Home > Week 7 > Week 7

Week 7

It is official, I am into Week 7!  =)

That means I am 6 weeks down and have 10 weeks to go…….on my 16-Week 15K Training Plan.

So far so good. 

I have had to make a few adjustments to the training plan. 

Mainly adjusting some of the per miles times as the original times were a bit to slow for me and I found it difficult to run that slow (12:00 per mile, except outside that is when I typically run slower, especially in Summer).  And, I also adjusted some of the long runs slightly to account for a run that I at the beginning of the plan.  But I will still be ending with a 12 mile run in the end before race day.

Overall, though I think I should be able to succeed at completing this training plan if all goes well. 

YES, I am nervous about the longer runs to come but I know I can do it if I put my mind to it and I also plan to do what they call the “Galloway Method” invented by Jeff Galloway or a/k/a the run/walk/run method in which you basically run for a mile or 10 minutes, then walk for 1-2 minutes, etc. 

This gives you time to catch your breath, cool down and “most important” let your running muscles rest. 

Many marathon runners use this method, running a mile then walking for 30 seconds to a minute and so forth, in order to keep themselves rested and their running steady throughout the entire race.   So I plan to do the same on my Long Runs!

Both of my Ab Exercises and Toning Training Plans are going good as well! 

I am really enjoying all the different moves on both as they are not only different but challenging as well, which is always good to have in your workouts as it keeps your muscles guessing. 

Just wanted to give you a heads up (update) on my progress and thoughts so far into all my plans.  I’ll be back tomorrow with some of my EATS and what I did at the GYM tonight, have a good one………..=)

  1. Jenny
    July 21, 2010 at 10:31 am

    I know you can do the long run!! You will do great! It was harder for me to THINK about the run then to actually DO the run. I may not have gone as fast as I wanted but once I started my body just did it and my mind wouldn’t let me stop! You have great determination so you will be able to do it, I’m sure!!!

    • July 21, 2010 at 11:36 pm

      Thank you so much for the very encouraging comment! =) You are right it is harder to THINK aobut it then actually DO it, I remember that when I was trying to conquer 6 miles and now I can do that pretty smoothly so I know I can do the same for 9+ miles.

  2. July 21, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    That is great!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

