Home > The power of a card! > The power of a card!

The power of a card!

     

My friend, Michelle, never forgets an occasion and always sends a card with a personal message and special quote inside that I just love to read!      

Most recently I received a Birthday Card from her that had a really great quote inside that I just had to share with you all, check it out below:      

     

Don’t you just love this quote!?!     

It took me a LONG TIME to give up on being perfect (back in my 20’s) and to begin working on becoming myself (early 30’s) and I have loved everyday since regardless what life has thrown at me!     

Here are some of the previous notes & quotes she left in cards past………     

Valentines Day Card

Thanksgiving Card

Thank You Card

 THANK YOU, MICHELE!       

You are not only a good friend but a great person who is always positive, motivating, helpful, giving and so much more!    

___________________    

In light of my absence from running this weekend due to me being under the weather I gained a few pounds!  =(     

So since I am still not feeling so great and will not be making it to the gym tonight I am trying to stay on track eating wise the best I can given my current condition.    

Let’s see how I did on this Monday, 3/22/10:    

Prior to departing for work I had a glass of orange juice so I could get my Vitamin C for the day.    

    

Breakfast was a hot bowl of instant maple brown sugar high-fiber oatmeal with 1/2 a diced apple, cinnamon and some ground flax seed mixed in prior to cooking.    

Breakfast

I put a plate of Publix jalapeno & cilantro hummus, corn chips, carrots & cuccumbers together for lunch.    

Lunch

Dinner ended up being a big bowl of Campbell’s Chunky Chicken Soup and some Publix peanut butter filled pretzels.  I forgot to take a picture as I wasn’t feeling to good……hope you can forgive me!   

After eating, I vegged on the couch for a bit before my meds kicked in and I hit the bed for a good nights sleep (hopefully)!   

____________________   

As I am sure you figured out missed posting the above yesterday, due to the fact that I missed work because I felt horrible all day!  =(  I woke up to a splitting headach & no voice.  So I decided to stay home as I knew I wouldn’t be any good at work today.   

After dropping my daughter off at school I stopped and got me the following at the store:   

  • Publix Breakfast Bread
  • Tylenol Migraine (this is the only medicine that makes my headaches go away, as i have suffered with bad headaches since I was a child)
  • Ginger Tea (my ex-mother-in-law who is a nurse said to drink this to help my voice)

Once I was back at home I made myself a few pieces of toasted Publix Breakfast Bread with butter and sliced apples for breakfast.   

Breakfast

I also drank of glass of orange juice and a cup of Ginger tea later in the a.m. (not pictured).  

Lunch came a bit late (2pm) and I had left over roasted chicken, baby carrots & potoates from Sunday night. 

Lunch

I tried to nap on the couch until it was time to pick up my daughter and had a little success.  My mind was buzzing a bit too much with things so I didn’t get into a deep sleep but it was nice to rest on the couch, especially since my dog curled up with me. 

By dinner time I was starting to feel a bit better as my headache was finally going away and luckily I had a super easy meal to make…….TACO’S!  I had a big taco salad and ate all of it but a few bites. 

Dinner

The couch became my friend again after dinner.  I watched the previously recorded Ultimate Recipe Showdown with my hubby.  Tonights episode was about “party foods” and it was really good.  All the recipes looked really good but in the end the $25K Winner was Margarita Shrimp & Scallops

 

Doesn’t it look YUMMY!  The judges said the flavor was amazing.  Check out the recipe below: 

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/margarita-shrimp-and-scallops-recipe/index.html 

I really like this show a lot because all the recipes are from non-professional chefs (people like you and me) that I know I could mostly like make myself if I tried. 

Bed time came at 10pm tonight as I planned to return to work in the a.m. 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

TIPS OF THE DAY!!! 

 

7 Foods That Fight Fat 

Fat Blasters

By Shaun Chavis
From Health magazine  

Want to get more bang for your bite? These foods do double duty—they help you blast fat and make you feel full longer, so you’ll eat fewer calories. 

 

Eggs
78 calories each
An egg’s not only a nutritional powerhouse, it’s also loaded with protein that satisfies. Eat eggs for breakfast; they’ll curb your appetite enough that you’ll have about 330 calories less than usual throughout the rest of the day. (Take our quiz to find out more about eggs.] 

Bonus tip: For a healthy fried egg, brush a nonstick skillet with a smidge of oil or cooking spray. You’ll get crispy edges without much fat. 

*I totally agree with the above!  I ate eggs almost everyday during my 100+ pound weight loss in a variety of ways (fried, omelet, scrambled, etc.) and they kept me full for hours. 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

