Home > Shorts > Shorts

Shorts

  

Over the weekend I purchased the above pair of Shorts @ Old Navy and I cannot express to you enough how much it meant to me, however if you read the following reason below you may understand. 

  • It has been 10+ Years since I have worn a pair of real (5″ or shorter) shorts!  =O
    • Over the past 10+ years I have not felt comfortable enough with my lower body to wear anything that was shorter than above the knee. 
    • In fact, during my heavy years (prior to my 100+ pound weight loss) I only wore jeans or pants, nothing shorter than that outside of the house.
    • Once I started losing weight, I continued to only wear jeans or pants outside of the house for several years and it was not until I was down about 50 pounds that I finally started to wear Capri’s and eventually Bermuda shorts.

So as you can imagine I was THRILLED to finally by “real” shorts and feel comfortable wearing them too!  Because believe me I have been trying on shorts for a few seasons now and every season I would be very disappointed to find out I wasn’t ready to wear them, but luckily that was not the case this season! =) 

Especially so as living in sunny “HOT” Florida makes wearing  jeans in the in the summer with 90+ degree hot and humid days no picnic by any means…………=( 

BUT, those days are finally over for me!!! 

____________________ 

 Onto my EATS on Tuesday, 5/4/10

Breakfast

Breakfast was a big bowl of instant maple brown sugar oatmeal with 1/2 a diced apple and cinnamon mixed in before cooking. 

Lunch1

I had 2 lunches today, the 1st one was a bowl of frozen veggies

Lunch2

Lunch #2 was high-fiber whole wheat bread that I topped with honey mustard, Boar’s Head oven-gold turkey, white american cheese and thinly sliced apple that was then heated in a toaster oven for a few minutes. 

Dinner (duplicate picture)

Dinner was the rest of my homemade Spicy Bean Salsa with Baked Tostitos.  Sorry for the “duplicate picture” but I forgot to click one before I started eating as I was STARVING after hitting the gym. 

____________________

At the GYM last night I did the following:

  • Sit Ups
    • Seated Leg Tucks Off Bench
      • 2 sets of 12 reps
    • Stability Ball Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Straight Leg Pullover Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Toe Touch Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Weighted V-Sit Twist
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • Missed (Due to lack of equipment!)
    • Lateral Raise
      • 2 sets of 12 reps
    • Overhead Press
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Due to lack of time!)
    • Plank
      • 2, 1 minute poses
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • 2 sets of 5, 10 second reps on each leg
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 31:10 minutes (Build Speed With Ease)
        • Mile 1
          • 5 minute “warm up” @ 5 to 5.5mph
          • 5 minute 30-second pickups & cool downs
            • 6mph to 7.5mph for 30 second “pickup”
            • 5.5mph 30 second “cool down”
        • Miles 2 & 3
          • 20 minute quarter mile runs & cool downs
            • 5.0mph to 5.5mph f/2:30 minutes
            • 6.0mph f/2:30 minutes

All and all it was a pretty good work out, aside from the fact that it was VERY hot, stuffy & humid in the gym that made it very difficult to run. 

In fact, I wanted to quit after the 1st 5 minutes……=(……….but I didn’t, I kept going and finished my 31+ minute, 3 mile run drenched in sweat and feeling like I was overheating

I am hoping the gym was having issues with their air conditioning or just started it to late or something as I do not think I can go the whole summer if it is going to be like that in there, it felt like an oven.

Luckily, I had another bottle of water in my car as I finished my entire 24 oz bottled inside the gym and was still thirsty.

After getting home I ate quickly, took a shower, helped my daughter finish a school project and veggied on the couch with my hubby the rest of the night watching Chopped on the Food Network.

____________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

 

8 Healthy Office Snacks

 

 

 

 

Desktop Snacks

Working eight or more hours a day can make it difficult to eat healthfully unless you plan ahead. Research shows that eating every four hours helps to keep your metabolism charged and your energy level high. Before you dig in your drawer for spare change and head to the vending machine, plan ahead and stash low-calorie, nutritious snacks in a cabinet, drawer, or your briefcase. Each of these snacks has less than 200 calories and are sure to satisfy when the 3 p.m. cravings hit.

  1. Jenny
    May 6, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Congrats on wearing shorts!! It must be so liberating to wear them!! I love Old Navy Shorts– I have 5 pairs!!

    • May 6, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      I haven’t had much luck with them in the past (as I stated in the post), however I lucked out this season as they have a TON of shorts out! =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

