Home > Mother's Day > Mother’s Day Weekend

Mother’s Day Weekend

My Mom & I

As I am sure all of you know it was “Mother’s Day” this weekend and I was fortune enough to get to spend some quality time with both my daughter & my mom!  =)

My daughter made me several things this Mother’s Day, that included the picture frame on the right in the below picture.

Mother's Day Card & Gift

The card on the left is from my friend Michelle who sends me the best cards filled with amazing quotes every holiday, check out what this one said on the inside below.

Mother's Day Card (Inside)

I love the little note she wrote me at the very top that it hard to read so let me tell you what it said…………

Today you deserve to be acknowledged for all the wonderful things you do for your family.  While being the heart of the home is the most important role it is so rarely appreciated to the extent it truly should be!  Wishing you a Wonderful Mother’s Day!” 

Isn’t that sweet, she has such a way with words.  She also put the following quote that I loved on the top of the card. 

“A Mother Is A Person Who Seeing There Are Only Four Pieces Of Pie For Five People, Promptly Announces She Never Did Care For Pie.”

– Tenneva Jordan

Later in the afternoon on Sunday, 5/9/10 my mom, daughter and I took a trip to Sanford Florida for the day.   

We had intended to “Hollerbach’s Willow Tree Cafe“, which is a local german eatery, however they were closed so we ended up eating at a restaurant at the Pier on the lake.  It was nothing fancy, basically just a american restaurant & bar on the lake, but  the view was really nice on the balcony as you can see………

Balcony View

My Daughter!

My Mommy!

We dinned on fried shrimp, cheeseburgers with fries and mozerrella sticks for lunch……….not the healthiest of course but super good, though my tummy didn’t agree as it bugged me for awhile after.  =(

After lunch we strolled around their historic downtown district and visited their local museum, an antique shop and a art gallary.

My daughter wanted to capture the day in photos as you can see below.

Museum

Antique Store

A Rooster On The Street

Art Gallery

We completed our day with a trip to Dairy Queen on the way home and I had a banana split blizzard (sorry no photo, daughter had the camera still).  This has been my icecream desert of choice for years, prior to that I would get the Mr. Misty!  =)

After getting home I popped a roast in the oven and we had that for dinner along with baked sweet potoates and broccoli with cheese.

Dinner

Oh, and I don’t want to forget that I was also able to enjoy some quality time with my “Mother-In-Law” on Saturday, 5/8/10 as we (my daughter & I) stopped by to utilize her pool midday and stayed to visit after.

Prior to visiting her I had a huge southwest chicken salad for lunch as I was starving since I completely forgot to have breakfast after my morning 4 mile run that I completed in 50 minutes and before I went grocery shopping.

Lunch

Since hung around the Mother-In-Law’s until after 6pm I couldn’t bare to go home and start making dinner so I picked up Five Guy’s Burgers & Fries on the way home and it really hit the spot as I have been craving a cheeseburger for awhile now.

Dinner

And, I have to admit it………I had 1/2 a small bottle of Coke with the above, which really hit the spot.  I can’t tell you the last time I had a soda it was that long ago so I honestly do not feel guilty for drinking it.  =O

Oh and that reminds me I also picked up dinner on Friday, 5/7/10 after my daughter’s “Girl Scout” meeting that I had to attend.  We had Domino’s Pizza.  It really hit the spot.

Dinner

Guess that pretty much wrap’s up my Mother’s Day Weekend, I hope everyone enjoyed yours as much as I enjoyed mine………=)

P.S.  Check me out in my new shorts that I spoke about in a post last week!

My New Shorts!!! =)

 Aren’t they cute???  It felt so good to wear them yesterday and not feel uncomfortable…………BIG SMILES!!!  =)

_______________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIPS!!!

8 Healthy Office Snacks

 

 

 

 

Popcorn with Parmesan

Take regular bagged popcorn to the next level by topping with 2 tablespoons of shredded Parmesan cheese. The nutty flavor of the popcorn pairs well with the rich flavor of Parmesan resulting in a quick, 150-calorie snack. Simply top 3½ cups of 94%-fat-free popcorn with the cheese and your snack is served. If you don’t have an office fridge to stash your Parm, nosh on just the popcorn for only 100 calories. This salty snack counts as one of your three daily servings of whole grains and helps to increase your energy and mood.

 

 

 

 

Nuts

Make the swap and choose nuts over chips for a crunchy alternative. Nuts are rich in heart-healthy fats but are calorically dense (about 170 calories per ounce) so measure out an ounce (about 24 almonds) and stick to that amount instead of feasting on the entire bag. Stash premeasured baggies of nuts in an office drawer or in your purse to nibble on when the 3 p.m. hunger pains hit. Almonds and other nuts are a naturally high source of vitamin E, calcium, magnesium, and potassium and are rich in protein and fiber.

  1. May 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

    What did you think of 5 Guys? My BF thinks it’s the best burger. I’m on the fence. It’s good but not the best I’ve ever had…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

