Home > Reflection In The Mirror > Reflection In The Mirror

Reflection In The Mirror

 

Last night while at the gym I went down stairs to do a few machines that were taken upstairs.  When I sat down at the back press and caught my reflection in the mirror I was taken back at what I saw…….. 

……..a SMALLER & MORE TONED person staring back at me!!!!  =O 

A much different reflection then I saw last time I sat in that seat (6+ months ago) I might tell you, so much so that I had to look for a while in order to believe what I was seeing.  The thought actually crossed my mind that they put in “special” mirrors that made you look smaller, if you can believe that one. 

See it was especially surprising to me due to the fact that I haven’t really lost any weight over the past view months as you can see from my Weekly Weigh In page (https://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/weigh-in/).  

So I had to ask myself how is it possible to be seeing a smaller and more toned person staring back at me in the mirror!?!?! 

Then I remembered…….DING, DING, DING!  15 Weeks ago I started the Iron Pumping Challenge that you can find listed on my Fitness page(https://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/fitness/). 

That had to be it!!! 

What I was seeing in the reflection in the mirror was the result of all hard work I had put into the challenge…..=) 

Man, I wish I had my camera so I could have snapped a picture (though I might have gotten a few strange looks if I did that in the gym) as I would have loved to share it with you all. 

However, since I couldn’t I thought I could share some before and after pictures with you below: 

Me at my heaviest!!!

The above picture was taken back in December 2004. 

At that time I weighed in around 245+ pounds, wasn’t sure exactly as I didn’t weigh myself often back then.

Me after losing a 100+ pounds!!!

The above picture was taken of me back in November 2009, right before my first 10K race! 

I weighed around 142 pounds at that time, need to get back down to that weight now….=O

As you can see I am much SMALLER & TONER in the “after” picture!  =) 

Anyway, I just had to share that as it really made me feel good…..especially since I have been hovering between 141-146 pounds for MONTHS now!

___________________

Ok, onto my EATS for the day!

Breakfast

Mid-Morning Snack

Lunch

Mid-Afternoon Snack

Dinner

____________________

I then did the following at the GYM last night:

  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 2 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 2 sets of 25 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • Missed (No available bench to use!)
    • Lateral Raise
      • 2 sets of 12 reps, 10 pound dumbbells
    • Overhead Press
      • 2 sets of 15 reps, 10 pound dumbbells
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Men kept hogging up the machine!)
    • Plank
      • 2, 1 minute poses
    • Superman
      • 2 sets of 20 reps per side
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • 2 sets of 5, 10 second leg raises each side
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 30:55 minutes
        • Mile 1
          • 3 minute “warm up” @ 5.2mph to 5.7mph
          • 8 minutes @ 5.7mph
        • Miles 2
          • 10+ minutes @ 5.7 – 5.8mph
        • Miles 2 & 3
          • 10+ minutes @ 5.8 – 6.5mph

___________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

 5 Ab Exercises for a Faster Run

 

 

 

 

Hip Raise

Lie faceup on floor with heels on ball, legs extended, arms by sides. Lift hips, forming a diagonal line from heels to shoulders. Hold for 1 count; lower.

  1. April 30, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Do you find yourself analyzing yourself in the mirror like it’s a stranger’s reflection? Sometimes that happens to me. LOL

  2. Jenny
    May 1, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Luckily muscle weighs more then fat!! I find my weight staying steady but more tone arms (thanks to Iron pumping challenge!) and flatter abs! Any tricks for lower body–I tried the iron pumping challenge for lower body as well, but I HATE lower body weight work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

