Home > Two Tip Tuesday > Two Tip Tuesday!

Two Tip Tuesday!

So my Ground Hog day…….Tuesday, 2/2/10 started great and we were out the door early in fact as I had to stop and get, however the bus was 15+ minutes late so I was in turn late to work yet again!  =O  Only, by 5 minutes but I still hate being late.

I never used to be late until I had my daughter, 9+ years ago.  After that I was late for everything (work, appointments, family events, parties, etc.) it seemed.  I always try to get ready or up early, but it seems that something always derails me…..at least 75% of the time that is.

Are you late or early for things???

I managed to enjoy a nice bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with 1/2 a sliced banana and milk for breakfast at home this morning since I was on time at that point. 

Breakfast

Around 11am I enjoyed another lovely clementine as a late morning snack!  =)
 

Late Morning Snack

Lunch was a REPEAT from yesterday…….another yummy plate full of roasted red pepper humus, whole-grain pita chips & veggies.
 

Lunch

A few hours later I ventured to the GYM and did the following, thus completing Week 3, Day 1 of my Iron Pumping Challenge:
 
  • Sit Ups
    • Bicycles
      • 3 sets of 50 reps
    • flutter kicks
      • 3 sets of 30 reps
    • frog crunches
      • 3 sets of 30 reps
    • knees up crunches
      • 3 sets of 30 reps
    • oblique v-ups
      • 2 sets of 10 reps each side
  • Shoulder, Chest & Triceps 
    • Bench Dips
      • 3 sets of 10 reps
    • Lateral Raise
      • 3 sets of 10 reps
    • Overhead Press
      • 3 sets of 15 reps
    • Overhead Cable Triceps Extension
      • Missed (Machine Broken)
    • Plank
      • 3, 1 minute poses
    • Stability Ball Leg Lift
      • 2 sets of 5 leg lifts each side
    • Stability Ball Push Ups
      • 3 sets of 15 reps
  • Treadmill 
    • 3 Mile Run
      • 30:10 minutes
        • Mile 1 – 5.7 to 5.8 mph
        • Mile 2 – 5.8 to 5.9 mph
        • Mile 3 – 5.9 to 7.5 mph
    • 2+ Mile “Incline” Walk
      • 30 minutes

I am finally getting into the grove and mastering my new workouts now, which is allowing me to do 3 sets of most.  I really like working with the “stability ball” as it is great for your core and core exercises are great for runners!

Home and a nice hot shower followed the above, than dinner, which was yet another repeat but of Sunday night dinner this time.  I had a small plate of red chicken with broccoli and white rice.

Dinner

 
Some UFC Fighting watching occurred with my hubby after dinner and until bedtime………=)  We watched a replay of the Penn vs. Diego fight and man was it B-R-U-T-A-L! 
 
______________________________________________________________________________________
 
 TWO TIP TUESDAY!!!
 
 
20 Ways to Get Healthier for Free
  
2. Get a free skin checkup

The Skin Cancer Foundation will provide free skin screenings during its Road to Healthy Skin Tour from April to September 2010. Check SkinCancer.org this spring for availability in your area.
 
 
 
 
The Real Reason You Can’t Lose Weight
 
Diet and exercise will get you only so far. To beat the mental stumbling blocks that keep you from your ideal size, tap our expert can-do solutions.
 
Fat Traps & Weight-Loss Fears
Fat Trap: You Give Up Too Soon

If there’s one skill that could further your fight to shed pounds, it’s patience. When we polled FITNESS magazine readers online about their obstacles to slimming down, 39 percent confessed they would ditch a new diet or exercise program if they didn’t see noticeable shrinkage in two weeks. “People want immediate gratification — to lose 20 pounds in six weeks,” says Stacey Rosenfeld, PhD, a clinical psychologist at Columbia University Medical Center and chief psychologist for the New York City Triathlon. “But even if you achieve your goal, that happiness leaves as quickly as it comes because you can’t sustain the measures you took to get there, measures that probably made you miserable anyway.” Naturally, when you get discouraged, you rebel, probably in the form of a triple-scoop sundae. This can set up a cycle of deprivation and overindulgence, which is not unique to humans. When animals on a calorie-restricted diet were finally allowed to eat freely, they gorged for days, a study at the University of Colorado in Denver found.

Stay-Slim Solution
Everyone wants instant results, but permanent weight loss calls for a long-term commitment and a change in mind-set. “Think of losing weight as an outcome, not a goal in itself,” says Sofia Rydin-Gray, PhD, a clinical psychologist at the Duke Diet & Fitness Center in Durham, North Carolina. Make it your challenge to incorporate healthy behaviors into your daily life: Exercise for 60 minutes; eat whole grains for breakfast; avoid fried foods. “By shifting your energy to the process as opposed to the final result, you’ll feel a sense of accomplishment every time you make a good decision,” Rydin-Gray says.

I read the above article last night while on the treadmill and couldn’t agree more!!!  I used to fall into this Fat-Trap “Giving Up Too Soon” all the time during my journey to lose 100+ pounds and even before that when I was trying to lose only 15-20 pounds in my earlier years.  It wasn’t until I finally gave up this BAD HABIT that I finally started to lose weight.   Unfortunately, losing weight is not a quick fix and you have to be patient…….once you realize this the weight will come off, yes more slowly then you might like, but it will come off and will also be more likely to stay off as well!
  1. Lu
    February 3, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I love the focusing on the small goals idea. I also tend to give up too soon. Your dinner looks delicious.

    • February 3, 2010 at 9:02 pm

      Yeah, over my weight loss journey I found I that have a goal other then just losing weight, like becoming a better runner, helped me a great deal and that I didn’t focus as much on losing weight by doing so. Which was very important for me since I knew it was going to take me a LONG time to lose all the weight.

  2. February 4, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I’m always late too. It’s awful. I used to be the early person who was waiting for everyone else, but this past year or so has turned me into that “fashionably late” person. 😉 I hate it though, and I’m definitely working on feeling less rushed while showing up *on time*!

    • February 4, 2010 at 6:20 pm

      It is hard. I try not be be late but always seem to end up late despite that. I guess it will always be a “work in progress” for me. =O

  3. February 8, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Nice blog (although I’m not a big fan of pictures of food) and I love that you eat “regular” food and aren’t on a diet. I so agree that losing weight shouldn’t be the ultimate goal, but the outcome of the goal of a healthy lifestyle. Thanks for sharing your ongoing story.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

