Home > Great Run > What a GREAT run…..

What a GREAT run…..

   

……..I had tonight on this Tuesday, 3/2/10!!!  =)   

However, I will go into further details about that later in my post.  Let’s get to my EATS for the day 1st.   

___________________  

This morning I had ever reliable instant maple brown sugar oatmeal with 1/2 a diced apple and a dash of cinnamon for breakfast after arriving at work.   

Breakfast

Around 11am I had a toasted piece of Publix Breakfast Bread and 1/2 a banana for a late morning snack.   

Late Morning Snack

Lunch was a few hours later.  I had tuna on high fiber whole-wheat bread with pickles and 1/2 an apple on the side.   

Lunch

A really GOOD cup of Activia Light Vanilla yogurt with granola mixed in was had just after 4pm.  It was the perfect mix creamy, crunchy & a bit of sweet, YUM!   

Late Afternoon Snack

A light dinner was had after I got home from the gym.  I made a strawberry walnut spinach salad with light raspberry walnut dressing.    

Dinner

 ___________________   

Ok, now onto that GREAT run I had!   

I visited the gym after work as I usually do every Tuesday and performed the following prior to my run:  

  • Sit Ups
    • Seated Leg Tucks Off Bench
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Stability Ball Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Straight Leg Pullover Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Toe Touch Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Weighted V-Sit Twist
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Legs, Back & Biceps 
    • 21s
      • 2 sets of 21 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hammer Curl
      • 2 sets of 20 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hamstring Curl
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 50 pounds
    • Lat Pull Down
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Leg Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 75 pounds
    • Lunge
      • 2 sets of 20 reps 
    • Stability Ball Back Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Stability Ball Ys & Ts
      • Ys & Ts
        • 2 sets each of 20 reps
    • Step Ups
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 30:20 minutes
        • Mile 1 – 5.7 to 5.8mph
        • Mile 2 – 5.8 to 5.9mph
        • Mile 3 – 5.9 to 7.5mph
          • Minutes 1-3 @ 5.9mph
          • Minutes 4-5 @ 6mph
          • Minutes 5-10+ @ 6.1mph to 7.5mph

As you can see from above I was able to run a “bit” faster than I have recently on my treadmill runs and that made it a really good run, however what made it a GREAT run was the fact that it wasn’t that difficult for me to do and I felt really good & strong during the entire run!  I haven’t had that feeling in a while so it was so good to feel!   

I honestly believe that it is due to the fact that my eating has been more on point lately (past 5+ days) as I have limited my sugar (M&M’s & Girl Scout Cookie) intake significantly and have been eating more healthy well balanced meals over the past few days!   

Sugar is good to eat of course, but I am really starting to notice that when I consume to much of the stuff it really affects my running as it did last week, when I was eating way to many M&M’s at work, and noticed that my runs weren’t that good and that I was lacking strength (mentally & physically) during them! 

SO, I think this is another good reason to eat the stuff in M-O-D-E-R-A-T-I-O-N and not have daily handfuls (servings) like I did last week!  Of course, this isn’t the 1st time I have noticed and seems to be becoming a reoccurring lesson that I am having to learn.  =O 

Do you find when you eat BAD that it affects your runs (workouts, etc.)!?!?! 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day 

15. Step away from the nuts, especially if they’re in a big bowl. The bigger the serving bowl, the more you’ll eat, Cornell University researchers say. Nuts have heart-healthy fats, but they’re also high in calories: 1 handful (about 1 ounce) of oil-roasted mixed nuts has 175 calories; 3 handfuls have 525. Cut out nuts altogether and save more than 500 calories. Can’t resist ’em? Eat pistachios: 2 handfuls are just 159 calories, and the shelling will slow down your munching. 

 

 

 

*I agree that Nuts are high in calories, however I do not think they should be cut out of your diet!  See while on my 100+ pound weight loss journey I pretty much ate Peanuts every night with my hubby who has always eaten nuts on a daily basis.  I found they were a great snack (in moderation of course, I didn’t eat the whole container mind you), helped keep me from reaching for Bad Food (candy, chocolate, chips, etc.) at the time and kept me full.  I agree that Pistachios are better than Peanuts, however they are also more expensive and thus not an option for me…..same with Almonds! 

 

16. Skip the whip—or at least size it down. Dessert-like coffee creations can contain as many as 670 calories, with large sizes and options like whipped cream, whole milk, and syrups. Craving whipped cream? Try it on a shot of espresso for a total of just 30 calories. You save 640 calories! 

  

  

*I have never been big on whipped topping in my coffee or fancy coffee creations, however I do love Flavored Coffee (not the syrup kind the actual flavored coffee kind) and extra cream (1/2 & 1/2) in it with sweetener then mixed in………..that is my favorite way to have my coffee!  Of course the cream is a bit higher in “fat” then milk, but I like it that way and have always drank it that way.  In the past & now!  It is one thing I will not change in my diet, luckily I only have about 1 cup a day and often times Monday – Friday (at work) I don’t even finish the cup.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

