Home > A Snail's Pace > A Snail’s Pace

A Snail’s Pace

Is exactly the pace I was running at this evening (Tuesday, 3/9/10) during my outside 30+ minute 3 mile run!  As soon as I hit the pavement I felt lot’s of soreness in my LEGS that I know stems from the following:

  • 3 Days of Running in a row on Saturday, Sunday & Monday!
  • Iron Pumping Challenge on Monday, that I forgot to post about!  I did the following:

SIT UPS

  • Seated Leg Tucks Off Bench
    • 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Stability Ball Crunch
    • 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Straight Leg Pullover Crunch
    • 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Toe Touch Crunch
    • 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Weighted V-Sit Twist
    • 3 sets of 20 reps

LEGS, BACK & BICEPS

  • 21s
    • 3 sets of 21 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
  • Hammer Curl
    • 3 sets of 20 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
  • Hamstring Curl
    • 3 sets of 20 reps @ 50 pounds
  • Leg Extension
    • 3 sets of 20 reps @ 75 pounds
  • Lunge
    • 3 sets of 20 reps 
  • Stability Ball Back Extension
    • 3 sets of 20 reps
  • Step Ups
    • 3 sets of 20 reps

Luckily, after about a mile I started to not feel as sore as I did when I started my run and felt that my pace & form were starting to improve as well.  However, I still felt pretty drained and had to tell myself to keep going several times during the last part of the run.  Though I did manage to speed up at the end and finish very strongly.  =)

Has this ever happened to you???

____________________

I felt good about my EATS for the day as no extra snacking or nippling was done, accept for a handful of peanuts a bit after dinner!

 

Breakfast

Late Morning Snack

Lunch

Dinner

The rest of my evening after running, shower & dinner was spent watching TV and one of my favorite shows at the moment, Chopped on the FoodNetworkI love to see what they cook up with the “interesting” ingredients that are given to them, some appetizing and some not!

What is your favorite cooking show?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

TIPS OF THE DAY!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

27. Think thin when it comes to pizza. Eat 2 slices of a medium thin-crust veggie pizza (360 calories) instead of 2 slices of a large, meaty deep-dish pizza (940 calories) and save 580 calories.  *Luckily, I love “thin” pizza so no extra calories for me!  =)

 

28. Beware hidden oils. Ask to have your food cooked with a little stock instead of oil, or order steamed or poached entrées: you’ll save 124 calories per tablespoon of oil. Also, have the kitchen skip oils added at the last minute like basil oil or chive oil, and save another 40 calories per teaspoon.

  1. Jenny
    March 11, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I love watching Ellie Kreiger on the food network–I actually DVR her show because I never get to sit down and watch it when it is on. She “makes over” recipes so they are more healthy. She is also a RD so she talks about the health benefits of the food she uses. My husband actually likes a few of the recipes I made from her!!

    • March 11, 2010 at 2:47 pm

      I like her show too! My husband loves The Neeley’s. I typically only get to watch the Food Network on Sunday mornings or via DVR so I know how you feel. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

