Home > Well my weekend.... > Well my weekend…..

Well my weekend…..

……did not go quite as planned! 

 

Due to the cold (stuffy nose, scratchy throat & periodic cough) I caught from my daughter last week, as explained on my Day 2 post last week, the Kleenex box became my new BFF throughout the weekend and my weekend plans went out the window for the most part!  =( 

However, I did end up getting the below done: 

  • Doing some shopping Saturday morning with the hubby.
  • Cleaning the house Saturday afternoon. 
  • Lots of cooking all day on Sunday and a quick slow cooker meal on Saturday, check out what I made:

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak courtesy of Sarah from Running To Slow Things Down that I made on Saturday because it was super easy and I wasn’t up to making a big meal but didn’t want to eat out either. 

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak (Up Close)

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak (In My Bowl w/Brown Rice & Broccoli)

 Both my husband and daughter picked a bit at the Pepper Steak, mainly the green peppers, but said they would like to have it again in the future so that is a hit in my book as they are VERY picky eaters so if they say that then I know they liked it!  

Check out Sarah’s blog Running To Slow Things Down for a the recipe plus tons of other great ones like Blondie’s that I just saw today and plan to make this week as I LOVE THEM!!! 

On Sunday morning I made Blueberry Pancakes that I had with some bacon and orange juice, YUM!  =)  It was my 1st time making them and they were really good.  I used Pillsbury Pancake Mix and followed their Delux Pancake instructions and just added some blueberries.  

The making of the pancakes!

The pancakes on the stove top above were “plain” ones as my daughter didn’t want blueberries in hers even though she tried to eat my entire cartoon of blueberries while I was making them.  =O 

Blueberry Pancakes

I attempted to make SunTea in my new glass pitcher purchased at Ross on Saturday late Sunday morning, however upon bringing it in from outside after brewing in the sun for a bit the top came off and it broke all over the ground, of course made me very sad as I remember my step-mom making iced tea in the sun when I was younger and I loved it so when I found the pitcher I was so excited to make it myself!  =( 

SunTea

And, for dinner I made RIBS!!!  As they were on sale and everyone loves them in our house, plus they are super easy to make.  Just salt & pepper, pop in the oven at 250 for 3-4 hours, basting with BBQ the last hour a few times and their done. 

Ribs

There was no cooking involved in my next EATS for the weekend that I had pretty much every night.  Introducing PhillySwirls italian ices in all sorts of flavors that have NO fat and are low in calories.  =) 

PhillySwirl

I found these felt great on my dried out sore throat and were a much better figure friendly treat then ice cream. 

Here are some various EATS that I had throughout the weekend: 

Menchie's

Watermelon

PB&B

 ___________________ 

So as you may have guessed I did MISS my 16-Week 15K Training Plan 12 minute 5 mile run that I had planned to run on Saturday or Sunday, which bugged me of course given it was my VERY first week of my training plan but it is what it is and it is bound to happen (especially if you have kids that bring germs home) so I just let it go.  As it is a new week now and I have moved on to Week 2 of my training plan, which is pretty much all you can do in a case like mine when you are out for the count for several days and are not able to make up the missed day. 

On another note I took a picture of my new Race Bib Wall that I did last weekend.  I have always wanted to make one but never had the room but I do now as my new walk in closet is HUGE. 

Race Bib Wall

I can’t believe I have been in so many races.  Mind you it is a few years worth but it still surprised me when I put them up.  6 5K’s and 1 10K in all.

____________________

Well that pretty much wraps up my weekend!  I hope you all had a good one and weren’t sick like me. 

Overall besides the sick part it was a nice weekend and luckily I am feeling much better today, which is a good thing as I have a CRAZY week ahead of me as I only have a few days at work with tons to do there, then it is my hubby’s 40th Birthday and I am going out of town for a Family Renuion on Saturday…………so it is sure to fly by!

  1. June 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Sorry you were sick! It looks like you managed to still eat well while sick, though. That’s huge–I become a baby when sick and I want comfort food.

    Slow-cookers are definitely the way to cook!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

