Home > It begins soon.... > It begins soon…..

It begins soon…..

………..the Florida’s Best Running Series that is on August 14th!  =) 

See Florida’s race season doesn’t begin in the Spring like most of the country it begins in the Fall, well the end of Summer if you want to be exact. 

How do I now this you may ask? 

Because the Track Shack – 2010 to 2011 Event Guide arrived in the mail today………….. 

 

……..and I was so happy to see to advertisements for the Miracle Miles 15K that I am currently training for on the back of the guide. 

 

I am SO excited!!!  I have run in the race for the past 2 years but in the 5K that they also have on the same day, not the 15K.  Not the 15K that I have been wanting to run for the past 2 years.  

  • Year 1  (2008) I was not ready by any means to run the 15K, as I a hard time finishing the 5K as it was.  It took me 38 minutes.  See it was one of the 1st races I had run in and I also had not been running outside on a regular basis so I was just not ready for an outside race in the hight of Florida hot & humid season.
  • Year 2 (2009) – I ran the 5K much stronger the 2nd year and it only took me 33 minutes that time, that is 5 minutes faster than the 1st time I ran.  The reason, I was much more prepared.  I spent the year, 2008 to 2009, running outside more so I could become more accustomed to it and as you can see in my time it worked.  However, I had yet to run any “real” long distance at that point so I was not ready to run the 15K by any means.

BUT, Year 3 (2010) is the year!!!  I am so excited now, I can’t wait to finish my 16-Week 15K Training Plan now.  

No fear, not even of the double-digit runs I have scheduled towards the end of my run as one of my followers, Jenny, so kindly said yesterday “You have great determination so you will be able to do it, I’m sure“!!!  And, I believe her.  Because as she also said……..”It is harder to THINK about the run than to actually DO the run“!  So true, running is very mental.  It is amazing what your body can do once you mind convinces you to do it. 

The Track Shack always puts lots of TIPS for runners in the Event Guides, like “Goal Setting”  that I found in this edition. 

 

 Here my EATS for the day……….. 

Lunch

 Lunch was a 1/2 a turkey, cheese and cranberry mayo sandwich on whole-grain with an 8oz cup of Torita soup

Dinner

Dinner was a baked pork chop with broccoli and cheese, a little white rice and apple sauce

Dessert

Dessert was a cherry italian icee.  A recent “addiction” of mine, I have been eating one every night for 2 weeks……good thing they are fat-free and only have a 100 calories. 

Sorry, for posting so late!  I started a new assignment at work today and did not get a lunch break, in fact I almost forgot to eat……luckily my stomach reminded me with many growls.  =O 

Have a good night (morning, afternoon or evening)!

Categories: It begins soon.... Tags:
  1. July 23, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    That is SO exciting about the race! 😀 I’m thinking that I need to find a local 5k to sign up for soon. They’re such great ways to stay motivated with training, and there’s nothing better then the morning of a race and knowing that all your hard work is about to pay off. 😀

    • July 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

      So totally agree! Racing really helped me when I was nearing the end of my 100+ pound weight loss as it gave me something else to “strive” for other then just losing weight and it gives you such good Postive Energy as well. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

