Home > Uncategorized > 4 Days

4 Days

  

Well, if you follow my blog regularily you might have been wondering where I have been over the past 4 Days or maybe not but I am going to tell you anyway…………..  

  • I have been super busy at work (Friday, 4/30/10 & Monday, 5/3/10) and just could not manage to break away!
  • It was the weekend (Saturday, 5/1/10 & Sunday, 5/2/10) and I do not go on the computer over the weekend if at all possible as it is my break away from the machine that I stare at 45+ hours a week!

In order to catch up quickly I am going to give you a summary of the following 4 Days:  

Friday, 4/30/10  

Hazelnut Coffee f/7-Eleven

Breakfast (Cranberry Bagel with cream cheese & a banana)

Birthday Lunch (Publix Cuban sandwiches & baked chips)

Birthday Cake & Girl

Can you guess how old the Birthday Girl is???  

40!!!  I was totally in shock, doesn’t she look great for 40 years old!  

Dinner (Homemade whole wheat pizza with lots of veggies, pepperoni & cheese)

Saturday, 5/1/10  

I ran first thing in the morning at 9am and did not eat prior as I was not planning to do a long run.  I ended up completing 4 miles in 45+ minutes.  

Upon my return I had the below for breakfast.  

Breakfast (Multi-Grain Cheerios, sliced bananas, 2% milk & a glass of orange juice)

After showering and hitting the grocery store I made the below.  

Spicy Bean Salsa

 Check out the recipe below:  

Spicy Bean Salsa  

Ingredients

  • 1 (15 ounce) can black-eyed peas
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 (4 ounce) can diced jalapeno peppers
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 cup Italian-style salad dressing
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, combine black-eyed peas, black beans, corn, onion, green bell pepper, jalapeno peppers and tomatoes. Season with Italian-style salad dressing and garlic salt; mix well. Cover, and refrigerate overnight to blend flavors.

*I omitted the “jalapeno peppers” as I don’t like them and subed “grape tomatoes” for the can diced tomatoes and also added fresh squeezed “lime juice” and “cummin”. 

The salsa was AMAZING!  I highly recommend making it. 

Lunch (Bean Salsa & Baked Tositos)

Dinner was eaten at my Aunt’s 50th Birthday Party, in which a lot of pictures were taken by others and I have yet to get those yet so I cannot share them with you today, sorry!  

I had a sampling of the below: 

  • grilled veggies
  • Portobello mushrooms
  • brie cheese & crackers
  • wontons
  • meatballs
  • birthday cake

  Sunday, 5/2/10

Breakfast (Veggie omelet with fruit & orange juice)

Lunch (Pork "Pollo Tropical" tropichop with yellow rice & veggies)
I did not have my camera when we had lunch so I found the above one online…….I had a “TropiChop” @ Pollo Tropical, the small one!

Dinner (BBQ Ribs, green beans & fries)

Monday, 5/3/10

Breakfast (Multi-Grain bread, peanut butter, strawberries jelly & a banana)

Lunch (Chips & Salsa)

Dinner (Chicken Fajitas)

I used the below to make them:

McCormick - Recipe Inspirations - Garlic Lime Chicken Fajitas

The recipe is on the back that uses fresh sqeezed orange & lime juice. 
They were pretty tasty but I still prefer the ones I get at a Mexican Restaurant……………….=)
____________________________________________________________________________________
LOTS OF TIPS!!!
5 Ab Exercises for a Faster Run
 

Back Extension

Lie facedown on ball, knees bent and feet on wall behind you, toes on floor. Bend elbows by sides, bringing fists in front of shoulders. Lift upper body; lower.

Arm/Leg Reach

Start on all fours. Slowly extend left arm and right leg at the same time until both are parallel to floor; hold for 1 second. Return to start. Switch sides and repeat to complete 1 rep.

Russian Twist

Lie faceup on ball, knees bent, feet on floor. Extend arms toward ceiling and clasp hands. Keeping hips still, rotate upper body to right, then left, to complete 1 rep.

  1. May 4, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I have one of those exercise balls. I do some of my ab work with it. There are some REALLY challenging moves you can do with it.

    • May 5, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Tell me about it, I am completing HTP Iron Pumping Challenge this week that involved a LOT of “exercise ball” moves that really challenged me and also helped tone me as well! =) Look for more to come in June as I am starting a new plan then…….

  2. Jenny
    May 5, 2010 at 1:57 am

    That salsa looks awesome!! Going to have to make some this weekend!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

