Home > Pasta > Pasta Anyone!?!

Pasta Anyone!?!

Yes, please………I will have some!  =) 

Here is a little secret of mine…….I LOVE PASTA (& BREAD)!!! 

 

However, during my 100+ Pound Weight Loss Journey I stayed away from them as much as possible as I followed a “Low Carb” diet in the beginning and even though I stopped dieting around the middle of my journey that way of eating pretty much stuck with me throughout the rest of my 4+ year journey….and through today! 

I found through the years that I have a difficult time saying “NO” to carbs (pasta, breads, baked goods, etc.) and found it was best for me to stay away from them as much as possible, especially in the beginning.  

Throughout the years however I learned that I could eat carbs but that I just needed to do it in two ways

  • Eat “Healthy/Good” Carbs
    • Whole-grain cereals
    • Whole-grain wheat bread
    • Fruits
    • Vegetables
    • Whole-grain rice
    • Oatmeal
    • Dried Beans
    • Whole-wheat pasta
  • Eat “Bad Carbs” in MODERATION!!!

This approached helped me a great deal during the last part of my journey and today as well!  I do not feel deprived this way and benefit from eating healthy (good) carbs that are not only good for me but also taste really good!  I now prefer whole-grain/wheat breads & pasta’s over their white counter parts, eat fruits & veggies on a daily basis and oatmeal almost every other day. 

What is your take on Low Carb vs. Healthy (Good) Carb eating!?!?! 

____________________ 

Onto my EATS for this fine Thursday, 2/18/10! 

Breakfast

Late Morning Snack

Lunch

The above, Baked Ziti, was YUMMY and courtesy of my mother-in-law and the reason I posted about “pasta” today….I swear I could eat twice as much as I ate above!  =O 

Afternoon Snack

Dinner

____________________ 

I almost didn’t make it to the gym tonight as my mom had to work late and couldn’t pick up my daughter, however I was able to get out of work a bit early so I was able to hit the gym for about an hour…….so I was in a mad rush to get everything done and I “almost” made it!  =) 

Here is what I did Iron Pumping Challenge wise on Day 2 (Thursday) of Week #5 and Running wise as well: 

  • Sit Ups
    • Seated Leg Tucks Off Bench
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Stability Ball Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Straight Leg Pullover Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Toe Touch Crunch
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Weighted V-Sit Twist
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Legs, Back & Biceps 
    • 21s
      • 2 sets of 21 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hammer Curl
      • 2 sets of 20 reps w/10 pound dumbbell
    • Hamstring Curl
      • Skipped, ran out of time!
    • Lat Pull Down
      • 2 sets of 20 reps @ 60 pounds
    • Leg Extension
      • Skipped, ran out of time!
    • Lunge & Lift
      • 2 set of 10 reps 
    • Stability Ball Back Extension
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Stability Ball Ys & Ts
      • Ys & Ts
        • 2 sets each of 10 reps each
    • Step Ups
      • Skipped, ran out of time!
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 30:45 minutes
        • Mile 1 – 5.7mph
        • Mile 2 – 5.8mph
        • Mile 3 – 5.9mph (5 min.) & 6mph (5min.)

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

TIP OF THE DAY! 

 

20 Ways to Get Healthier for Free 

 

17. Try a new sport
You’ve always wanted to try cross-country skiing, right? As part of its anniversary sale Jan. 9, WinterTrails.org will help you try it for free at a location near you. 

___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Girl Scout Cookies

STAY TUNED!!! 

The “Girl Scout Cookie” Giveaway Winners will be announced Friday, 2/19/10 in the afternoon!!!  =) 

  1. jenny
    February 19, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Congrats on the great runs lately as well as the iron pumping. I am still struggling with lifting but getting stronger!

    • February 19, 2010 at 7:01 pm

      Thank you, it feels really good to be running faster! I have always wanted to be a RUNNER and not a JOGGER and it is so nice to say that I finally am one for real. =) Luckily, for me I have been weight lifting off and on since high school so even though I may not have looked it at times I have always been pretty strong, however I remember in the beginning it was tough and I had to keep at it. You will get there too…..just keep going and eventually you will really start to enjoy it, especially when you see how “tone” you get! I loved the first time I saw biceps…..=)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

