Home > NO Cookies! > No Cookies Today!

No Cookies Today!

So it is official!  

I ate NO cookies today!  =) 

It was tough and I had to make myself stay away from my husbands stash that was left in the pantry, however I will admit in my “late night” weakness took several tiny bites of the chocolate cake I got for my daughter for V-Day!  =O 

My day of EATS was good though, check it out below: 

Breakfast

Morning Snack

Late Morning Snack

Lunch

I just love this soup!!!  

Not only is it full of veggies (9 in all) it has a really good flavor as well, I highly recommend making it if you have the time. 

I basically got the recipe from the Good House Keeping website, see below link: 

http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/health/diet/soup-diet-basic-recipe-1007 

Then made some modifications to the recipe to make it my own! 

I substituted beef broth for the chicken broth in the recipe and I also added a pound of lean ground beef to the recipe to give it some added flavor. 

YUMMY! 

After work I hit the gym and did the following from my Iron Pumping Challenge, Day 1 (Tuesday): 

  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 2 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 2 sets of 25 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 2 sets of 10 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
    • Lateral Raise
      • 2 sets of 10 reps
    • Overhead Press
      • 2 sets of 15 reps
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Machine Broken)
    • Plank
      • 2, 1 minute poses
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • 2 sets of 5 leg lifts each side
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 2 sets of 20 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 30:45 minutes
        • Mile 1 – 5.7 to 5.8mph
        • Mile 2 – 5.8 to 5.9mph
        • Mile 3 – 5.9 to 6.0mph (last 2 minutes 6.2 to 7.5mph)
    • 5 Minute Walking “Cool Down”

I am starting to feel more comfortable running faster (5.7 – 6mph) on my “3” mile runs, slowly but surely I will get to 6mph all 3 miles! 

Dinner was skipped and I just took a few bites of some left over burrito filling (lettuce, tomatoes, hamburger meat & bean mixture and salsa) from the burrito I made my hubby.  I also had a few handfuls of peanuts.

______________________________________________________________________________________

2 TIP TUESDAY!!!

20 Ways to Get Healthier for Free

15. Eat healthier, no cookbook required
Got a tummy ache that needs some soothing? Try the Belly Balance Smoothie (developed by Health magazine nutrition guru Frances Largeman-Roth, RD)—and find loads of other good-for-you, low-calorie options for every meal at recipes.health.com.

 

The Real Reason You Can’t Lose Weight

Fat Trap: You’re Afraid to Fail

Maybe you lost 30 pounds to fit into your wedding gown — and gained it back in a snap. Or you vowed to slim down for bikini season, only to hide behind a sarong come July. Why risk another F? “If you’ve failed at losing weight before, in your mind the threat of screwing up again still exists,” says Lois Barth, a lifestyle coach in New York City. In fact, 40 percent of the women we surveyed admitted they worried about regaining the weight — and then some. The real danger, however, is that fear can become a self-fulfilling prophecy. By dwelling on the negative feelings associated with a past failure, you subconsciously call up the very behavior that caused it in the first place. Soon enough, you find yourself in the same snare.

P.S.  Don’t Forget to VOTE for your favorite “Girl Scout” Cookie for a chance to win a free box!

https://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/girl-scout-cookie-giveaway/

  1. Jenny
    February 17, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Thanks for the tips today–the link to health.com recipes is awsome!! Did not know about that!! THANKS!!

  2. February 18, 2010 at 11:50 am

    The soup sounds fantastic!! I love a veggie soup. 😀

    • February 18, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      It is amazing! Takes a bit of “prep work” but it is totally worth it in the end to have a 9 veggie soup that is super good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

