Home > The Loop > The Loop

The Loop

  

I finally run what I call “The Loop on Sunday, 4/25/10!  =)  

Basically, I ran a 6.33 mile loop that started and ended just outside my neighborhoods entrance.  I have been wanting to run this loop ever since we moved into our new place last June, but had not been ready or had the guts to do it until yesterday.   

It was not a planned run, as I was only going to do a 4 mile run over the weekend but when I missed my run at the gym on Thursday and then my usual Saturday morning run as well I decided to go for it to make up the miles I had missed!   

So you can imagine how happy I was to actually complete it and also to run it none stop a/k/a no walking breaks.   

The entire run took me approximately (did not have a watch on me so I used the kitchen clock and had to account for walking before & after my run75 minutes at a 11:50 pace.   

Overall, I was surprised how “easy” the run was, even during the last mile in which I had to tell myself a few times to keep going and that you are almost there!  Which, I that was pretty good considering I had not run that long of distance in 5+ months.  

Of course, as you can see from my pace I was not running fast by any means and my plan was just to finish the loop and do it non-stop if possible.  Also, there were 2 large overpasses that I had to climb so I knew I needed to conserve energy for those.  Plus, it was getting warm (80+ degrees) and the sun was shinning brightly so I didn’t want to over exert myself either, especially since I didn’t bring water along.   

What is the longest you have ever ran?  

I believe I ran 7 miles at the end of last year while training for an upcoming 10K however, I was exactly sure so to date it would be yesterdays run of 6.33 miles!  =)  

____________________  

A bit a NIBBLING occurred this weekend, check out what I nibbled on below:  

Nibbles1

Nibbles2

Nibbles3

A bit more nibbling occurred then I would have liked, however my long run luckily helped burn off some of those extra calories I consumed……=)  

____________________  

 Here are the rest of my EATS:  

 FRIDAY, 4/23/10  

Blueberry Coffee

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

SATURDAY, 4/24/10   

Breakfast

Lunch

Dinner

SUNDAY, 4/25/10  

Breakfast

Since I had breakfast so late (11:30am), due to my long run I kinda skipped lunch and had the below instead……….a strawberry, banana, pineapple & orange juice smoothie around 4pm.  

Lunch1

Lunch2

Dinner ended up being a recipe all my own!   

My hubby expressed trying a chicken penne dish with veggies the other day so after viewing several recipes I found online I printed two from www.allrecipes.com and decided to put my own twist on them.   

Mainly because my hubby does not like cheese or cream sauce of any kind so I had to find a recipe that did not include either of those, which can be difficult and I wanted something that had some flavor and wasn’t to bland as some of these type of dishes can be.  

I came up with the below that I will call Balsamic Penne Chicken & Veggies.   

I used previously cooked white breast chicken, high fiber penne pasta, red & green peppers, a sweet onion, cherry tomatoes, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, fresh basil and minced garlic.   

I marinated all the veggies and the cooked chicken in a the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, basis and garlic that was mixed together in a blender for about 30 minutes prior to cooking.   

Dinner Prep1

Dinner Prep2

Dinner

The end result is above and came out pretty tasty I might add.  My tomatoes got a bit over cooked and the chicken pulled apart a lot, which my hubby doesn’t like to much, but overall it was a success and I will make again.   

Not to bad for my 1st ever attempt at my own recipe!  =) 

___________________ 

I also did a little bit of cooking on Sunday, 4/25/10.  I made homemade chicken broth and chili

CHICKEN BROTH

  • 3-5 lbs bone in Chicken (Split Chicken Breast)
  • 3-4 Quarts water
  • 2 tbsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Pepper
  • 1 Tbsp Garlic Minced
  • 1 Carrot Chopped or 1 cup mini carrots
  • 3 stalks Celery cut up
  • other seasonings to taste
  1. First, we are going to put the Chicken in a large pot.
  2. Cover it with water, I used 4 quarts.
  3. Throw in a couple stalks of celery, carrot, garlic, salt, pepper, and whatever other seasonings you like.
  4.  

  5. Cover and let cook on medium, medium low heat for about 2 hours.
  6. Remove Chicken from pot and set aside.
  7. Strain Broth over a large bowl.
  8.  

  9. Discard veggies.
  10. Place broth in Containers, Jars, whatever you have handy. You can keep the broth in the refrigerator for up to a week, OR you can freeze it for up to 3 months. Remember to cool in the Fridge before you place in the freezer.
  11. Now for that Chicken you set to the side.  It should just fall of the bone.
  12.  

CHILI

Chili (Step 1)

Chili (Step 2)

Chili (Step 3)

Chili (Step 4)

Chili (Step 5)

Chili (Step 6)

Chili (Step 7)

Chili (Step 8)

Chili (ALL DONE)

___________________ 

My weekend was pretty busy, as always!  =O  

Here are some of the things I did

  • Spring Carnival at my daughter’s school on Friday night!  The kids had a really good time and I went home with some homemade cookies (pictured above).
  • My daughter had her friend spend the night so on Saturday morning we planned to go to the pool but since my daughter couldn’t due to her fractured pinkie we went to the park instead for a few hours and enjoyed the beautiful weather.  I cleaned a little around the house before going.
  • Grocery shopping was of course done after the park as the fridge was EMPTY and then it was home for a quick-lunch (pictured above).
  • Later that afternoon on Saturday I dropped my daughter off at grandma’s so she could go to the movies with the other grandchildren and my mom.  I then went home and spent the evening ALONE with my hubby!  =)
  • Sunday morning involved my loop run of course, which I am still super happy to have done!  =)
  • Lots & lots of cooking took place on Sunday afternoon, as mentioned above.
  • Then I passed out on the couch around 9pm as I was EXHAUSTED after my long run!  I woke up an hour later and watched a little tv before heading off to bed finally at 11pm.

____________________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIP!

RECOVERY FOODS FOR RUNNERS

In light of the fact that I did not properly “refuel” after my long run yesterday and paid for it throughout the rest of the day by having low-energy and tired I wanted to share with you the below article.

Many runners remember to fuel up before their daily workouts, but many more often forget to replenish their bodies with necessary nutrients after they’ve completed their runs. Though recovery may seem optional, especially after shorter workouts, runners’ bodies need adequate food and fluid replacement in order to restore muscles and maintain performance. To prevent injury and sustain a healthy running routine, runners should make recovery a priority by ingesting the right foods and drinks after working out.

  1. April 27, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Great photos! Awesome run route!
    The furthest I have run is about 14 miles and I have ran a few half marathons. I would love to run a full marathon next year!
    Great recovery tips!

  2. April 27, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Wow congrats on the run! The longest I have ever run in one go is 10 miles. It was actually 10.2 according to my Garmin because I was looping in and out of people trying to go faster. My goal is to run a half marathon this year and I’d LOVE to do a triathlon eventually!

    • April 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm

      I hope to hit “double digits” this summer during my upcoming 15K Training, I am supposed to end with a 12 mile run before the race. =O

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

