Home > Spring > 20 Days Until Spring!!!

20 Days Until Spring!!!

Spring makes me think of two things

  • Warm, sunny, breezy & beautiful weather….the best time of year is “early” Spring here in Florida!  =)

 

  • TULIPS, my favorite flower that makes me “smile” every time I see them!

 

What does Spring make you think about!?!? 

I am also happy that it is finally MARCH as it is my 2nd favorite month, following right behind October & before December!  

It ranks 2nd for the following reasons: 

  • My parents throw their annual St. Patrick’s Day party, that is filled with tons of great food (corned beef & cabbage), my step-dad’s homebrewed beer and good times with friends & family!

 

  • We spring forward when daylight savings begins on Sunday, March 14th!

 

  • The 1st Day of Spring is on Sunday, March 20th!

 

  • It’s my birthday on March 25th!  =)

 

What is your favorite month & why!?!? 

____________________ 

On to my EATS for the day! 

Breakfast

Late Morning Snack

Lunch

Dinner

Dessert

So I feel I did pretty good on my eats today!  What do you think?  I got my whole-grains, dairy, fruits & veggies……and even a little dessert (3 spoon fulls to be exact)!  =) 

Bed came early tonight at 10:30p.m. after a little TV time!

________________________________________________________________________________________

TIPS OF THE DAY!

50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

13. Ditch that buttered movie popcorn. Yes, the large popcorn at the concession stand weighs in at a whopping 1,005 calories. Smuggle in your own (microwave-popped, 94% fat-free, of course) and save more than 700 calories.

 

 

 

*I have to admit that I LOVE movie theater popcorn and I do not think that it is “bad” if you get a small popcorn with all the works (a/k/a butter & salt) as long as like me you only go every once in a while (a few times a year) and split it with someone else!

 

14. Count your chips (and crackers). No, you can’t eat your snacks from a large bag or box because it’s waaaay too tempting to eat until the bag is empty. (Remember Oprah’s blue corn–tortilla chip confession?) A chip-bender to the bottom of a 9-ounce bag is 1,260 calories sans the dip. So stick to 1 serving, about 15 chips—that’s 140 calories—or pick up some 100-calorie snack packs and save 1,120 calories.

*I totally agree with this tip as it is very hard to keep track of exactly how many chips you eat if you eat them right from the bag, however I have been known to do this several times but I try to only take a few chips….then I put them away and “walk away”! 

  1. Jenny
    March 2, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I love December! It is cold (I love the cold!!) and it is the holiday season with all the lights and Christmas stuff! It always puts me it a good mood! I think you did a great job on the eats!! What a great example of balance and allowing some treat too!! Way to go!!

  2. Ibu
    March 3, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I love March too! It’s my favorite month of the year because it’s my birthday on March 5th! My boyfriend’s birthday on March 19th, and lots of my dear friends birthdays too. Love , love March!

    • March 3, 2010 at 2:30 pm

      Yeah, that is how October is pretty much for me! My daughters, moms, step-dad’s and step-son’s birthday’s are all that month and my anniversary is also during that month. BUSY! =O

  3. March 3, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Aaahh I agree with you, I can’t wait until springtime when the tulips pop up! I love December because the holiday season just makes me so happy, but I think May is just such an amazing month weather-wise! Great tips from Health mag!
    Have a great day!

    • March 3, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      I used to love May before I moved to Florida, it is just a bit too warm here in Florida for my liking compared to the rest of the country!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

