Home > Build Speed With Ease > Build Speed With Ease

Build Speed With Ease

 

Last night after I finished my Iron Pumping Challenge below: 

  • Sit Ups
    • Seated Leg Tucks Off Bench
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Stability Ball Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Straight Leg Pullover Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Toe Touch Crunch
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • Weighted V-Sit Twist
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
  • Legs, Back & Biceps 
    • 21s
      • 2 sets of 21 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hammer Curl
      • 2 sets of 25 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hamstring Curl
      • 1 set of 20 reps @ 50 pounds
      • 1 set of 10 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Lat Pull Down
      • 2 sets of 25 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Leg Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 75 pounds
    • Lunge
      • 2 sets of 20 reps 
    • Stability Ball Back Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Stability Ball Ys & Ts
      • Ys & Ts
        • 2 sets each of 20 reps
    • Step Ups
      • 2 sets of 25 reps

 

I headed to the treadmill to do a quick & fast 1 mile run, however while doing my walking warm up I decided to browse through the March 2010 Fitness Magazine  that I received in the mail last week and came across an article called “Build Speed With Ease” on Page 66 under their run/walk guide section, which caught my attention since that is exactly what I have been trying to do recently……BUILD SPEED!  

So I decided to follow the plan the outlined in the article (see a picture of the article above) and did the following: 

  • Treadmill 
    • 3.5 Mile Run
      • 35 minutes (Build Speed With Ease)
        • Mile 1
          • 5 minutes @ 5.5mph
          • 5 minute 30-second pickups & cool downs
            • 7.0mph to 7.5mph for 30 second “pickup”
            • 5.0mph 30 second “cool down”
        • Mile 2 & 3
          • 4, 5 minute quarter mile runs & cool downs
            • 5.0mph to 5.5mph f/2:30 minutes
            • 6.0mph f/2:30 minutes
        • Mile 3 to 3.5
          • 5 minute, 1 minute sprints
            • 2 minute, 7.5mph f/45 seconds & 15 second “cool downs”
            • 3 minute, 8.5mph f/30 seconds & 30 second “cool downs”

As you can see I modified it a bit to fit my time frame and I also had an urge to do sprints at the end that the plan didn’t call for but I really enjoyed it.  

highly recommend this plan if you are wanting to increase your speed as it was very easy to follow, felt really good and made the time fly by

____________________ 

Onto my EATS for the day!  

I made my week day go to breakfast of instant high-fiber maple brown sugar oatmeal with a whole diced apple and a dash of cinnamon mixed in after I got to work this morning.  

Breakfast

Even though I have been eating this often I never get sick of it, but I can’t wait until blueberries are cheaper so I can start making blueberry oatmeal again as that is my FAVORITE! 

Lunch came just before 1pm and I had a plate of carrots with ranch for dipping and a toasted piece of high-fiber whole wheat bread with crunchy peanut butter and a sliced banana on top

Lunch

The above was very satisfying today!  I just love carrots w/ranch & peanut butter w/banana, reminds me of my childhood……=) 

Prior to departing work for the gym I snacked on Activia Fat-Free Vanilla Yogurt with some granola mixed in. 

Snack

A small salad with greek dressing was had for dinner as I got home pretty late from the gym and didn’t want to eat anything really big.  I did have a few spoonfuls of the spaghetti sauce I heated up for my hubby too. 

Dinner

More Food Network shows were watched tonight as I watched the season premier of the Ultimate Recipe Showdown.

______________________________________________________________________________________

TIPS OF THE DAY!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

37. Hit the pool. Do 1 hour of laps or 55 minutes of jogging in the water to burn 500 calories.

 

 

38. Stroll your way slim. Spend an afternoon pushing junior from the giraffes to the sea lions at the zoo (or around the aquarium or museum) and burn 523 calories.

  1. March 17, 2010 at 12:10 am

    I love to swim! Thanks for the tips:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

