Home > Running > Running Makes Me Smile!

Running Makes Me Smile!

 

Here I am at the Celebration 10K back in November 2009, with a huge SMILE on my face!  =) 

This picture caught my attention recently when I was updating my Running page (check out the new “Benefits of Running” tips I added) and got me thinking about all the reasons that running makes me smile

  • Running assisted greatly in my 100+ pound weight loss!  I know that without running I would NOT have been as successful in my weight loss or at least it would have taken me a lot longer than it did. 
    • Running burns more calories per minute, than any other form of cardiovascular exercise!  Research proves the fact that running burns an average of 100 calories per each mile.
  • Running gives me a goal to always reach for, no matter the day, week, month or season I always have something I am working my way towards when it comes to running……as I am either trying to improve my speed (as I am now), distance (end of last year) or race time (April). 
    • I find that I am very goal oriented and strive harder when I have one I am trying to reach.  This alone helped me in losing weight as well as I found it important to have a goal other than just trying to lose weight.
  • Running relieves stress!!!  No matter what is going on in my life I can “always” count on running to elevate some stress and make me feel better after a run, long or short.
  • Running makes me feel good about myself, inside & out! 
    • Running is known to have a  positive effect on the mind, it builds confidence & gives a feeling of empowerment and freedom that comes with knowing the fact that your legs and body are strong and capable of performing this amazing exercise.
  • Running makes you “feel good”, HIGH! =O 
    • I always feel high after a run, it refreshes your mind and heart completely.
  • Running causes me to get sick less often, which in a household that has a school aged kid this is a huge blessing. 
    • Running has positive effects on the immune system. It creates a higher concentration of lymphocytes in the blood.
  • I JUST LOVE IT!  And, always have, since I was 12 years old and my father first introduced me to running!   
    • It is hard to describe if you haven’t ran yourself or feel the way I do about it but it just does something to me that no other sport or exercise I have tried has.  Others have described the same feeling before, it is like a sense of calm & relaxation comes over you and you just feel one with yourself (and nature if you are outside).  It is something I do alone mostly and it is my ME TIME, time just for myself and no one else.  I find running to be great mind & body mediation.

Do you run?  If so “why” do you run and does it make you SMILE too? 

____________________

On to my EATS for today, which I am happy to say were much better then earlier in the week……..so that made me “smile” too!  =) 

Breakfast

Late Morning Snack

Lunch

*I have to mention that I really was not a huge fan of the Whole Wheat Bagel Thins until I had them toasted with tuna, both went great together, unlike when I tried peanut butter or deli meat with them. 

Dinner

___________________

Prior to having dinner I hit the pavement instead of the gym as my mom could not pick my daughter up after school so the gym was missed for tonight, however I still managed to get my run in at least! 

I ran 3 mile run in approximately 30 minutes (didn’t have a watch on).  Wish I could say my run was GREAT, especially after my statements above, however today was a tough run for me for the following reasons:

  • It was COLD (by Florida’s standards), in the 50’s but felt much less.
  • It was WINDY, so I kept getting blown back by cold air.
  • My toes started to get very cold, guess my socks weren’t keeping them warm enough.
  • My nose kept running.
  • I ran in the shade mostly and when I happened to get some sun it was blinding me.

Other than the above the run was good and completed in a good time to my surprise……..as I left the house at 4:55pm and got back at 5:33pm, so if you account for the walking time before & after my run I was close to a 30 minute run.

I have to say I do not know how you all up north or in cold places run outside in the winter.  I used to do it in Colorado in the winter when I was a teenager but I don’t remember it being as tough as today’s run was however???

______________________________________________________________________________________

TIPS OF THE DAY!

 50 Ways to Cut 500 Calories a Day

7. Limit salad toppings. A big salad might seem healthy, but all those goodies on top can make it more calorie-laden than lasagna or fettuccine Alfredo. Cheese crumbles, caramelized nuts, bacon, avocado, dried fruit, croutons, and vinaigrettes can add lots of calories. Save 500 or more calories by having just one topping, adding flavorful but lower-cal veggies (roasted bell peppers, grilled onions, or mushrooms), and using half the dressing. 

***This one will be hard for me to do as I LOVE all the extra goodies on my salads but they are correct they add a lot of extra calories!

 

8. Don’t clean your plate. Leave 25% of your food on the plate at every meal, says weight-loss expert James O. Hill, PhD, author of The Step Diet. If you normally eat 2,000 calories or more each day, you’ll cut 500 calories. 

 

***I actually follow this tip most nights at dinner!

  1. Jenny
    February 26, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    I enjoy running, although I wish more was outside and not on the treadmill!! I relate with reducing stress, feeling better about myself, and the running high. Congrats on just getting out there in bad weather to run! Sometimes just getting out there and doing it when I don’t feel like it is enough to make me smile, even if it was slow or hard!

  2. February 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I don’t run yet, but as soon as the snow melts I want to learn to be a runner!! I am going to sign up for a 5k to motivate me!

  3. February 27, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Running in the cold winter is so much easier if it gets cold *gradually.* It’s kind of like getting slowly acclimated. 😀

    I absolutely adore running too, and it definitely makes me smile. 😀 Right now with my foot/knee injury, I’m still managing to stay active, but it definitely doesn’t give me that same feeling that running does. There’s just something really special about a run. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

