Home > 4+ Mile Fly By > 4+ Mile Fly By

4+ Mile Fly By

 

on the treadmill on this fine Thursday, 3/18/10!!!  =) 

 

  

I a LOVING my new “Build Speed With Ease” plan!  

Last night I tried it again for 45 minutes and swear to you the time just flew by as before I knew it I had run 4+ miles. 

Check out exactly what I did during the run below: 

  

Treadmill  

  • 4.3 Mile Run 
    • 45 minutes (Build Speed With Ease)
      • Mile 1
        • 10 minute “warm up” @ 5 to 5.5mph
      • Miles 2 & 3
        • 5 minute 30-second pickups & cool downs
          • 6.5mph to 7.5mph for 30 second “pickup”
          • 5.0mph 30 second “cool down”
        • 20 minute quarter mile runs & cool downs
          • 5.0mph to 5.5mph f/2:30 minutes
          • 6.0mph f/2:30 minutes
      • Mile 4
        • 5 minute, 1 minute sprints
          • 3 minute, 7.5 to 8.5 mph f/60 seconds & 2 60 second “cool downs

Prior to starting this new plan on the treadmill my runs could become quite BORING, however it is the complete opposite with “Build Speed With Ease” as you are always changing up your running speeds that you just don’t notice the time going by and before you know it your run is done!   

I haven’t ran over 3 miles in months and I swear I didn’t even notice the extra time last night and it felt GREAT! 

____________________ 

Of course I completed the following for Day 1 (Shoulders, Chest & Triceps) from my Iron Pumping Challenge before I did the above! 

  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 3 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 3 sets of 25 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 3 sets of 25 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 3 sets of 25 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 3 sets of 10 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • 3 sets of 10 reps
    • Lateral Raise
      • 3 sets of 12 reps
    • Overhead Press
      • 3 sets of 15 reps
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Machine Broken)
    • Plank
      • 3, 1 minute poses
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • Missed
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 3 sets of 20 reps

Now that I am into Week 9 I am really starting to notice a difference in my body………..my back, biceps, chest, shoulders & triceps are all tighter!   

I have noticed the most difference in what was formally my “trouble spots”, chest & triceps.  Both these areas have firmed up a lot and if you don’t mind me being completely honest my breast have lifted since I started this program and believe me that means to world to me as they weren’t doing so hot in the past! 

 Unfortunately, one of the side effects of extreme weight loss is saggy breasts or what I would call “deflated balloon” breasts!  =O  So I am VERY happy to see that this is not the case for me anymore, especially since I was starting to wonder if surgery was going to be necessary to correct the problem. 

I have also noticed much more definition & tightness in my quads, which is always a nice thing.  I love feeling the hard muscle in my thighs and finally not having to push through a thick layer of fat to feel it. 

___________________ 

My EATS were pretty good for the day, however they didn’t start off so hot as I couldn’t resist one of my weaknesses while getting coffee at 7-Eleven in the morning. 

I had my favorite “hazelnut” coffee this morning, a little weekly (sometimes bi-weekly) treat of mine!  =) 

Coffee

Than I walked by the donut, muffin & pastry display and picked out a “apple fritter” for my breakfast of choice this morning! 

Breakfast

I KNOW, I KNOW………I shouldn’t have but I did and I enjoyed every last crispy, sweet and appley bite of it!  =) 

Luckily, I made up for the later in the day as I had a very healthy plate for lunch that included the following: 

  • carrot sticks
  • celery
  • cucumbers
  • cherry tomatoes
  • whole wheat bread (toasted)
  • crunchy peanut butter

Lunch

Right before I left work for the gym I snacked on Yoplait YoPlus Vanilla yogurt with granola.  It is smooth, sweet & crunchy! 

Snack

I did not really have a meal for dinner tonight, instead I had some of the following: 

  • 1/2 a pear
  • a few handful of peanuts
  • a few spoonfuls of green bean salad

I was planning to hit the hay early but of course as was the trend the entire week I didn’t make it to bed until after midnight and got almost 6 hours of sleep yet again, that is 5 nights in a row now so I am pretty TIRED! 

________________________________________________________________________________________

TIPS OF THE DAY!!!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

43. Tackle the garage. Clearing out junk for 1 hour and 30 minutes will burn 510 calories.

 

 

 

44. Rake the leaves. Do yard work for 1 hour and 45 minutes and burn 512 calories. (Jumping in the leaf pile won’t hurt, either.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

