Home > Putting Yourself First > Putting Yourself First

Putting Yourself First

Guess it is only fitting that we are almost into this weekend when I finally post about last weekend, especially these days (this month) as I have been so BUSY at home and work that I feel like I don’t even have enough time to think let alone type a post.  

However, even though I do not see my current busy schedule slowing down anytime soon I promise to keep on top of my posts the best I can……..hense why I am typing at my laptop at home (that I had to kick my step-son off) at my dinning table at 10pm at night.  Lucky, me I finally got my laptop to work after months of issues.  And, just in case you were wondering the reason my schedule is so busy these days is because of the following: 

  • At the beginning of the month we moved into a bigger home so that my step-son could come and live with us.  He is visiting now and hopes to be residing with us within the next few months.  So the move kept me busy for a while and now with my step-son in town we have a house full which has kept me even busier at home, but in a good way of course.
  • I took a vacation mid-month (Family Reunion) that put me a bit behind schedule on things at home and work, but I feel caught back up from that now after getting a bunch of chores (cleaning, shopping, etc.) over the weekend.
  • Then there is work!  Things have been crazy busy at work the past few weeks as I had several big projects and reports due by the end of the month.  And, next month doesn’t show any signs of slowing down either as I have a class to take for a new license I need for work and a new assignment I am supposed to take over as well.  All this is good, just keeps me chained to my desk pretty much most of the day these days.  But, you got to do what you got to do to move up………..

Now, I want to point out that none of the above is going to keep me from my TRAINING PLANS!  I will continue them as planned and try to keep on track the best I can.  I firmly believe that nothing should allow me to stray from them if at all possible.  Because no matter how busy life gets it is important still strive towards your goals in life, to take care of yourself and do what makes you happy!  

As my mom always said “you have to take care of yourself first in order to be able to take care of others (children, spouses, family, friends, etc.) and be a productive “happy” member of society (employee, volunteer, etc.).  Some may take that statement as selfishness, but it is not by any means.  It basically means that you have to make sure you are happy & healthy before you can properly take care or help others and be a good member of society.  I know any counselor or  psychologist would say the same.  How could you if you weren’t happy and healthy yourself!?!?  I know from experience this to be true because when I didn’t do this I was not the best mom, daughter, sibling, friend, employee…….I could be!  Because I was NOT happy & healthy! 

Of course this was difficult for me to do.  It took time.  And, I know many women that struggle to do this themselves, because let’s face it many of us were raised to put “others” before ourselves and it is very big in our society for us to be the care takers, most of the time at the expense of ourselves! 

Do you struggle to put yourself first!?!?! 

___________________ 

To my own surprise I actually remembered to take pictures of everything I ate this past weekend as you can see below.  

SATURDAY, 6/26/20 

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner for the whole family!

Dinner for me!

SUNDAY, 6/27/10 

Breakfast (Pre Run)

Breakfast (Post Run)1

Breakfast (Post Run)2

 

Breakfast (Post Run)3 Breakfast (Post Run)4

And, yes they were as GOOD as they looks!  =)   

Lunch

My BFF came over for lunch on Sunday and I made the above for us.  The sandwich was yummy, but I wasn’t too happy with the salad though it looks really good. 

I made chicken enchiladas (my mom’s recipe) for dinner on Sunday but in my stress of getting the dish right I completely forgot to take pictures.  I promise to next time.  Luckily, my hubby liked it so it will be made again.  =) 

____________________ 

In other news I hit the GYM on Tuesday, 6/29/10 and did the following:

Ab Exercises      

  • Russian Twist (2 sets of 20)
  • Seated leg tuck off bench (2 sets of 20)
  • Stability ball crunch (2 sets of 20)
  • Superman Variations (2 sets of 20)
  • Toe touch (2 sets of 20)

Toning Training Plan   

Day 7:  Weights (Legs)

16-Week 15K Training Plan

EASY RUN
3 miles @ 12:00

I must admit that I was supposed to do a 4 mile “easy run” per my 16-Week 15K Training Plan, however I just was not up for it after Sunday’s 6 mile (TONS OF SWEAT) run and my leg routine prior to my run so I only did 3 miles and will either do the 4 miles on Thursday or Sunday.

____________________

Hey, this question came to me the other day while at the gym! 

How many days have you worked out so far this year!?!?!

72 is my number!  Which, isn’t to bad considering I only hit the gym and pavement 2-3 days a week……=)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

