Home > Back to Work! > Back to Work!

Back to Work!

 

Office Work, that is!!!  Because, I sure wasn’t just relaxing or lazing around over my long weekend……….=(  

Even though I came into the following: 

  • Tons of emails.
  • Loads of mail.
  • Flashing voicemail light.
  • Piles of sticky notes.

I was somewhat relieved to be Back to Work!  

As I really like my job a lot and honestly look forward to coming to work on most days.  It is like my “oasis” from home (husband, kids, dogs, cooking, cleaning, laundry……).  

Do you feel that way about your job!?!?  

I feel it is important that you LIKE your job, otherwise it will affect you outside of work in many ways.  I found once I found a position that I really liked I was happier in all aspects of my life.  Plus, it is the one thing that is “all mine” and that I must do “on my own”………kinda like RUNNING!  =) 

It is a short week for me, just 3 days (Wednesday, 6/2/10 – Friday, 6/4/10) so I am busy trying to get caught up on stuff from my absence over the long weekend, which is never fun!  I swear taking time off always leads to MORE WORK……….=O  But, it is what it is.  

And, speaking of “time off”.  I will officially have more of it next week as my 5 Year Anniversary with my company is on Sunday, 6/6/10!  =)  Which, is a pretty big milestone for me as this is the 1st time I have ever worked for one company for that long period of time.  Plus, I will not get more “time off” because of it, YIPPIE.  Now, if I could just use it towards a vacation instead of things that need to be done………..maybe next year

____________________ 

Ok, enough about work.  Let’s get to my EATS for the day…….. 

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

I also had a bowl of cherries for desert

____________________

Most of my evening was spent cooking, fiddling with our internet modem that wasn’t working, putting laundry away and then watching a little UFC Ultimate Fighter with my hubby after he got home from work.

It was nice to get back to my “normal routine” for the most part after the move.  We still have to put the rest of the living room together but are waiting for a new entertainment center before we do that so it may be a few days, luckily the rest of the house is put together and we only need to do a few little things (like touch up paint, hanging pictures, etc.)

____________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

9 Ways to Live Longer

Live healthy, live longer

Making just a few changes in your lifestyle can help you live longer.

A recent study found that four bad behaviors—smoking, drinking too much alcohol, not exercising, and not eating enough fruits and veggies—can hustle you into an early grave, and, in effect, age you by as many as 12 years.

Fortunately, you can do something to correct these and other unhealthy behaviors. Adopt the following nine habits to keep your body looking and feeling young.

Don’t overeat

If you want to live to 100, leaving a little bit of food on your plate may be a good idea. Author Dan Buettner, who studies longevity around the world, found that the oldest Japanese people stop eating when they are feeling only about 80% full.

St. Louis University researchers have confirmed that eating less helps you age slower; in a 2008 study they found that limiting calories lowered production of T3, a thyroid hormone that slows metabolism—and speeds up the aging process.

  1. Jenny
    June 4, 2010 at 11:11 am

    So glad to hear the move went well. We just got back from a week in FL for a conference I had to attend. Hopefully a little relaxing over the weekend will be just what you need!

  2. June 4, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    I know exactly what you mean. Taking time off allows for that work build-up of stuff to do. Hope you’re feeling caught up with everything soon!!

    Oh, and I’m craving cherries now that you mentioned having a bowl for dessert. It’s my favorite fruit ever but it never seems to go on sale around here…I may just have to break down and buy a bag one of these days. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

