Home > Food Craving > Food Craving

Food Craving

 

A food craving is an intense desire to consume a particular food, as opposed to food in general.  Food cravings are especially common in people following structured diet plans, and often interfere with the best of intentions to adhere to a particular style of eating.

Foods with higher sugar glucose, such as chocolate, are often more craved than foods with lower sugar glucose, such as broccoli. 

A widely accepted reason for certain cravings (especially during pregnancy) are a drop in the bodies levels of the vitamins and minerals contained in the food craved.  A person on a strict diet, may therefore crave items considered ‘unhealthy’ as they contain high sugar glucose, which they have become defficient in. 

Commonly Craved Foods 

What food(s) do you crave!?!?! 

Unlike most women I do not typically crave chocolate, unless it is around that “time of the month”.   

However, I do tend to crave “salty” foods (chips, nuts, pretzels, etc.) and lately I have noticed a craving for “sweet” foods as well like ice-cream at night after dinner.   

I also get a craving “fast food” like hamburgers & fries while I am on the road a lot or if I drive by a burger joint and can smell them cooking.  I have always LOVED cheeseburgers too so it is hard to avoid them at times, but I think I do pretty good for the most part, especially considering that in my bigger days I would be known to visit the drive thru almost daily. 

In the past, I craved “donuts” (one of my weakness since birth) often, but I stay away from them now for the most part (you might catch me eating one every few months) and will just look at them in the bakery sometimes but I always move away quickly before one of the staff asks me “if I need anything”.  Which is hard to do sometimes as back in the day I would be known to get one every time I visited the grocery store, even if I went more than a few times a week, which I am embarrassed to say.  I was a total closet donut eater!  =O 

What do you do to AVOID your cravings!?!?! 

I try to eat every few hours in order to AVOID getting “hungry” that can lead you to eating the foods you crave and I also keep healthy snacks that curb my cravings, like nuts & pretzels for “salty” cravings and fruit for “sweet” cravings!   

And, if I just have to have whatever I am craving I HAVE IT!  However, I will try to only have a few bites of it (chocolate) , make it a small serving size (ice-cream or fries) or stay clear of it for a while after I have eaten it (cheeseburgers). 

____________________ 

Speaking of eating every few hours, that is exactly what I did yesterday (Wednesday, 5/5/10) as you can see below: 

Breakfast

Snack

Lunch

Dinner

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

TIP OF THE DAY! 

 

8 Healthy Office Snacks 

 

  

  

  

  

Whole Wheat Crackers and Peanut Butter

Save your quarters by skipping the vending machine’s peanut butter crackers and packing your own nutritious snack. For a hunger-curbing option, try 10 multigrain wheat crackers (such as Multigrain Wheat Thins) and a tablespoon of peanut butter. This nutrient-rich snack rings in at just 193 calories and offers 2 grams of fiber. The combination of complex carbs and protein help to keep your blood sugar stable and keep you feeling full longer. 

*If you follow my blog you will see I am big on the Peanut Butter!  I eat it pretty much daily with fruit, crackers, whole wheat bread, etc……..  I also eat “peanuts” a lot at night (though I never take pictures of them) and find them a great little snack that after a handful or two I feel satisfied. 

NextFruit

  1. May 6, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I try not to avoid my cravings. Sometimes when I have an intense craving–for chocolate perhaps, I’ll have a few chocolate chips or a piece of dark chocolate. It satisfies the craving without ruining my whole day’s calories.

  2. Jenny
    May 7, 2010 at 12:50 am

    I tend to crave sweets, esp at night after my kids go to bed. I think I am tired and stressed from the day, so my body wants the sugar to keep me going through my evening activities and gives me a good feeling after the stress of the day. I try to let myself have a small amount nightly which most of the time cures it!! I am a nightly dessert eater, which I try to balance with healthy eats all day and I don’t really like fried food or salty snacks.

  3. May 7, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I try to find healthy alternatives to things I like and usually satisfies my cravings. Like I was wanting Eggs benedict lately, so I made a healthified version of hollandaise this morning with farm fresh poached eggs.

    When a substitute just won’t do though, I give in. Like sometimes I just want restaurant nachos – So i’ll get them, and be done with it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

