 miles, 9 miles, 10 miles, etc.) and feel that doing LEG Toning right now would make my legs tired/sore during these runs and adversely affect them. 

16-Week 15K Training Plan

EASY RUN
4 miles @ 12:00

It took me exactly 48 minutes to run 4 miles @ a 12:00 pace, which is supposed to be an EASY RUN and was not difficult by any means but as I have said before it just feels tougher for me to run “slower” now on the treadmill (not outside) so the run did not feel easy to me.  As I felt like I needed to run faster most of the run and also felt more tired towards the end then usual.  Though this may have been due to the fact that I ran 7 miles two days before so I only had one days rest inbetween.

____________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

20 Ways to Torch 200 Calories

 

 

 

 

 

Bat a birdie around

Challenge partygoers to a friendly game of badminton and burn about 200 calories in 40 minutes.

Act out

Help your guests burn off even more of that barbecue fare by leading them in an hour of charades.

  1. July 29, 2010 at 12:36 am

    I love the sound of both of those recipes!!! They sound right up my alley, and I can’t wait to try them for myself. Thanks so much for sharing! 😀

    (p.s. I’m such a wimp when it comes to spicy things, so I’m glad you threw that tip out there for the quesadillas… 😉 )

    • July 29, 2010 at 7:23 pm

      Yeah, I am a “wimp” as well when it comes to Spicy Hot dishes, however since this was so tasty I was able to deal, plus the cheese & sourcream helped. Next time I will be using less peppers for sure though. =O

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

