Home > Going Through The Motions > Going Through The Motions

Going Through The Motions

  

I pretty much was just “Going Through The Motions” this weekend as I unfortunately caught whatever “bug” my daughter had last week, which made me feel tired & light headed all weekend and had the following symptons:  

  • Scratchy throat
  • Bit of a stuffy nose
  • Slight cough

I first noticed the inkling of the above coming on Friday evening when my throat started to feel VERY dry, however I had hoped by morning it would be gone but of course it was not and I woke to the beginnings of the above.  

So in light of this I skipped my usual Saturday morning run.  =(  I hated to do this but I am a firm believer that if you are “Under The Weather” you should NOT push yourself….a/k/a….no gym/running is allowed and you should also try to get as much rest as possible!   

I did the former but not the later as I had a lot on my plate to do this weekend, check out my To Do List below:   

SATURDAY, 3/20/10  

  • Girl Scout Event f/11am – 1pm
  • Get Peanut’s nails clipped.
  • Hit the stores with my hubby to buy a new shirt & shoes for an important interview he has on Tuesday.
  • Grocery Shopping!
  • Start the laundry.
  • Make dinner.

SUNDAY, 3/22/10  

  • Give Peanut a “much-needed” bath.
  • Clean the house (bathrooms, kitchen & dusting)!  I would have skipped this if I hadn’t skipped doing it last weekend and was afraid that the mold might start growing if I didn’t do it.  =O
  • Hit the stores again with the hubby as yesterday’s shopping trip was a total loss (nothing was found).  This time we went to the Outlet Malls and had much better luck.
  • Finish the laundry & iron.
  • Dinner prep, after having to run to the store for forgotten ingredients that is………hate it when that happens!
  • Get last-minute things done for the up coming week.

From what you can see above I didn’t get a lot of REST & RELAXATION in this weekend as a mother’s & wife’s job is never done!   

Luckily, I did get a pretty good nights sleep (thanks to Tylenol P.M.) on Saturday so that helped a lot.  I am hoping that my week isn’t too hectic and that I get better soon as I already miss running and would hate to miss to much of the gym as well……..keep your fingers crossed!  

____________________  

I almost forgot about my EATS for the weekend, sorry!   

My eating wasn’t too bad but wasn’t too good so I would say it was pretty much a wash.  

I have to admit Saturday’s eating was a bit of a blur and I didn’t take pictures until dinner as my battery had died and was on the charger for 3+ hours.  

Now, that I think about it I did have a bowl of Rasin Bran Extra with a glass of orange juice and a peach a little after for breakfast.   

  

Lunch was basically a snacking spree at my daughters Girl Scout Event, in which I had a variety of items from around the world as they were celebrating Thinking Day by participating in activities, games and projects with global themes to honor their sister Girl Guides & Girl Scouts in other countries.    

Some of the items I snacked on where:  

  • Rice & Peas f/Dominican Republic
  • Noodles f/China
  • Nachos f/Mexico
  • Sausage Roll f/Australia
  • Swedish Meatballs f/Switzerland

Homemade hamburgers, fries and green bean salad became a last-minute dinner on this very busy day!  

Dinner

Sunday’s eating was much more on point, except for lunch.  

Breakfast was the last of my Rasin Bran Extra with sliced bananas and a glass of orange juice.  

Breakfast

Lunch was the following items that I nibbled on while doing various chores throughout the afternoon: 

  • A piece of cold/left over pizza from Friday night.
  • Peanut butter filled pretzels.
  • A few strawberries.
  • Mini ice-cream cone.

It has been ages since I made a roasted chicken so that is what I made for Sunday dinner.  I used a recipe I found on www.allrecipes.com that had tons of good reviews.  It came out pretty good for my first time, take a look! 

Roasted Chicken with Rosemary

Here is the recipe in case you are interested in trying it: 

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roast-Chicken-with-Rosemary/Detail.aspx 

I modified the above recipe by adding crushed garlic cloves, lemon halves and olive oil to the onion & rosemary that was put in the cavity.  I also rubbed the entire chicken with olive oil and then seasoned it with salt & pepper.  Plus, I added about a cup+ of chicken broth to the bottom of the pan along with baby carrots & potatoes

Next time I will use a rack so the bottom of the chicken can get crispy! 

Also, don’t forget to let the chicken sit for 15 minutes or so before cutting so the juices stay evenly disrupted. 

Here is what I ate out of the above: 

Dinner

____________________

So that pretty much concludes me weekend! 

All & all it was an “ok” weekend, hoping next weekend is better though………and I have a feeling it will be as it is after my birthday (Thursday) and I have Friday off!  =)

______________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIPS!!!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

45. Kickbox. Sign up for kickboxing and burn 510 calories in a 45-minute class.

46. Go cross-country skiing for 1 hour and 5 minutes and sizzle off 516 calories.

47. Exercise at home. Pop in a 1-hour aerobics DVD, and finish with 20 minutes of yoga—500 calories, gone.

48. Walk or run a 10K and you’ll burn up to 680 calories.

49. Go hiking. Just 1 hour and 15 minutes will burn 510 calories.

50. Cut down your own Christmas tree. Hike out, find the perfect tree, cut it, and take it home. Put it up and decorate it for 1 hour to burn 519 calories.

  1. March 22, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Hiking is one of my favorite spring/summer activities. I live in Portland, Oregon and there are soooo many beautiful hikes in the area! Definitely a more fun way of burning calories than a stairmaster at the gym! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

