Home > Minnesota > Minneapolis, Minnesota

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Say “hello” to Minneapolis, Minnesota!    

Isn’t it a beautiful city?    

As you may have guessed my Family Reunion was held in Minneapolis, Minnesota by my cousin Michele and her husband, Patrick.   

We had a great time and I have lots of pictures to share with you, however let’s start prior to my trip……..   

I tried to eat as healthy as possible before leaving as I knew my options and choices wouldn’t be the best while away and I also got in a great workout as you can see below.   

Breakfast

I hit the gym a little while after eating the above around 9am and did the following while there, which took about 2 hours.   

Ab Exercises      

  • Russian Twist (2 sets of 20)
  • Seated leg tuck off bench (2 sets of 20)
  • Stability ball crunch (2 sets of 20)
  • Superman Variations (2 sets of 20)
  • Toe touch (2 sets of 20)

Toning Training Plan   

DAY 4: Weights (Back & Biceps)   

16-Week 15K Training Plan

LONG RUN
5 miles @ 12:00

I did not end up running the entire 5 miles@ 5mph, which is a 12:00 mile.  I ran the 1st mile at 5mph and then upped my mph’s by .1 every mile after that ending the run just under 60 minutes.  As I stated previously I just have a hard time running that slow now, unless I am outside in the hot sun of course.   

Lunch

We than ordered pizza from Papa John’s later that evening and I had 2 slices of the works (pepperoni, sausage, mushrooms, onions and green peppers), sorry camera battery was charging for the trip so no pictures were taken.  =(   

____________________   

My flight to Minneapolis, Minnesota was super early at 7:10a.m. so that means I had to get up at 4:30a.m. on Saturday, 6/19/10 in order to make it there on time, however the early flight allowed me to arrive early just before noon so that was nice as I was able to get in just in time to head out with the family to visit a beautiful old Swedish Mansion in the city that was built-in the early 1900’s…….isn’t it amazing???   

Swedish Mansion

After touring the beautiful house we headed back to the hotel so the kids could hit the pool for a bit before going to my cousin’s house for a BBQ.  

Playing in the pool at the hotel......=)

Unfortunately, I didn’t get any food pictures at the BBQ but I can list all that we ate as I remember it very clearing because it was SUPER YUMMY!  =)  

  • Cheeseburgers
  • Bratz
  • Hot Dogs
  • Lots of Chips & Dip
  • Bread cubes with raspberry vingar & olive oil for dipping!
  • Taco Salad
  • Broccoli Salad
  • Mandarin Orange Salad
  • Brownies
  • Cookies

Quite a spread, huh?   

And, guess what I had sampling of everything….including a cheeseburger, a brat, several handfuls of chips and spoonfuls of each of the salads + a cookie & a brownie.  

Later on that night we roasted marshmallows and had Smores by a fire in the back yard while we told stores of the past and funny jokes.  

Check out my little niece, Rachel, isn’t she adorable

Little Rachel

On Sunday, 6/20/10 we headed to the Mall of America for the afternoon. 

Me @ Mall of America

My Daughter @ Mall of America

My daughter has been talking about going there for months so as you can image she was super exited because she knew she would get to ride the below…….. 

Mall of America (Nickelodeon Rides)1

Mall of America (Nickelodeon Rides)2

Mall of America (Nickelodeon Rides)3

Mall of America (Nickelodeon Rides)4

Mall of America (Nickelodeon Rides)5

We spent the entire time we had a the mall in the rides sections so I didn’t get to do any shopping……..=(…….but I am glad my daughter had a good time and I didn’t really need to spend any $$$ anyway, plus we have plenty of great shopping (tons of Outlet Malls) at home in Orlando!

After leaving the mall we headed downtown for dinner a favorite micro-brewery restaurant & bar of my cousin’s and her husband’s that my step-dad enjoyed a lot as he has been brewing his own beer for over 10 years now and has won several awards. 

We parked in one of the parking garages near the restaurant and took one of the many “walkway’s” to it, which I thought was super cool as the entire city is filled with them.  In fact, every building has one connected to it so you literally do not have to go outside to get around downtown.  Which, is great in the very cold and snowy Minnesota winters.  And, I thought it was really neat how along the walkways and in the buildings they went through were shops.  It was like a big walkway downtown mall. 

Downtown Walkway

Downtown Walkway (Inside View)

Downtown Walkway (Inside View - Other Side)

Once we finished eating my cousin headed home and we headed back to the hotel for the night. 

Hotel

We were pretty beat after that last few days full of events and visiting so we just vegged in the hotel room. 

My daughter watched t.v. while I read a book by Dean Knootz called “The Husband” that I highly recommend as it was SUPER good.  I actually finished it all on the trip as I couldn’t put it down, it was that good!  =)

We all slept in on Monday, 6/21/10 as the bed was just so comfortable as you can see above……..then got up, cleaned up, all packed and departed the hotel.  Our flight wasn’t until 4pm so we decided to visit a few local eateries that we heard good things about.  The first place we visited for breakfast. 

Key's Bar & Grill

It is called Key’s Bar & Grill.  My mom and I split what they called Key’s Famous Omelet that was loaded with everything…..tons of veggies, meats, hash browns and cheese with a side of whole wheat toast and homemade raspberry jam, YUM!

Breakfast

I also couldn’t resist ordering a slice of the Coconut Cream Pie the had in the display case up front, though I only too a few bites at it was huge and by no means “figure friendly” as both the filling and cream topping were loaded with butter.  I got the rest to go but didn’t eat anymore of it as it was honestly just to much for me.  I like “lighter” pies myself, not “heavy” ones like this one……..=(

Coconut Cream Pie

We decided to take a tour of the observation desk at the Foshay Tower after dinner as we were already onsite and heard about it from the hostess.  It is one of only 16 in the country and the view was amazing.

Foshay Tower

View f/Observation Deck @ Foshay Tower1

View f/Observation Desk @ Foshay Tower2

View f/Observation Desk @ Foshay Tower3

View f/Observation Desk @ Foshay Tower4

View f/Observation Desk @ Foshay Tower5

View f/Observation Desk @ Foshay Tower6

My Step-Dad (Dave) on the Obersation Desk @ Foshay Tower

My Daughter on the Obersation Desk @ Foshay Tower

Once we came down from the top of the city we walked around and did a little shopping and then headed to take a look at the Mississippi River that goes through downtown. 

Mississippe River

The “nature” smell in the breeze was so nice down by the water.  So much so that I didn’t want to leave but we wanted to hit another local famous eatery called Matt’s on our way to the airport so we had too.  =(

Matt's Bar

Matt’s is famous for the “Jucy Lucy”! 

Jucy Lucy

Which may not  look like much on the outside but if you check out the inside you will see why it is famous…….

Jucy Lucy (Inside)

Basically, a “Jucy Lucy” is two hamburger patties cooked together with cheese in the middle until it is juicy on the inside and crispy on the outside. 

I LOVE CHEESEBURGERS, however, I have to admit that this one was not one of my favorites.  I think it was because it was a little to well down on the outside and it also only came on a plain bum with a few pickles…….no lettuce or tomaote, which are a must in my book when it comes to cheeseburgers or hamburgers.  But, their fries were really good so that was a plus.

Fries

Upon stuffing ourselves we headed to the airport that just happened to be down the road luckily and began our 5+ hour trek home………..

All and all it was a great Family Renuion and trip, wish I had more time but I am glad I was able to attend and that I got to see everyone! 
Even, my grumpy 85 year old grandma. 
Ok, she isn’t really that grumpy she just looks it.  It is the “german” in her.  I am sure I will look that way at her age.  I think it is just great that she is still so active and alert at her age.  The women on my her side of the family our known to live long as her mom lived to be 98 if you can believe that.
So that wraps it up folks! 
____________________
Glad to be back and I will try my best to stay on track with my posts but I have to admit life is pretty crazy in my neck of the woods right now(15 year old step-son is visit for a month, got some new duties at work that will require longer hours and as you know I started two training, toning & running, at the beginning of the month so that is a lot of work on it’s own…..plus the everyday things and family events that just seem to never end)……….but no worries I will continue to blog to the best of my ability!  =)

 

  1. June 25, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I love the Twin Cities! I’ll have to put the breakfast place on my list for the long weekend I’m spending there in September.

    • June 26, 2010 at 11:28 pm

      Me too, yes you should “Key’s” was a great place, all 1920’s decor and great food! Wish they had one down here. =(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

