Home > 4 > 4 Days, 4 Pounds, 4 Miles

4 Days, 4 Pounds, 4 Miles

As I am sure you noticed I have been M.I.A. for the past 4 days

And, all I can say is it has been crazy busy in my neck of the woods lately……which will be continuing into next week as described on my Busy, Busy, Busy…. post last week.

So let me give you a run down on what I have been doing over the past 4 days and how 4 pounds & 4 miles figure into things!

First off the majority of the 4 days were spent attending my daughter’s 2010 “Girl Scout” Camporee with her and 200 other Girl Scouts & their mom’s over the weekend between Friday, 5/21/10 to Sunday, 5/23/10

Check out some of the 100+ pictures I took over the weekend at the event that I put into a Slide Show for your pleasure……..=)

We had a GREAT TIME and got tons of “sun”.  So you can imagine how beat we were upon our return home on Sunday.  Luckily, I took Monday, 5/24/10 off from work to recover and get some chores done that I missed doing while we were away.

Unfortunately, I did not get any pictures of my EATS over the long weekend while we were away as it was just so busy and I was wrapped up in taking pictures of everything else that I forgot.  But I will give you a jist of what I ate, which I will admit wasn’t the best…….=O

  • Wendy’s cheeseburger, fries & coke zero on Friday night for dinner on the commute to the camp ground.
  • 2 small pieces of cake, a cookie & soft serve ice cream for desert on Friday night.
  • Eggs, bacon, hash browns, biscuit and a banana for breakfast on Saturday & Sunday morning.  Plus, coffee both mornings.
  • Hamburger, fries and an apple for lunch on Saturday.
  • Trail mix, grapes & apple slices for a snack on Saturday afternoon.
  • Turkey, mashed potatoes and green beans for dinner on Saturday night.
  • 1 smore for dessert on Saturday night at the Camp Fire.
  • McDonald’s chicken sandwich with lettuce & tomato for lunch on Sunday afternoon our way home.
  • Domino’s pizza for dinner on Sunday night.

So as you might have guessed after reading the above this is where the 4 pounds come into play. 

Yes, that is right, the scale read a “4” pound weight gain on Monday, 5/24/10 morning compared to what it said on Friday morning…….=(  Now, I wasn’t to surprised due to my above EATS and the lack of RUNNING as well over the weekend.  But I would be lying if I said it didn’t bug me a bit.

However, I didn’t let it get me down for too long and decided to hit the GYM hard on Tuesday, 5/25/10 after work in order to hopefully burn it off, which is exactly what I did after completely the following that included a 4 mile run:

  • Sit Ups
    • bicycles
      • 2 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • shoulder press
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 38 pounds
    • butterfly chest machine
      • 2 sets of 15 reps @ 45 pounds
    • tricep push down machine
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 60 pounds
  • Treadmill 
    • 4 Mile Run
      • 41:25 minutes
        • Mile 1
          • 5 minute “warm up” @ 5.2mph to 5.6mph
          • 6 minutes @ 5.7mph
        • Miles 2
          • 4 minutes @ 5.7mph
          • 5 minutes @ 5.8mph
        • Miles  3
          • 10 minutes @ 5.8mph
        • Miles  4
          • 6 minutes @ 5.9mph
          • 5 minutes @ 6 to 7.5mph

And, I was rewarded with a much lower number than the day before on the scale this morning……..as you can see on my Weekly Weigh In page! 

YES, I did ultimately gain a pound but I am not stressing it because you have to still live life and you can’t always eat great or get out there for that run you know.  Beating yourself up too much about it only leads down a negative road that I do not want to go, so I just jump back on the horse and keep riding forward!

How was everyone else’s weekend???  Any plans for the approaching Holiday Weekend???

I am MOVING of course so it won’t be too much fun but it is nice to have the extra time to move so I don’t feel rushed!

_______________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

Keeping in the 4 theme see the below “myth” (TIP)!

4 Food Myths Debunked

 

 

 

 

Dark bread is always better than white

The truth: A dark bread might just have caramel coloring but be no better than white bread, University of Scranton psychology professor Michael Oakes, PhD, says. Look for the words “whole grain” or “100 percent whole wheat” on the package: that means the bread is made from unrefined wheat, which has more than double the fiber and is also higher in selenium, potassium, and magnesium.

Categories: 4 Tags:
  1. Suzy Smith
    May 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Oh no! 4 lbs………. You should stick to salad when you do fast food. It’s not the best salad out there but would be less calories. Skip the fries and do a yougurt parfait or a side salad. Maybe a Happy Meal? Good luck and happy running.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

