Home > Lovely Leftovers > Lovely Leftovers

Lovely Leftovers

Lunch

Typically, I do not ever have leftovers as I only buy EXACTLY how much I need of everything………however, today I did as I had a little bit left of everything after dinner last night. 

So I present to you the above lovely leftover taco salad that I had for lunch today and I must say it was YUMMY!  I enjoyed every bite, a much-needed change from my usual work day lunches that is for sure.  =) 

 Earlier in the day I had the following to eat: 

Breakfast

Late Morning Snack

The chunk of chocolate above that I topped with peanut butter as I just love chocolate & peanut butter is from Costa Rica.  A co-worker just returned there from vacation and brought in a huge foot long bar of the stuff, which is really good so I had to have a little. 

Around 3pm I snacked on a small plate of roasted red pepper humus, a handful of whole grain pita chips (chips from the bottom of the bag) and a few baby carrots as I was “starving”!  *Sorry camera battery died, so no pic. 

My work day went a little over so I did not make it to the gym until after 5:30pm, however I still managed to get everything in and hit the door before 7pm!  I did the following while there: 

  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 2 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 2 sets of 25 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • Missed (No available bench to use!)
    • Lateral Raise
      • 2 sets of 12 reps, 10 pound dumbbells
    • Overhead Press
      • 2 sets of 15 reps, 10 pound dumbbells
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Men kept hogging up the machine!)
    • Plank
      • 2, 1 minute poses
    • Superman
      • 2 sets of 20 reps per side
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • 2 sets of 5, 10 second leg raises each side
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 29:45 minutes (Build Speed With Ease)
        • Mile 1
          • 3 minute “warm up” @ 5.7mph to 5.9mph
          • 7 minutes @ 6mph
        • Miles 2 & 3
          • 15 minutes @ 6mph
          • 5 minutes @ 6mph to 7mph
            • Increased speed by .1 every 30 seconds

 

I picked up some fried chicken for the hubby after the gym and then swung by and picked up my daughter from my Mom & Dad’s house.  While there I ate a small bowl of PolloTropical pork, white rice, black been, salsa and sautéed onion TropiChop that they had “leftover” from dinner………it was really good, I totally forgot how much I liked that place!  *Again, sorry no picture, haven’t been home to charge the camera battery yet. 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

TIPS OF THE DAY!!! 

 Eat Out for Less (Calories!) 

 

 

 

 

5. Cut the grease

Instead of sautéed foods, opt for grilled. Sautées like stir-fried dishes or chicken cacciatore are calorie traps because the recipes require lots of oil, which chefs may use liberally. “When it’s 120 calories per tablespoon, it matters,” Roberts says.

Next: 6. Be a prima donna

  1. April 14, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Taco salad is one of my favorites!

  2. April 14, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I’m a FREAK about leftovers. I make about 4x the amount I need for dinner, and then pack it up into portions for lunch. I makes my life so much easier! 🙂 That taco salad looks yummmmmm.

    • April 14, 2010 at 7:54 pm

      I typically do not have many left overs from the dinners I make each night, however on Sunday’s (if I can) I will whip up a huge batch of something (soup, stuffed green peppers, etc.) to eat through the next week or eat for a few days and freeze the rest for later. It does make things SO MUCH easier! =)

  3. fitandfortysomething
    April 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    i love leftovers because i use them for lunch the next day 🙂

  4. April 14, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    I want your salad like now. Yea, it was getting busy at work and then my comp dies…lack of blogging. lol

    • April 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Oh, I know that feeling………I don’t even have a computer at home (they husband & daughter too, well my daughter is using my mom’s laptop so it really isn’t her’s per say and it is also very slow) so I can only “blog” at work, hence why I never have any posts over the weekend! =(

  5. Jenny
    April 14, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I LOVE leftovers!! I always make extra of easy things like chicken and stuff and then recreate it into something else, like chicken salad, later in the week! I agree–taco salad looks awesome!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

