Home > Peanut Butter > Peanut Butter

Peanut Butter

 

Why I Heart Peanut Butter… and You Should, Too! 

There are plenty of reasons to love peanut butter, check some of them out below:

  • For starters, it tastes great with an apple or a banana, on toasted whole wheat bread, as a sandwich or by itself.
  • Peanut butter packs a mean punch when it comes to protein and fiber, which helps you feel more full and satisfied.
    • A study conducted by Purdue University showed that participants who ate peanuts “every day” didn’t go overboard in their daily calorie allotment.
      • Research indicates that because it’s a stick-to-your-ribs offering, you’re less likely to feel hungry after snacking on a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter than rice cakes or pickles. But don’t expect to get all the protein you need from peanut butter – two tablespoons has just 7 grams of protein which isn’t much. To give yourself an added boost, drink a tall glass of milk with your peanut butter and jelly sandwich — so you’ll get more bang for your protein buck.
  • Many people don’t realize that in addition to tasting great, peanut butter also brings plenty to the table in terms of vitamins and minerals.
  • Another thing — peanut butter is actually rich in mono-saturated and poly-saturated oils.
  • In general, nuts have the properties to improve heart health.
    • One ounce of nuts a day can lower your risk of heart disease. It helps to lower blood cholesterol levels and increase the amount of nutrients such as folate, fiber and magnesium.
  • This childhood favorite also has zinc, which boosts the immune system.
  • Peanut butter contains between 92 to 93 percent peanuts, leaving little room for other ingredients.
  • It’s important to enjoy this tasty treat in moderation as its chock full of calories.
    • In fact, two tablespoons make up one serving for a total of 188 calories.
  • While critics may be quick to point out that peanut butter is indeed a fatty food, it is not a source of unhealthy trans fats, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Do you “heart” Peanut Butter!?!?!  If so why??? 

In addition, to the above reasons why I “heart” peanut butter I wanted to add that during my entire 100+ pound weight loss journey I ate peanuts nightly as they satisfied my hunger pains and need to snack, plus they were low in carbs and high in fiber.  I acquired this snacking habit from my husband who has been a body builder for 10+ years and ate them nightly as well.   

I also, ate peanut butter daily as well with fruit (apples or bananas), on whole wheat toasted bread or crackers and I know mix it into my oatmeal sometimes as well. 

____________________ 

So let’s review my EATS on Monday, 5/10/10 shall we………. 

Yesterday’s breakfast was a “childhood favorite”, Raisin Bran with 2% milk, cut up melon and a glass of orange juice on the side. 

Breakfast

What did your mom give you for breakfast when you were a kid!?!  

My mom used to give me the pretty much same for breakfast when I was a kid.  It was either Raisin Bran or cream of wheat every morning along with a slice of melon and a glass of orange juice.  And, “surprise surprise” I give my daughter close to the same every morning now……..either waffles or cereal with melon and a glass of juice.  Unfortunately, she isn’t big on cream on wheat so that isn’t an option, but I will continue to work on her. 

As stated above I love me some peanut butter & banana so that is what I had as a late morning snack of course…………=) 

Late Morning Snack

Lunch was a toasted Boar’s Head ovengold turkey, white american cheese, sliced pear and honey mustard on high-fiber whole wheat bread

Lunch

So I am finding that my “orange” plate doesn’t portray certain pictures too well so next time I will have to use a white one, though ultimately I really need to buy some new dishes. 

It was Taco Night last night so I had a HUGE taco salad that I ate every bit of for dinner.  It included the following items: 

  • romaine lettuce
  • diced cherry tomatoes
  • corn nibblets
  • black beans
  • taco meat
  • mexican rice
  • cheese
  • sour cream
  • torita chips

Dinner

After dinner my daughter and I took a long walk with the dog as it was so nice outside……..in the upper 60’s, cool & breezy.  This kind of weather is not common at all this time of year so we are trying to soak it up as much as possible.

_________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

8 Healthy Office Snacks

 

 

 

 

 

Instant Oatmeal

When you’re in a rush at work and want something warm and comforting, heat a packet of plain instant oatmeal (just 110 calories) in the microwave for a quick and satisfying treat. Choose plain oatmeal and add your own flavorings to control the calorie and sugar content. Top with a 42 calorie mini box of raisins for a sweet flavor and added nutrients or sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg. Doubling as a fiber-rich breakfast or daytime snack, oatmeal helps lower cholesterol and reduces the risk of heart disease.

  1. May 11, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I love peanut butter too. I eat it more often now that I work out a lot. Peanut butter and bananas are a fantastic fuel!

  2. Jenny
    May 11, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Cute picture of toast and PB! Love your shorts!! I LOVE PB!! I seriously could eat an entire jar with a spoon!! It is great smeared on a piece of dark chocolate for a sweet treat that packs some nutrition as well!!

    • May 11, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      Yeah, I totally forgot to mention how much I love Chocolate & Peanut Butter………..=O It is like a match made in heaven! =)

  3. May 12, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    I love, love, love peanut butter. I can’t imagine life without it. 😉 And you’re so right about all the health benefits. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

