Home > A Runner's High > A Runner’s High

A Runner’s High

On Tuesday night, prior to starting my run on the treadmill I read the below article from my Fitness Magazine, April 2010 issue called “A Runner’s High” and just had to share it with you! 

 

A Runner’s High 

By Colleen Oakley 

Running had always been my exercise of last resort.  If I couldn’t find a hiking pal or the gym was closed bu I needed to ease the guilt of a pizza binge, I would reluctantly go for a job.  Even then, as before a trip to the dentist, I’d pray it would be over quickly and not hurt too much. 

But everything changed when my husband lost his job last February.  At first I sent into cheerleader mode.  “We’ll be fine!”  I assured him.  “Everything happens for a reason.  You’ll get something better!”  But two months slowly ticked by, our bank account dwindled, and my “Keep you head up” catchphrases began to ring hollow. 

Then we decided I should cancel my boxing-gym membership.  That stung.  I loved it and was in the best shape of my life.  But my husband hadn’t received so much as a phone interview, and the bills were piling up.  The gym would have to wait.  I was officially down in the dumps.  Two weeks without a workout passed, and I began feeling flabby and sluggish.  I knew I had to do something, so I took a deep breath and laced up my running shoes. 

I jogged two miles, loathing each strike on the asphalt.  When I got home, sweaty and out of breath, everything was how I’d left it – my husband was jobless, my bed was unmade, and our bank account was near zero – but my attitude had experienced an almost imperceptible shift.  I felt an urge to tidy the sheets.  I called a friend to chat.  All in all, our circumstances didn’t seem quite so dire. 

The next day I ran again, still slowly, still struggling, but this time more appreciative of the way I felt when I was done.  Over the next three months, running became my own for of Prozac.  I hit the pavement three or four days a week, rarely exceeding three miles.  Those jobs didn’t give my husband a job, but they helped me keep it together and stay positive until a company did offer him a position five months later.  Running is no longer my last resort; now it’s my drug of choice! 

 __________ 

This article hit me on many levels! 

  1. I too used to use running as a means to burn off that extra piece of pizza or whatever I might have overloaded on eating wise.  Back in the day I didn’t view running as I do today.  My only view of it was a quick way to burn calories and lose weight.
  2. My husband lost his job back in September 2008 and I too was a cheerleader that eventually started to believe in what I was saying to cheer us along and through this difficult time.
  3. We had to take a long hard look at our expenses and CUT CUT CUT, wherever possible.  Which, meant several luxuries had to go!  Now, I will point out we didn’t have to many to begin with as my husband was in school during this time, even when he was working, however those we did have had to go………like premium TV channels, extra wireless perkschinese take out, pizza delivery, gourmet foods, etc.  Luckily, I did get to keep my gym membership, however this was only because I was under contract and couldn’t get out of it without harming my credit or paying a huge fee.
  4. I started running on a regular basis, 3-5 times a week, in order to combat my own flabby & sluggish feeling that at the time came from being several pounds (50+) overweight.
  5. Over time I begun to notice that running was not just a way to lose weight and be healthy but that it was a HUGE stress reliever for me!  I found that when I ran I always felt better, no matter what was going on in my life………so I totally agree with it her statement about it being “my drug of choice” as I know it is for me too!  =)

Do you run?  If so why? 

__________ 

I found myself eating every few hours today. 

 

I started my day with a bowl of warm instant maple brown sugar high-fiber oatmeal that I mixed in a 1/2 a diced apple as well as a dash of cinnamon for breakfast

Breakfast

I had two lunches today, told you I ate every few hours today.  =O 

Lunch1 came a bit before noon.  I had a chicken mexican wrap left over from yesterdays lunch meeting. 

Lunch1

 Then a few hours later I had Lunch2, which was mexican soup…….not done on purpose mind you. 

Lunch2

I also ate a piece of chocolate with a scoop of crunchy peanut butter and a banana as well in the late afternoon.  My camera battery DIED so I didn’t get a picture of it. 

Dinner ended up being several hours later, at 8pm, the traffic was horrible going home as it was raining and then I needed a hot shower after getting stuck in it…….hey it happens sometimes.  Luckily, I had the main dish already made so I just had to whip up the sides quickly. 

We had red chicken with white rice and broccoli with cheese on top. 

Dinner

Tonight this dish was a HUGE HIT as everyone cleaned their plates and quickly to my surprise, I guess I did good this time around as past rounds have not gone over so well.  I added a little “hot sauce” to my red chicken sauce this time and that seemed to give it a really good flavor that they loved obviously.  =)

WHOOPS!!!  I almost forgot to tell you about my work out at the gym on Tuesday, 4/20/10, check it out below:

  • Sit Ups
    • Leg Lifts
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Toe Touch Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Weighted V-Sit Twist
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Legs, Back & Biceps 
    • 21s
      • 2 sets of 21 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hammer Curl
      • 2 sets of 20 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hamstring Curl
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 50 pounds
    • Lat Pull Down
      • 2 sets of 25 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Leg Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Lunge
      • Missed
    • Stability Ball Back Extension
      • Missed
    • Stability Ball Ys & Ts
      • Ys & Ts
        • Missed
    • Step Ups
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3.5 Mile Run
      • 36 minutes
        • Mile 1 & 2
          • 5.7mph
        • Mile 3 – 3.5
          • 5.8mph – 6mph
            • Ran the last 5 minutes 6.1mph – 7.5mph

___________________________________________________________________________________

TIP OF THE DAY!

 Food Court Survival Guide

 

 

 

 

Subway

Best Choice: The 6-Inch Roast Beef Sandwich on 9-Grain Wheat

Scan Subway’s menu for healthier options (marked as “Fresh Fit” meals). One example we like: The 6-inch Roast Beef Sandwich* on 9-grain wheat bread. This standout has 310 calories, 5g fat (2g saturated fat), and 26g protein. For a fat-free, 35-calorie side item, opt for apple slices. Adding apples also adds 2g fiber to your meal (7g total)―about 25 percent of the daily recommendation.

*Sandwich shown on Italian bread. For more nutrition facts, visit subway.com.

NextPanda Express

  1. April 22, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing that article. It was a good read. I run because I experienced the Runner’s High too and I was hooked. I also love being outside. I got sick of spending hours in a gym, fighting over machines, being frustrated by crowds, and decided to take it outside. I love it!

  2. April 23, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    Running is such an awesome way to clear the mind and just enjoy yourself. Anyone can run – that’s the cool thing about running.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

