Home > Moving > Moving Day!

Moving Day!

The moving truck will be arriving soon and you know that means it the dreaded Moving Day!  Uh, the horror, well it isn’t quite the scary as we have 4 days to officially move from one house to the other.  Plus, we also are just moving down the street so that makes it much easier of course. 

However, moving is still no fun!  =(

Which, does not change no matter how many times you do it and believe me I am VERY experienced in this category as I have moved more times than I can count in my life as my Step-Dad was in the military when I was younger so we moved every 2-3 years and I also moved back and forth between my parents house several times as well.  So I can honestly say I am pretty much a moving expert at this point in my life. 

And, just in case you don’t believe me let me gives you a few little facts to prove it:

  • I officially attended 4 Elementary Schools (in two states), 1 Middle School and 3 High Schools (2 states & one country), which makes 8 different schools I went to throughout my childhood.
  • I lived in 4 different states (Colorado, Wyoming, Arizona & Florida) and 2 different countries (Belgium & England) while growing  up.
  • I lived years 0-2 with my Mom & Dad (prior to their divorce), 2-4 with my Mom visiting my Dad on the weekends, 4-6 with my Mom & new Step-Dad, 7-8 with my Dad & new Step-Mom, 8-12 with my Mom & Step-Dad, 12-14 with my Dad & Step-Mom and 15-18 with my Mom & Step-Dad.

So I would assume after reading the above you would believe me when I say I am a moving expert!?!?!

I of course learned a lot throughout the years to become a moving expert and would like to share some of those things with you:

  1. Transfer all your Utilities (Electric, Water, Sewer & Trash) prior to moving and do an “address change” with the Post Office prior to the move!  This is extremely important as you of course need all those to be on once it is Moving Day!  And, you don’t want to risk the loss of any mail as well.  The rest of your “address changes” on your bills, licenses, etc. can wait until the week after you move.
  2. Don’t be a “clutter bug” as I call it!  Clean out any items that you haven’t used in the past year or less on a regular basis in order to avoid acclimation of un-needed or used items so that you don’t have to worry about moving them on Moving Day!  I myself am pretty obsessive when it comes to cleaning things out and do it on a daily basis, a habit I picked up as a kid of course after moving so often!
  3. Be as “organized” as possible all the time!  This is extremely important on moving day as it eliminates the time being lost because you must spend it on getting things together and organized on Moving Day!  I am a HUGE organizer (have been since I was a toddler so my Mom tells me).  I have everything in nice and neat in its place and easy to find.  So when it is time to move I don’t have to shift through a bunch of junk.
  4. Stock up on plenty of boxes, bubble wrap & tape!  As you are bound to run out if you do not.  Plus, don’t forget the black marker so that you can label all your boxes.
  5. Also, don’t forget the dolly and lots of blankets!  A dolly always comes in handy during a move to move several boxes at one time or heavier ones.  And, I always end up needed blankets to lay out for projection when transporting everything.
  6. Make sure everything is “well protected”!  Wrap up anything that is breakable, easily scratched, etc. in order to avoid damage on Moving Day!  We learned the hard way during a recent move when my we neglected to properly protect some electronics and they ended up getting scratched and broken in route to our new house, so do as I say not as I did……..=(
  7. Throughly review your HOA’s Rules & Regulations (if you have one) prior to moving!!!  I did not do this and learned the hard way when our U-Haul truck was towed at the cost of $200 to get it back because the HOA does not allow “commercial vehicles” to be parked overnight.  =O

The above is all I can think about right now, but I think they pretty much cover it!

____________________

Let’s review my EATS over the past few days to see how I did:

 TUESDAY, 5/25/10

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner was a few handful of peanuts and some cherries.

WEDNESDAY, 5/26/10

 

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

I also snacked on peanuts and cherries after dinner.

____________________

Well I will be M.I.A. until next week and won’t be able to do any posting due to my move, but I promise I will get back on track upon my return and be on the look at for a new TRAINING PLAN that includes lots of ab exercises, a eating plan, a 16-week running program and tons of toning moves for the whole body during the 2nd Week of June!  =)

Have a great holiday weekend everyone!

_____________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

4 Food Myths Debunked

 

 

 

 

 

If the label says “natural,” it means it’s better for you

The truth: The word “natural” is not defined by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and can mean just about anything, according to Oakes. Even products labeled “all natural” can be highly processed and contain high fructose corn syrup, a manufactured sugar that some researchers think is a contributor to the spike in obesity. The word “organic”? Now that’s regulated by the USDA and means the food is made without most conventional pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, growth hormones, and antibiotics.

Categories: Moving Tags: ,
  1. May 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Great tips. I’ve moved a lot in the last 10 years and never really cleaned out the “clutter”. I kept telling myself I’d do it at the new place but never did. I’d get tired and sick of unpacking. Last summer, however, I finally did it. It felt SOOOO good to get rid of stuff.

  2. Jenny
    May 28, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Good luck with the move!! WE moved last year and it was tough!! Hope yours goes smoothly!!

  3. May 28, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Good luck with your move! My family always says we should have bought a moving truck years ago. I think the last time we totaled up all of our moves, it’s been over 30. I’m moving this weekend too, and my one tip for moving is to have a crate for the things you need to get to right away once you move in- toilet paper, shower curtain, tool kit, box cutter, hand towel, etc. I don’t want to be searching through a sea of boxes for toilet paper, and I want to take a shower right away once it’s all moved in.

  4. May 28, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    Ugh…I dislike moving too, so I feel your pain. I’ve never *personally* moved, but I have helped friends and family in the past and it’s so much work. But once you’re all moved in, it’s going to feel oh-so-great. 😀

    Hope the move goes smoothly for you!! 😀

  1. June 2, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Leave a Reply

