Home > This time last year.... > This time last year……

This time last year……

……….I was arriving in Denver, Colorado!!! 

 

My daughter and I took a long (almost 2 week) vacation back to my hometown (born & raised most of my childhood in Aurora, Colorado) so I could one of my most favorite places on earth again, introduce them to my daughter and see family & friends who I hadn’t seen in years (6+ years since my last visit)! 

It was a GREAT vacation, despite it being much colder than I had hoped (was in the upper 60’s & low 70’s during the weeks before our vacation but in the 20-30’s while we were there) and the fact that a huge snow storm hit just 2 days after we arrived, check out the pictures below: 

Driving in the middle of the storm!

The morning after the snow storm.

It was pretty crazy and delayed our planned trek through the Rockies to see my Dad in Moab, Utah by a day but it was really nice to see snow again after so many years and my daughter loved it as it was her 1st time seeing the snow and playing it it.  =) 

My daughter's 1st time in the snow!

Once the snow stopped and started to melt we packed the car up were off to see my Dad!  Take a look at our pictures along the way………. 

On I-70 heading through the mountains....

....starting to come out of the mountains on I-70.

Highway 191 heading into Moab, Utah......

.....the beautiful view from Highway 191!

Moab is the only place I know that has both desert & mountains with snow on them!  You can literally take a hike in the desert in the morning in 90 degree weather and then drive up to the mountains in the afternoon and go fishing in 60 degree weather. 

It is one of my most favorite places on earth!   

It has such amazing natural beauty and the feeling I get when I am there is like nothing I have ever felt elsewhere. 

The day after we arrived we did some sight-seeing.  My dad took me to a well-known spot called Kane Creek Road Rock Art Site.  A place he took me when I was my daughter’s age that I remember very well as it hole in the cliff rock near the indian rock art that snaked up to the top of the cliff that you could climb and I remember being terrified that I was going to fall down while I was trying to climb up it with my Dad, Uncle & Cousins.

My daughter didn’t try to climb it as she isn’t quite as adventurous as I was as a child (I grew up in the outdoors, she I am afraid has not had much experience in the great outdoors!).  So she just checked everything out and posed for the below picture with Grandpa.

My Dad & Daughter @ Kane Creek Road Rock Art Site

Rock Art

 The next day we ventured out to Arches National Park (http://www.nps.gov/arch/index.htm) to hike up to see Delicate Arch

Delicate Arch

My Dad took me when I was my daughters age, however it was in the middle of summer back and almost 100 degrees outside at the time so I remember being very tired & hot but also having fun at the same time.  

We (my daughter & I) had a much different experience as it was 40+ degrees outside  during our 3+ mile hike up the rock to see the arch, which wasn’t necessarily better just different and very windy up at the top.

My daughter on the way up........

Taking a little break!

Hitting the steep part of the climb!

I think if the weather had been nicer we would of enjoyed it more, but it was nice to see it again after so many years and introduce my daughter to it as well.

The next day we visited Canyonlands National Park (http://www.nps.gov/cany/index.htm) and visited Dead Horse Point!

Dead Horse Point (Me & My Daughter)

Dead Horse Point (My Daughter)

My Dad took me to this place several times as a child as well so I of course wanted to introduce my daughter to it!  Unlike me she wasn’t afraid of heights like I was (and still am) as you can see from the above picture…….mind you it is a 2000 foot drop behind her (well not directly behind her as that wouldn’t be safe, but close enough for me).

We visited with family for another day then returned to Denver and were greated by lots of snow upon our return as you can see……

Outside patio at a restaurant we stopped at on the way.....

Approaching the Eisenhower Tunnel!

Going down Loveland Pass on the way to Denver!

The next day we were on our way home!

It was a great trip and I can’t wait to return again…….planning to in May 2011!  =)

  1. March 25, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Your pictures look wonderful! Those are several places I would LOVE to visit sometime. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

