Home > Veggies For A Day! > Veggies For A Day!

Veggies For A Day!

So after almost a month+ of not so healthy eating and a week+ of feeling very bloated and fat I decided to try to cleanse my system a bit and only eat veggies for a day!   

 

Plus, lots of fruit as well!

Honestly, I would love to do it for longer than a day and I will strive to do so in the future but I by no means plan to become a “Vegetarian” as I just love meat too much!  

Being a  mid-west girl, born & raised in Colorado, I was brought up on the meat and would find it pretty difficult to go without it for a long period of time.  Especially, cheeseburgers, steaks, ribs, pulled pork and more, YUM!   

However, I know that even though we get many of our vitamins and minerals from meat that it is also loaded with many so healthy things as well.  So taking a break from it isn’t a bad thing, which is exactly what I did on Tuesday, 7/13/10 as you can see from my EATS below: 

Breakfast

Morning Snack

Early Afternoon Snack

Lunch

Dinner

I also had a Luigi’s Cherry Italian Icee for dessert and a handful of honey roasted peanuts after that while watching a movie with the family because eating veggies only may be good for you but it isn’t very “filling” at all so I found myself having to eat often.  At least I kept it healthy!

After work I was scheduled to hit the GYM but that didn’t happen, in fact I haven’t been to my regular gym, Bally Total Fitness, in almost a month. 

Ever since my step-son came to visit as I have been hitting my mother-in-laws condo gym with him after work and was planning to last night as well but didn’t feel like going as he was down because he flew out today so I hit the pavement for a 2+ mile run in 25 minutes.

Despite the fact that it was in the mid-90’s outside my run went well and I tried to run it faster then I normally due on my outside runs since I wasn’t running a long time.  I believe I did just under 2 and 1/2 miles so fininshing that distance in 25 minutes means I was running close to a 10 minute mile!  =)

The rest of my even was spent showering, making dinner, doing laundry and watching a movie with the family before I finally hit the pillow after mid-night, which was way to late for me and I totally felt it today as I woke up with a splitting headache that is still lingering now 8+ hours later.  =(

Unfortunatelly, today is also a sad day as my step-son had to return home after visiting us for almost a month.  I was lucky enough to get a picture with him before we headed to the airport though, the 1st and last one on this visit.

My Step-Son & Me!

Isn’t he adorable!?!?!  And, taller then me too at 15 years old!  Which, I know my daughter will soon be as well as I am only 5 foot 5 inches.

We can’t wait to see  him again soon and will miss him so much! 

He is such a great kid (young man) and I loved having him here as did my daughter who looked up to him so much and wanted to hang around him all the time.  That of course got on his nerves a bit but I know he cares about her as I could see it on many occasions though he tries not to show it.

_____________________

Well I guess it is about time I get back to my Tips Of The Day so here it goes………..

20 Ways to Torch 200 Calories

Get in shape without working out

By Susan Hall

Staying slim doesn’t have to be a major undertaking. We found 20 easy ways to burn calories that don’t require a trip to fitness boot camp.

Cut a rug

Invite some pals over, turn on some tunes, and have a 37-minute dance party. You know you haven’t forgotten the Macarena.

Next: Work out, then make out

  1. Jenny
    July 15, 2010 at 12:47 am

    I LOVE veggies too, but I would miss meat too much to think about giving it up completely!! It is all about balance right! Some days I feel like I eat junk all day, then other days really healthy. I am trying to train myself to be more balanced instead of such big swings, usually related to my stress level!!

    • July 15, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      Oh, I am so like that as well. I typically eat pretty good Monday – Friday, but then on the weekend I stray and eat more “bad” things or just more in general. =O I too am trying to strive to “balance” my eating more all week long but it is hard sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

