Home > Blown Away > Blown Away

Blown Away

 

Not by the music as shown above (just couldn’t resist this picture, I love it), but by the WIND on this “finally starting to get nicer weather” weekend as we were graced with upper 60’s, clear & sunny skies and what they called gentle winds here in Central Florida this weekend!  =)  

However, I wouldn’t call them that if you were outside running as they didn’t feel “gentle” by any means………=O  Luckily, my morning runs were still very nice despite this fact.  Just much SLOWER then I would have prefered, but you can’t control “Mother Nature”!  

So as you might have guessed my weekend began with a lovely early morning (9am) 35+ minute 3+ mile run on Saturday, 3/6/10.   

After returning home I took a quick shower and then headed out to the grocery store, stopping at Dunkin Donuts on the way to pick myself up a quick breakfast and medium “hazelnut” coffee.  I tried out there new veggie egg white breakfast flatbread sandwich that was topped with cheese.   

Breakfast

To my surprise, it was very good and I will definitely have one again in the future if I am running late like this morning!   

I got home just before 1pm from the grocery store despite getting there early this morning (just after 11am) as I spent extra time surveying all their sales for the day that included some of the following:   

  • Aunt Jemima’s Frozen Pancakes (BOGO)
  • Baby Back Pork Spare Ribs ($2.29lb)
  • Kellogg’s Breakfast Cereals (50% Off, Saturday & Sunday Only)
  • Quaker Instant Oatmeal (BOGO)
  • Quaker Granola Bars (BOGO)

For those of you that aren’t familiar with my local grocery store, Publix, they are well-known for doing BOGO (Buy One Get One Free) sales every week and I LOVE THEM!    

The extra time spent while grocery shopping today was well rewarded as I ended up saving a total of $37.01, that included the following savings:   

  • $5.00 Competitors Coupon
  • $1.75 Vendor Coupons
  • $30.26 Publix Special Price Savings

So as you can see sometimes a little extra time spent browsing the sales flyers, collecting coupons, planning out your shopping list and looking at the sales posted at the grocery store can pay off BIG TIME!  =)  

On to lunch, which was no surprise for a Saturday.  I had a big southwest chicken salad.   

Lunch

It wasn’t as good as usual because I was all out of  cherry tomatoes and did buy any at the store as they were a little pricey this week.  They always add a little sweetness so with them missing the salad just did not taste the same or as good…….=(  

The rest of my day was spent doing laundry, going to Target to get a gift my daughter’s friends whose Birthday Party she was attending this evening and then getting my daughter ready for the party.  

Once she was dropped off I went home to spend some quality time with my hubby during the 3+ hours we had “alone”.  We hung around the house for a bit.  Than we ventured out to eat dinner and ended up at Sonic as my husband just couldn’t stand to eat at any of the other fast food joints and we did not have enough time or $$$ to eat out at a restaurant. 

We each had a hamburger and onion rings. 

Dinner1

Dinner2

We both enjoyed everything to our surprise as our last visit to Sonic did not go so well……..so I guess not eating at someplace for almost a year can do that and the fact that I LOVE “real” onion rings helps! 

___________________ 

On to Sunday, 3/7/10

My day started early again, just before 8am as my daughter woke us thinking she saw a “flee” on our dog.  It ended up being a black piece of something???   

I guess I could have went back to bed but the dog was then antsy to go outside so I did that and after that I was pretty much awake at that point so I started on my long list of things that needed to get done today that included the following (but not limited to these of course): 

  • House Cleaning (bathrooms & dusting)
  • Laundry (whites, reds/pinks & towels)
  • 3+ Mile Run in 35+ mintues
  • Make Red Chicken for dinner later in the week!
  • Start & Eat Dinner (Baby Back Ribs)
  • Prep Lunches & Snacks for the week!

 While performing all the above throughout the day I ate the following: 

Breakfast

This was purchased yesterday at the 50% OFF all Kellogg’s Cereal event at my grocery store and I can’t tell you enough how much I love this cereal and I HIGHLY recommend anyone else to try it! 

Lunch

I wanted a spinach & mushroom omelet for breakfast this morning but I didn’t have enough time to make it before my run so decided to have it for lunch instead.  IT WAS AS GOOD AS IT LOOKS!  =)

Dinner

They (RIBS) were good as always!  I love pork of any kind……pork chops, ribs, pulled pork, etc.

My bed came early tonight as it was a very full & tiring day, YAWN!

_________________________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIPS!!!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

 

23. Check the number of servings in a dish. The calorie count on the menu for Shrimp Fried Rice may say 350 calories per serving, but what’s set in front of you may actually contain 4 servings. Split it with three friends, and save 1,050 calories.

 

24. Beware the healthy-food trap. People let their guard down when the menu is full of healthy fare, underestimating calories by as much as 35%, research by the Cornell University Food and Brand Lab shows. You’re also more likely to order drinks, sides, and desserts with up to 131% more calories when you have a healthy entrée. Skip caloric sides—a cookie, chips—to save 500-plus calories.

  1. March 8, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I love bbq, im thinking bbq chicken for Chris and Tofu for me!!

  2. Jenny
    March 9, 2010 at 1:31 am

    I agree about the BBQ–I love making homemade sauces in big batches in the crock pot and freezing them for later!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

