Home > Weekend Wrap Up > Spring In The Winter!

Spring In The Winter!

The weather was AMAZING over the weekend!  =)

Warm & breezy in the low to mid 70’s during the day and cool & breezy in the low to mid 60’s at night

So let me take you through my weekend……. 

Saturday, 1/23/10 

I slept in until 9:30a.m. when my husband finally woke me up.  I have not been getting much sleep lately, waking up a lot during the night, so the extra sleep was needed. 

Once I finally made it downstairs I made myself a pre-run breakfast that included a toasted whole-grain waffle with peanut butter, a sliced banana and a little syrup on top

Breakfast

About an hour+ later I headed outside from my run, in which I ran 3 miles in just under 35 minutes.  I usually do longer runs on Saturday mornings, however in light of my knee hurting on long runs recently and my up coming 5K Race on 2/6/10 I decided to do just a 3 mile run.  Since I typically do not run as fast outside on the pavement as I do on the treadmill I finished slower than I would have liked but not as slow as I had thought I might.  Next Saturday I plan to try to do it closer to 30 minutes and the same on Race Day! 

 

Upon my return home I showered and headed straight to the grocery store as we were in great need of FOOD!  =O  

***Stay tuned for a future post called Meal Planning & Shopping 101,  in which I take you through exactly how I plan my healthy meals and then shop for them on a very limited budget! 

Once I was back home about an hour+ later I whipped up lunch for everyone and had my favorite go to BBQ Chicken Salad, which is always good & very filling at the same time! 

Lunch

The rest of the afternoon was spent relaxing, doing a bit of laundry and running to Walmart for a few things I forgot at the grocery store.  I then made dinner, which was an old favorite of ours that I haven’t made in awhile……homemade Salisbury Steak with brown rice & broccoli on the side. 

Dinner

Here is the recipe link below that I found at www.allrecipes.com

 http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Salisbury-Steak/Detail.aspx 

There wasn’t much on TV so we decided to rent District 9 and I must admit I was not excited about seeing this movie at all, but it ended up not being too bad and had a good message. 

 

The husband didn’t like it too much though as he kept dosing off during the movie and then right before it ended he was passed out cold. 

On to……… 

Sunday, 1/24/10 

I slept in again until 9am today!  =O 

Wow, I guess I really needed some Zzzzzz’s badly! 

After waking, later than I had hoped, I quickly got to cleaning the house….doing the following: 

  • bathrooms
  • dusting
  • vacuuming

Then I finished up some laundry, ran to Publix for some eggs that I wanted to use to make breakfast with this morning and then came home and made my very late breakfast at 11am, that consisted of a veggie omelet with a toasted piece of Publix breakfast bread and melon on the side. 

Breakfast

Some laundry called my attention after breakfast, then I ran some errands with the family and stopped to have lunch with them at Wendy’s.  

I had the Taco Salad, YUMMY! 

Lunch

After lunch we went home and  got dinner prep-work done, read a little bit and headed over to visit my mother-in-law for a few hours while dinner was in the oven. 

A few hours later we were back home and dinner was done, don’t you just love one pot dinners!  =) 

We dinned on London Broil w/potatoes and some of my mother-in-laws green bean salad she sent home with us. 

Dinner

*I forgot to take a picture of my plate before I started eating, so you only get to see the above picture of the London Broil after I took it out of the oven.

Some quality time with my hubby followed dinner and then bed!

_______________________________________________________________________________________

WEEKEND TIPS!

Your A-to-Z Guide to a Flat Belly

R-Rice.

Choose brown over white so you’re getting whole-grain benefits—and make it your starchy side dish of choice. Unlike potatoes and pasta, it doesn’t produce gas as your body breaks it down. (Translation: No bloating.)

 

 

S-Steak!

Subjects who got 40 percent of their daily calories from protein shed more belly fat than those whose share was only 15 percent, a Skidmore College study says. Choose lean cuts, like sirloin or tenderloin.

 

  1. January 25, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I’n envious of yoru weather. It was in the 70’s last week, now it wants to be int he 50-60’s. lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

