Home > Weekend Update > Weekend Update!

Weekend Update!

As promised here is my Weekend Update………. 

SATURDAY, 4/6/10 

My weekend started VERY early!  

At 5am to be exact when a little birdie woke me up sing outside my window, which was very sweet but I didn’t exactly want to get up that early now………. 

 

However, I was planning to wake up just before 6am as I had the start getting ready and meet the girls (3 fellow co-worker/friends) so we could head to the St. Pete Time’s Forum to walk in JDRF – Walk To Cure Diabetes and since the walk started at 9am and it would take longer than an hour to get there we had to leave pretty early! 

Despite hitting some traffic along the way we made it there just in time.  We met up with our team (Team Jake), grabbed sausage biscuit & a donut for a quick breakfast and were off……. 

My friend, Catrina & I (with a goofy face) about 1/2 way through the walk!

……we walked 3 miles in a little less than an hour along downtown Tampa bay, which was BEAUTIFUL!  The morning was so nice….lots of sun, bright blue sky, light breeze and temperatures in the low 70’s. 

Upon our return we gabbed a hamburger, visited a bit and headed back home to Orlando!  I drove a little slower on the way back as we weren’t in such a rush to get home as we were to get to the walk.  This allowed plenty of time for “girl talk” along the way, which we did A LOT of…..=) 

After leaving the girls I headed to my mom’s to drop off her car that I borrowed for the trip and pick up my daughter and then drop her off at her friends house for some Easter Egg & Baking Fun and finally headed home! 

My hubby and a nice hot shower awaited my arrival.  We then headed out to do some shopping as I needed to get Easter Basket stuff for my daughter and he needed to get some cloths for his new job.  Since we were both a bit hungry we stopped at KFC along the way for lunch.  He had their new boneless filet meal and liked it a lot.  I had a crispy twister snack wrap and enjoyed it a lot, though I know it isn’t figure friend but my eating trend that today appeared to be going that directions so I just went with it…..=O 

 

 We hit the following stores after eating: 

  • Pay Less Shoes
    • Got my daughter some shoes she has been wanting forever that made an appearance in her Easter Basket the next day!
  • Ross & Marshall’s
    • Looking for work pants and a shirt for the hubby, all black & long sleeve, hard to find in Florida right now.
  • Target
    • Lots and lots of Easter Basket goodies………

We finally got back home just after 6pm, I picked up my daughter and got cracking on dinner, which was hamburger (cheeseburger only for me) & fries

Dinner

I believe some TV time occurred after dinner and bedtime came early after my very early day! 

SUNDAY, 4/4/10 

 

The Easter Bunny arrived pretty early at our house this year and my daughter disovered that around 7am when she came a knocking at our bedroom door wanting to show me what she got……I just love to see her get so excited, even though is 9 years old now she still believes in the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus & the Tooth Fairy and despite my husband’s thoughts on me “babying” her by playing into it I love it and feel she is only young once and deserves to stay that way and believe in these magical figures for as long as possible! 

After taking a look at what she got (and acting like I didn’t know of course) I went back to bed for a few hours as I was still exhausted.  

Just after 9am I woke up and decided to go for a run in my new running apparell………Running Shorts by Nike, Fiona Bra by Moving Comfort and of course my new GT 2150 Women’s Running Shoes by Asics

My new "outside" running apparel!

I hit the pavement just after 10am and did a “quick” 3 mile run in just over 30 minutesIt was once again a beautiful day here in sunny Central Florida and only a light breeze so I didn’t feel pushed back as I have on a few of my recent outdoor runs lately. 

____________________ 

Ok, I would like to give my 1st Product Review on my blog as I just LOVE this item so much…….so here we go! 

Fiona Bra by Moving Comfort

Fiona Bra by Moving Comfort 

As stated on their website…….. 

Always a top seller, the Fiona favors C-DD cup women who need the extra support. Molded cups encapsulate each side while stretch powermesh limits up-and-down movement. Easily adjust the straps in the front with our signature hook-and-loop system. Three plush-backed hook-and-eye rows on band. Fourth row on 40-44 bands. 

It is made of the following: 

  • Body
    • DriLayer® X-Support 88% polyester / 12% Lycra®
  • Interior Cups
    • 100% polyester
  • Back Lining
    • DriLayer® Powermesh Plus 79% nylon / 17% spandex
  • Front Yoke Lining
    • 90% nylon / 10% spandex

You can purchase it at the below website: 

http://www.movingcomfort.com/product/344594/350003/_/Fiona 

And, finally here is My Review…….. 

I have officially worn this bra twice.  First, time while walking 3 miles on Saturday and second time during a 3 mile run on Sunday, however I could honestly wear it all the time as it is that COMFORTABLE!   

Of course it isn’t only comfortable it is also very supportive and looks great on as well.  I highly recommend this sports bra to anyone, not just fellow runners, and I know you will not be disappointed that you got it.   

The best part of this bra is that it is very “adjustable”, so no matter what size you are you can adjust it to fit you just right as not only are their three (3) hook-and-eye rows in the back, there are adjustable straps in the front as well that are the best thing I have ever seem in a Sports Bra!!!   

The bra retails for $44, which is a bit more than I would have liked to pay but once I tried it on I was SOLD and can’t wait to go back and buy a black one. 

____________________ 

You might have noticed that I didn’t have breakfast this morning and I really didn’t have lunch either, instead I had a Green Monster that contained the following ingredients: 

  • Spinach (2 cups)
  • Milk (1 cup)
  • Strawberries (1/2 a carton)
  • Ground Flax Seed (1 tablespoon)
  • Ice (1 cup)

Which, I drank on the go just after noon while me and the little one ran some errands! 

Green Monster

I only had this because at 3pm we were heading over to my grandparents house for a Easter celebration and I knew a lot of “goodies” would be there that I would want to EAT……so I needed to save some room in my tummy to fit it all in and as well as calories of course! 

We were the last to arrive at my grandparents a bit after 3pm and shortly after we all heading outside so the kids to do their annual Easter Egg Hunt!  My daughter found the most eggs but she shared them amongst her cousins.  I then got a picture of her and my niece before heading inside. 

My daughter & niece on Easter Sunday!

Once back inside the FEAST begun and I had a “sampling” the following: 

  • Shrimp Cocktail
  • Cheese & Crackers
  • Carrots
  • Grapes
  • Ham
  • Mashed Potatoes w/Gravy
  • Corn
  • Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Cornbread
  • Brownies
  • Chocolate Mouse

OF COURSE, I didn’t get any pictures……I always forget, I am sorry!

We hang around eating and chatting until almost 7pm, than we headed home and hit the hay just before mid-night (well I did, the little one was in bed at 9pm as she had school in the morning)!

______________________________________________________________________________________

LOTS OF TIPS!!!

7 Foods That Fight Fat

(The final 5…..)

 

 

 

 

Pine nuts

95 calories for 1/2 ounce (about 84 nuts)

Move over almonds! The heart-healthy fatty acids in pine nuts boost satiety hormones that make you feel full, according to Korean researchers. The same fatty acids also keep belly fat at bay.

 

 

 

 

Cheese

76 calories for 1 ounce

Go for fresh goat cheese or feta for a dose of conjugated linoleic acid (CLA)—it helps you feel full and burn more fat. Cheeses from grass-fed animals have the most CLA.

 

 

 

 

Skin Milk

86 calories for 1 cup

Most of us think of milk as kids’ stuff, but it boasts grown-up benefits. Milk’s proteins (whey and casein) can make you feel more satisfied than sugary drinks. CLA in milk fights fat, too.

 

 

 

 

Oranges

59 calories each

An orange is one of the most satisfying grabs from the fruit bowl—thanks to all that fiber. Oranges were the highest-ranked fruit on the “satiety index,” a list of 38 filling foods and fiber fights fat!

 

 

 

 

Potatoes

161 calories each

Three times as filling as a slice of white bread, potatoes top all of the foods on the satiety index. Plus, the resistant starch in potatoes help your body burn fat, too.

  1. April 6, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    How do you like those running shorts? I’ve never tried that style and I’m curious what everyone else thinks.

    • April 7, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      They are AMAZING!!! I highly recommend them. My friend bought them for me for my birthday (as she knew I wouldn’t buy them for myself, even though I wanted too). They fit great, are roomy, comfortable, airy, have a little pocket for a key or what not on the inside. I have several friends that run that use them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

