Home > Moderation > It’s all about “moderation”……

It’s all about “moderation”……

 

……..except when it comes to blueberries!  =O  

Let me fill you in a bit on the meaning behind this statement.  

On Sunday I took my daughter to Menchie’s for a frozen yogurt treat.  Later on that evening we had dinner at my mother-in-laws house and after my daughter finished her plate my mother-in-law asked if she would like some chocolate ice-cream, in which my daughter replied by saying “no thank you I already had ice-cream with mom earlier today” and as you might expect my “jaw dropped” (figuratively speaking).  

Now what child do you know that would pass up on more ice-cream or would say the above statement!?!?!    

I know I do not know to many and I honestly can’t say that I would have said the same if the question was posed to me…….=O!  

However I was of course extremely proud to hear those words coming out of my daughter’s mouth. 

But let’s not stray to far from the “rest of the meaning” behind my above statement as I must also point out another situation with my daughter and food that occurred last Thursday.  

This time it was at my mom’s house and my daughter asked my mom if she could have some blueberries from the newly purchased and un-opened pint that my mom had in her fridge.  She of course said “yes” and my daughter headed to the den to with the berries in hand.  Not even 10 minutes later she emerges with an EMTPY carton and my “jaw dropped” (literally this time) and I said “You finished all of them!” and she replied “yes” with a big smile on her face! 

Now this isn’t a HUGE surprise to me or my mom as my daughter has been known since she was a toddler to be able to finish an entire carton of berries in my sitting, however after what she said on Sunday to my mother-in-law I couldn’t help but think…………It’s all about “moderation” except when it comes to blueberries!  As far as my daughter is concerned that is!  =O 

Words cannot express how much it means to me that my daughter has HEALTHY eating habits, especially given my past issues with food that have been haunting me since my childhood!  

I never wanted her to struggle as I did when it came to weight or have the same “food demons” that I had so I started early with her when it came to implementing healthy eating habits in her in order to avoid that happening t0 her! 

So as soon as she was able to start eating solid foods I would give her several healthy options to snack on in-between the meals, like: 

  • Cheerios
  • yogurt
  • fruit
  • veggies

And, as she got older I avoided buying snacks loaded with lots of sugar & fat and continued to give her the above on a daily basis.  

Now, of course she was eventually exposed to the huge variety of sugary sweets and fatty snacks out there on the market but 9 times out of 10 she would reach for the “healthier” options (listed above) then not so I knew I was on the right track.  

I also made sure to never make her feel that she COULDN”T have something that she wanted, as I knew from experience that would only make her want it more.  

Then when she was old enough to hold to understand I began to explain the importance of eating in moderation, explaining to her how it is OK to eat what some call “bad foods” but that you just don’t want to eat them all the time (every day, several times a day)……..as it is important to make sure you eat a variety of “healthy” foods daily that include meats, dairy, fruits, veggies, whole grain and that you limit the foods high in sugar & fat! 

I guess all my hard work paid off, huh!?!?!  

Wow, it still amazes me!  =O 

____________________ 

Once again I am behind (so busy these days) so I will give you a quick overview of my EATS over the past 3 days……… 

Friday, 5/14/10 

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

Saturday, 5/15/10 

Breakfast

Lunch

The dip featured in my lunch above was the below, that I HIGHLY recommend as it is super yummy! 

 

Dinner

Sunday, 5/16/10 

Breakfast

 

After breakfast my daughter and I headed out to Old Navy where I looked for a new swimsuit as my one from last year that is still in great condition is just to big for me, man the breaks, that is just my luck!  =(  

Just kidding, I was of course happy to buy a SMALLER swimsuit, even if I had really didn’t want to spend the extra cash on it.  Though I sort of knew I wasn’t ready for them just yet, I tried on two bikini’s just to confirm it.  They looked good on the top but I still need to lose a few down below and do some more tighting as I am not one to flat my “unflattering” parts if you know what I mean.  I then came across the one piece black swimsuit that I loved and just happened to look really good at me!  =) 

Afterwards we ventured to Menchie’s for some cups of YUMMINESS!!!  =) 

 

Take a look at all the toppings you get to choose from………=) 

 

We filled our bowls to the rim of course! 

 

The price tag came to just over $10 for both.  Luckily, my daughter had a Gift Card that we used towards it otherwise it might of broke the bank.  However, it would have been totally worth it as they were SO GOOD!  

Believe you me I will be heading back there quite often this summer as how can you beat “lowfat” and some “no sugar” delicoius frozen yogurt that you can serve yourself with TONS of amazing and several healthy topping options…………ahhhhhh Menchie’s is my new best friend! 

As you might have imagined after my filling breakfast and then a big cup full of the above I wasn’t to hungry for the rest of the afternoon so I skipped lunch as I knew I would be having dinner at my mother-in-laws at 5pm. 

Dinner

____________________ 

The rest of my weekend was spent doing the following: 

  • 4 mile, 50 minute “super slow” run that I felt completely drained through and pretty much had to force myself to complete from the beginning!  Hate those kind of runs but sometimes they just happen…..=(
  • Grocery Shopping
  • Lots of Laundry
  • PACKING!!!  As we are moving in 2 WEEKS…..=O  Luckily, it is just down the street into a 3 bedroom so it shouldn’t be too bad.
  • Helped my daughter with her Egg Drop “Science Project” that is due next week.  We got the actually lander put together (shhhh, I stole part of the idea from someone online that listed what they did on their blog) and she will start the hyponisis next. 

______________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

8 Healthy Office Snacks

 

 

 

 

 

Veggies with Ranch

Beat the high-fat, high-sodium snacks featured at the convenience store and pack a container of fresh veggies like carrots, celery, and grape tomatoes. Raw veggies fill you up because of their high water and fiber content. If you struggle eating veggies in the buff, try dipping them in 2 tablespoons of low-fat Ranch dressing (80 calories), hummus (70 calories), or salsa (10 calories).

  1. May 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

    You must have been one proud mom at that point…that is so awesome! 😀 Having healthy eating habits as a kid makes such a difference for the future. You should be proud of yourself for guiding your daughter with making those healthy choices! 😀

    • May 18, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      I really appreciate your comment, thank you! It means a lot to me that she has picked up some “healthy” habits from me and not the BAD ones I used to have. I plan to continue so she hopefully never has to go through what I did. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

